This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The Bushbucks from Oxon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Fantastic trip

Zambia between 23 Jul 2008 and 9 Aug 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Difficult to imagine how it could have been bettered."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Mutinondo Wilderness

Mutinondo Wilderness

"Unmissable Mutinondo marvels"

5 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2008
"This is a really wonderful place. It is extraordinarily beautiful country and Mike and Lari are very, very nice people; the lodge and chalets are comfortable, the atmosphere relaxed, the staff excellent.

We saw visitors enjoying the horse riding (though we walked) and although there is game it is relatively sparse and retiring. The Bradt guide is right to say that this is not the place to go if you want to be closely organised and guided but that is one of the joys: the freedom to guide oneself around the Wilderness (and it really is very easy - you'd have to be a bit of a fool to get lost) and spend exactly what time one wants birdwatching (it's a designated Important Bird Area) and taking an interest in the hugely diverse flora and walking up the inselbergs for some of the most fantastic views you are ever likely to see in your life.

In the evening you can relax by the fire with a beer before a very good dinner. All in all how special on an ascending scale of 1 to 10? I'd say 10 without any doubt at all."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp - great walking and night drives"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2008
"South Luangwa's marvellous and this is a very well run place with great guides.

It's possible to walk and the guides are extraordinarily knowledgeable. Animals and birds galore. Perhaps too much food (early breakfast, breakfast, lunch, tea, dinner) but it's very good and who's complaining about that?

Amongst many other things we saw lions at very close quarters."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba Camp - great place"

1 night Arrived 31 Jul 2008
"We had the privilege to be the only couple here with the senior guide Patrick, who has worked with the Shentons for over 15 years. He is the most delightful person as well as being extraordinarily gifted as a guide.

Even with a full camp, it would feel exclusive and quiet and relatively remote.

We had one of the most remarkable night-drives one could imagine, with everything from leopards and lions to genets and hyenas and mongoose and owls and nightjars."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"Nsolo Camp - difficult to beat"

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2008
"The legendary Shaddy, the senior guide here, and the invaluable scout Batwell (who is a gifted artist in his spare time) led us on some marvellous and memorable walks from Nsolo which is an extremely well run and comfortable camp.

Imagine watching a leopard slowly cross the dry river bed and then walking out and having a sumptous candle-lit dinner on that same river bed. We did and we shall never forget it.

We also saw lions and buffalos and many other animals very close by. The birdwatching is extraordinary."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Kakult Camp - excellent all round"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2008
"This is another very well run camp in a great location with great staff.

We were guided by JJ both in walks and night drives and saw a great variety of animals and birds (quite a few lions about but leopards too).

JJ is interesting in himself and fun to be with and his knowledge of flora and fauna is vast and he can debate the finer points about distinguishing the Mozambique nightjar from other similar species and then lead one to with just a few feet of the bird."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Mchenja Camp - a South Luangwa must"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2008
"Like the other Norman Carr bushcamps, it would be hard to beat this for comfort and location and dedicated, hard-working and knowledgeable staff.

It's not far from Kaingo (a Shenton camp, also excellent) but we didn't feel that it was a mistake to spend time at both. If you're interested in birds, how could you resist a camp with a resident little banded goshawk? Amongst many other memorable moments, we stood in the camp and watched a lion, just across the river, jump on a hippo which then managed to escape its clutches.

Suzie and Rich deserve special mention as the best of hosts. Guding and scouting here were also as first rate as you could possibly wish."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Chaminuka, Zambia (this camp has since closed)

"Chaminuka review"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2008
"We stayed here only as a fleeting stopever between being in South Luangwa and getting on the plane back to the UK.

It's well run and comfortable."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team