This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms M & Mr N from New York

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Incredibly satisfying Namibia tour

Namibia between 7 Apr 2016 and 21 Apr 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We did a two-week self drive tour of Namibia. First of all, literally all the arrangements made by Expert Africa worked out perfectly - no surprises. Everything was as it was supposed to be - and the communications between Expert and all the local vendors was seamless. Expert laid out a route for us, arranged all the accommodations and a car. The planning process was a great blend of good listening to what we wanted (or thought we wanted!) combined with helpful guidance and development of choices - all very appropriate given that, while we are experienced travelers, this would be our first trip to Namibia and we were self-driving.

The car was terrific - perfect choice for us: 4/4 but automatic drive. We loved the driving tho it is challenging in parts - some long stretches of "washboard" road. But we and the car held up fine - and the drives are all worth it for the wonderful experience of being immersed in a beautiful and complicated country with endlessly interesting landscapes - and people.

The accommodations were also varied; most were just delightful - a few exceptional and unique experiences. We were especially surprised by the delicious and fresh (and healthy!) meals we had in some very remote areas. Two of the accommodations were not quite as perfect a match for our style but that was completely because of our late scheduling and trying to match our other preferences re: access and route with what was available.

All in all a great experience; we'd highly recommend Expert Africa and would be happy to use them again.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Would be really hard to say as all aspects were so well managed. Perhaps one thing that might be useful is a bit more detail on how to get to a few of the accommodations. The map was great - and well used - but while the GPS, which we used to supplement the maps, was most often excellent - when it was wrong, it was dramatically wrong - sending us on a road that didn't exist, for example. Some more detailed instructions about the last portion of the route to any particular accommodation could help.

Maruska was terrific to work with and planned a great trip; she was also very responsive while we were there, although little contact was needed fortunately. She was particularly tenacious about us getting a refund for a minor expense related to a flat tire that just got a little complicated because of credit card issues. [The folks from Wilderness Safaris in the Windhoek airport were amazingly helpful also.]"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Pleasant stop on arrival in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 7 Apr 2016
"We were in Windhoek for only one day and focused on preparations for starting our 2 week self-drive Namibia tour the following day. Olive Grove was a perfectly pleasant place for this brief stay. Room was lovely and comfortable; layout of the inn was attractive.

It was a bit hard to figure out at first who had what role and where to direct any questions but in the end every staff person was very pleasant and responsive to all of our needs. At our request, they were also able to connect us to a young man who provided a nice tour of the town at the end of the day so we could get some sense of its history and culture, which we appreciated.

There's some complicated history and tension with the hotel next door, which seems part of the same operation (which evidently it was but no longer is). The staff did end up helping us get a dinner reservation there and all went well but it was a bit confusing."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Terrific choice for Sossusvlei"

2 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2016
"We had a wonderful stay at Kulala Desert Lodge. Had wanted to stay inside the park boundaries but due to late booking, had to make alternate arrangements so we went to Kulala with some reservations. In fact, it turned out to be a great choice (and quite likely as good or better than the onsite facility). The staff was terrific - uniformly pleasant and responsive. Despite the chill, we just loved sleeping on the roof - such a peaceful and beautiful experience.

We had a terrific guide both into the dunes and later to Sesreim. You do have to recognize and accept that, despite the "private gate", you will not get to the dunes (and certainly not the main ones) by sunrise, given the time the gates open and the distance to cover. Also, like most others, our fixation on getting to see Sossusvlei and Dead Vlei made us impatient with a gradual drive with stops along the way.

We had accepted these realities with regret but, in fact, they turned out to be non-issues as far as we were concerned. The drive, in fact, was stunningly beautiful from the beginning, with the gradual light changes taking your breath away. And the guide was very informative and clearly passionate about the geological and living environment. [We spent quite a bit of time finding and watching a "dancing white spider".] As per the Rolling Stones: "you don't always get what you want....but, if you try real hard, you get what you need"!

We also were lucky that there was only one other couple along for both tours, which definitely enhanced the experience. Again, the guide showed a great deal of sensitivity in encouraging and enabling one of the participants to do more than she thought she could do (especially in Sesriem), which kept her from being deprived of an experience she wanted to have."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"An interesting stay in an offbeat place!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2016
"Well Sam is a character - inherently world weary and cynical but, in many ways, well suited to Swakopmund - and to us! He has no hesitation sharing his views on a broad range of issues - and they are informative and insightful, even when it may reflect a different world view from one's own. He's also extremely helpful on the practical aspects of hosting, making tour arrangements, etc.

The inn itself is fine - the fairly standard rooms off a rather bland hallway addition don't really do justice to the overall setting - the garden is beautifully laid out and the main house is lovely.

Definitely worthwhile for dinner - food is fresh and quite good and the ambience is quite charming. In general, a stop in Swakopmund provides an important piece of the puzzle to understanding Namibia past and present - and a stay at Sam's fits in well with that whole experience."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Terrific stay at Doro Nawas"

1 night Arrived 12 Apr 2016
"Beautiful location with great views. We were really impressed with the rooms - quite striking use of natural materials and yet very comfortable and roomy. Beautiful deck - tho, unavoidably quite hot during a good chunk of the day.

We had a wonderful morning drive and were very lucky to have our great guide all to ourselves. He was quite savvy about where to go and what to look for and very responsive to our interests - took us out of the way to see the Welwitschia when he learned we had not yet seen it.

Also had a lovely walk around the Twyfelfontein carvings; part of the route was a bit too challenging for us to manage but the on-site guide was sensitive and accommodating in adjusting for that."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"A unique and memorable stop"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2016
"We thoroughly enjoyed Etendeka and its unique style. It was just wonderful to be so isolated amidst such beautiful surroundings.

The tents were terrific and Dennis and Bonny were extremely attentive to our needs and comfort -- this was especially so while my husband was suffering pretty severe consequences during the first day from something he had eaten (elsewhere!). He quickly recuperated and was able to fully enjoy the rest of the stay. As stated the accommodations and meals are simple in one sense but they are also high quality. Food was delicious and the communal ambience - and evening conversations - were lovely. Great walks and rides in the surrounding areas.

it was quit impressive to see what it's taken to both preserve this land and to address the practical needs of making it livable and sustainable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2016
"The accommodations at Anderssons were fine but nothing special - probably very good for families but, as an older couple, we would have preferred a place without the fencing. [In fairness, our choices were limited by late planning on our part.]

The staff were very pleasant and very pro-active about reaching out and offering services and the meals were fine - very nice and varied settings.

The morning tour was very good - very engaging and informative guide who, out of some combo of luck and skill, provided some great sightings - several large elephant families; rhinos and lions in conflict; a hunting lioness. Great day!"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

"Convenient base in a lovely setting"

2 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2016
"The rooms at Onguma are quite spread out which is nice is some ways but has its challenges - a bit of a long walk back to base but a very short drive!

Frankly we were not as impressed with the "Honeymoon suite" as we expected. There were some lovely touches - like the outdoor shower - but the indoor decor seemed like it was trying for a traditional safari look but with inconsistent elements - and basic amenities were lacking. The staff was nice but, again, seemed a bit less experienced as elsewhere - a bit thrown by relatively simple requests - not a tight team. Meals were OK

Unfortunately, the guide was the one weak guide we had in the entire trip. He warmed up a bit by the evening drive but was extremely distracted in the AM and almost a bit defensive. He seemed to be attending to his cell phone a lot and initiated little information. Most often, he offered minimal answers to questions in a fairly low voice. Not engaging at all for whatever reason - a stark contrast to every other drive we had."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Wonderful chalet; very special location"

2 nights Arrived 19 Apr 2016
"What a wonderful ending to a very special trip.

The brief but exciting ride into the compound is a great start to a lovely stay. The chalets were just stunning with beautiful views. Great walking trails and lovely staff showing a great sense of teamwork.

Meals were great and served in a lovely spot with an overlook. Very relaxing with a full range of options for activity level.

Our guide was a very personable local man who shared with us a lot of information about the environment and wildlife as well as about his own life story and the culture of the local area. all in all, a great stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team