This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms M from West Midlands

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

An awesome holiday .

Namibia between 22 Oct 2014 and 5 Nov 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent and understanding service from your experts. Tracy did a wonderful job of planning our itinerary at such short notice and with a limited budget. We thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and thanks to your detailed and very thorough guidance we had no major problems, felt safe at all times and generally had no problems with finding our way around. Well informed and up to date information from Tracy and her colleagues made everything very easy on our first trip to Namibia. You seem to be able to find some of the best places to stay too.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
Get rid of the credit card surcharge."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Great stopover Lovely garden & accommodation"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2014
"Watch out for the steep ramp at the entrance if you want to keep your exhaust pipe!. Host and staff were most friendly and helpful. Our room was massive with everything we needed and we had our own patio garden. The birds in the main garden were wonderful with beautiful birds of paradise visiting our patio garden. This wasn't just a stopover - it was a bonus! Breakfast was good but there didn't seem to be the "bacon and eggs" option that we found at all other hotels and lodges. One of the party had mobility problems and could not walk far. This was not a problem as the dining area and pool were nearby, there were very few steps to navigate and the large walk in shower with stool was ideal. We did need transport to get to a restaurant for the evening meal."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Magnificent - don't miss it!"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2014
"What a lovely hotel. The restaurant is to die for. Sumptious food, excellent service and stunning views all along the coast-line. For food loving birdwatchers it was heaven. Superb cuisine at reasonable prices while watching flamingoes fly past one way, pelicans the other and curlews grazing the shore-line! We only stopped for 3 nights and would have liked to stay longer. We were dreadfully dissappointed that the restaurant was closed on Sunday evening. it's best to book a window table on-line before you go as it can get busy. Take a jacket as it is quite a bit cooler than other locations in Namibia. Don't forget to take your binoculars into the dining room. No mobility issues as mostly on lower level with lift to restaurant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

"Convenient location and good food"

3 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2014
"The rooms were not luxurious but were spacious and well equiped including a full mosquito net and a large wet room. We liked the small balcony overlooking the surronding hills and were able to view Ostrich, Hornbills and other birds from here. The food in the restaurant was great and it was lovely to sit outside for evening meals. The bar viewing terrace gave good views of the hillsides and was a nice place to sit but we were disappointed that we didn't see any animals at the hotel watering hole. Access to the dining room was a little difficult fo my partner as it was some way from our room over some uneven paths. It was helpful to be able to park directly outside the accommodation. Some of the rooms further out from the main hotel did not have particularly inspiring views. It was easy to get to Etosha Reserve from here and the wildlife viewing was wonderful and so easy. On our first visit to the reserve we had a guided trip with a very good guide provided by the hotel but after that we drove ourselves and had a great time with little cost."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2014
"Lovely well-equipped and spacious tent with really comfortable bed, full mosquito net, fan and ensuite bathroom. Nice peaceful location, near to Etosha park, but not particularly scenic in the dry season. The grounds are home to quite tame warthogs, hornbills and squrrels which provided visual amusement and photo opportunities. We didn't take any children but noticed that it seemed particularly well equipped for them with a playground and an indoor play area off the dining room. Staff were lovely and service and food very good. Not totally ideal for someone with mobility difficulties as quite a way from the parking area and tent was some way from the main facilities, but we managed. Fortunately, help was given to transport luggage.from parking area.."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2014
"We did not realise until we got there that it was a good 3/4 hour drive from the road gate to the lodge reception. There was loads to see on the way in including Springbok, Oryx, Baboons and all sorts of birds so it took us somewhat longer. Visitors need to ensure they get there well before dusk to make the most of this and to find the way more easily.

Superbly equipped, stylish and comfortable room with awesome views over the open plain and distant mountains. We had a standard room and were able to bird and animal watch from our comfortable king size bed thanks to the huge picture window at the end of the bed. We had warthogs nesting nearby, colourful birds on the verandah and passing springbok and guinea fowl. It was neve a dull moment and difficult to break ourselves away to go to breakfast. Location of the room was great from a wildlife and view perspective but it was a long walk over rough ground in the dark to get to dinner. The manager very kindly arranged for us to be driven back to our room. Fortunatley we were able to park right outside the room and the restaurant so went in the car one night and then took up the offer of a lift both ways from the staff on the third night.

The restaurant was stylish, not particularly comfortable and noisy but had a nice view in daylight hours with some common wildlife visiting the watering hole. Waiter service was a bit slow but complaints were handled efficiently by the managment.. The food was average and quality was a bit hit and miss. Breakfast was good but the serving area was some way from the dining area. I think they need to improve the quality of the food if they wish to attract passing travellers to eat there. The gift shop is uninspiring and expensive. Don't plan on doing your shopping here.


Apart from the views and wildlife around our room the highlight for us was the wildlife viewing trips, particularly the Cheetah safari where we were able to get very close on foot and obtained some great photos. There was also plenty of possibilities for birdwatching on foot in the grounds and a very pleasant bird hide."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
River Crossing

River Crossing

"Great place to stop over on way to airport"

1 night Arrived 3 Nov 2014
"This was a good alternative to stopping in Windhoek and was in a peaceful location with nice views. It is quite difficult to find due to poor signposting and little useful information from Expert Africa. Best to get there in good daylight and look for the railway bridge as a nearby landmark. Maybe call the hotel for directions. Hotel sign is sideways on to the main highway and directions after that are lacking. However, when you leave it is really easy to get to the airport from here and avoids the traffic of Windhoek.

The room was basic and not particularly spacious but had a TV and fridge and was quite comfortable. There wasn't a mosquito net. It also had a lovely porch ovelooking nice views of the surronding hills. Staff were very friendly and service was good. Food was good and reasonably priced. There was a comfortable lounge to sit in in the cool of the evening. On the morning of our departure we really enjoyed being able to sunbathe on the pool terrace which had superb views and a cooling breeze. The manager kindly provided some free coffee and the best chocolate brownies I have ever tasted which was a lovely farewell gift from Namibia."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team