This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms P from San Francisco

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Good trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 10 Oct 2016 and 22 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Good
"Despite the flight debacle with Kenya Airways, we had a good time in Africa.

We were very pleased with the itinerary and activities planned for us by Maruska, who was very professional and helpful. All the hotel recommendations were really nice, although more on the expensive side.

For overnight stay, we would have preferred to stay at a mid-scale property like Rivertrees Inn than upscale property like Arusha Coffee Lodge."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge

"Not worth the value"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2016
"Our room itself was very nice, but lacking in privacy and the staff needed more training. Everyone was just gauging for tips and it was very uncomfortable. We had three persons taking our luggage, which we thought could have been done by one person with a cart. We tipped everyone and thanked them for the service. Then one of them came back unsolicitedly to give us towels and water (which we already had in the room), left dirty footprints all around the room, and asked for more tips.

Every staff that walked by our room would look into our room (probably out of curiosity). Because the landscape was so sparse, we didn't feel like we had any privacy and had to keep the curtains down most of the time. Aside from the manager who greeted us professionally when we arrived, it was a fairly uncomfortable stay and not at all worth the price tag.

We had a much more enjoyable time staying at the Rivertrees Country Inn on our last night in Arusha."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

"Ideal location in Ngorongoro"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"Overall we had a very pleasant two nights at Ngorongoro Serena. The location couldn't be beat, right on the rim and close to the entrance, making our safari more enjoyable.

Our room had an unobstructed view of the crater and a nice patio to watch sunrise and sunset. Staff was polite and professional, and the food was of high quality.

We would recommend this hotel to others."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

"Best safari experience in Serengeti!"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2016
"Dunia Camp was the highlight of our Tanzania trip!

The Asilia staff, especially our tour guide Alfred and the camp manager Angel , treated us like family from beginning to end. We stayed here two nights for safaris in the Serengeti National Park, and we wished we could have stayed longer because of the service.

The staff even took care of my mom when she wasn't feeling well, tending her with hot teas and extra services. Just exceptional service through and through. We can't wait to explore other Asilia properties!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

"Great overnight stay in Arusha"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2016
"We stayed here one night before leaving Tanzania, and it was a great place to recharge after a couple of intense safari days.

The hotel was set in a beautiful botanical garden with all sorts of plants and birds, and our room was very comfortable and private. Although it's half the cost of Arusha Coffee Lodge, we had a much more enjoyable time here.

Would highly recommend it!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Lawhill Luxury Apartments

"Exceptional value for Cape Town!"

4 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"Lawhill Luxury Apartments are super luxurious self-catering apartments by V&A Waterfront in Cape Town. We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. We had a chance to cook, do laundry and recharge after some intense safari days. The nice thing is that you do you have a 24/7 concierge service so it's comforting to have someone that you can check you in and out and provide suggestions for sightseeing. We dined at Nobu at One & Only Hotel next door one night and would recommend it.

From our apartment it's a short walk to marina where we found a lot of fun shops, dining options and sightseeing tours. Beware of your surrounding and keep your belonging close to you because my phone was unfortunately stolen out of my bag in this area during broad daylight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Charming hotel by Victoria Falls"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2016
"Staying at this hotel was like being transported back to the early 1900s, the decor was of luxurious and tasteful Victorian style and the service was excellent. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom dreamy.

There were many rooms for guests to entertain in, but my favorite was the piano room which led to a terrace overlooking a vast garden and Victoria Falls bridge. There's a path that would take you from the hotel to Victoria Falls, which we took advantage of. We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed the afternoon, massages and food.

Would recommend this place to anyone coming to Victoria Falls!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team