This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Hungary

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

1

My Mar 2015 trip

Namibia between 28 Mar 2015 and 11 Apr 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"We fell in love with Africa. The good trip is when everybody in the family is happy. When we sat in our return flight from Namibia to home and the first question of our kids was that when we come back to Africa - it was clear that we had a very good trip.

The older generation of our family was really impressed by the beautiful nature, the very friendly people who really cared if we enjoy our trip, the good food and by the cleanliness.
I did not expect that Namibia is such a perfect destination if you travel with kids. We were really impressed by the beautiful nature (which is really very special - we had not seen such places before, and so many wild animals) and since everything was very clean (even if you have the biggest sandpit on the earth which is questionably clean than it is not really the one of a lifetime experience) the kids could play very well - so everybody could find something interesting.

We were very surprised by the very good food, the good meat, the homemade bread (which is I presume a practical solution for big distances) and also homemade desserts and also the `house wine` was very good everywhere (which was of course South African wine but with overall good quality) - and everywhere was kids` menu available.

Everywhere we really liked the design of the camps and lodges, they were always very unique and matched with the surrounding nature and they were at very good locations.

So all in all and last but not least I think that you are really experts of Africa because you proposed us a brilliant itinerary, we saw very different places with each of them being beautiful, interesting and unique and very good camps and lodges to stay. We were extremely happy with the perfect organisation, everything was easy to understand and follow we received all the relevant info - I do not think that something was missing or not relevant.

We had an excellent time. Thank you very much!!"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 28 Mar 2015
"It is a nice place. The family room is basic but comfortbale and spacy. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay there.

Close to the place the famous Joe's bar with really good food which is a good start for a journey in Namibia."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2015
"Highlight was the food. The cook was really good and we enjoyed the meals. The swimming pools was unclean and full with algae."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Poor
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2015
"Very nice location. Overpriced activities but later I noticed that Wilderness Safaris are using the same price level in all their locations. The Family room was very good. Meals good but not highlight.

Activities were great and our kids fell in love with Suwama - our guide.

We have taken two sundown excursions and one morning to sand dunes. Big advantage of the Resort is the private gate which saves appr. 1 hour drive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

"Sandfields Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Apr 2015
"Nice friendly location. Most of the time we were outside and have taken the full day trip to Sandwich harbour.

The hosts have helped us to find place to eat, although the choice of Lighthouse wasn't too good."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Sand dune drive"

3 Apr 2015 • All-day excursion

I have expected a bit more from the trip. But the kids enjoyed very much playing in the sand. We were not allowed to get closer to the bird sanctuary. But have seen a lot of flamingos in Walvis Bay.

Burger has found oyster fossils in the sand and has shown us some lizards which was a great experience.
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2015
"Probably one of the favourites for our kids. We were there during Easter holidays and we got Bunny chocolates in the evenings (both days). Our kids were incredibly happy!! It was extremely kind from the hotel and I also appreciated that before placing the surprises on our children`s beds they checked with us if we agree.

However the real highlight was the hotel staff, who were very unique (I do not really know what is the proper word for it) - so they tried to show us a little bit about their culture. They showed us their language, the specialty of which is that they peak with clicks which is very interesting - it was the first time we heard such a way of speaking (as it sounds completely different from other - European, Asian languages). And they also sang us their songs in the evenings that we also enjoyed very much.

It was a very unique experience! Thank you very much!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2015
"The highlight is the camp`s own drinking hole where you can see a lot of animals drinking from the water while you are sitting in your chair on the veranda. We really liked it.

We had a problem with rooms. We travelled with our 7Y old twins, who are willing to sleep in a separate room only when it is next to ours. In the camp we got two tents that were pretty far from each other. We were lucky, because we arrived early enough, so the hotel could rearrange and gave us two tents next to each other, but I really would advise them that next time they should double check in case of families the room allocation (i.e. with small children it is difficult to sleep in far away rooms, in the first place the children may not want to sleep alone, in the second place hotel guests may not be prepared logistically for this case - we packed all our staff together, so sleeping in not neighbouring rooms would have been pretty unpractical and discomfortable for us). Plus in our voucher was written that we get a family room.

Apart from that we enjoyed our stay in the camp. (And they compensated us for the problematic morning arrival with a good sundown tour where we saw not only a whole lion family but also two white rhinos, so we were amazed enough to forgive for the difficult start.)"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2015
"The food was excellent (thank you for that).

We really liked that they had not only a children`s playground but also different games for the children (and their parents), puzzles, etc. in the lobby area. It was the only Camp / Lodge where we found such a playing `area`. It was a good idea."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 Apr 2015
"The place is beautiful, the lodge is trendy, we really liked the design and we had an extremely spacious family room, that we really liked."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team