This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Carolita from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

2

I wrote a blog.

Tanzania and 3 other countries between 8 Oct 2016 and 22 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"If I had had any doubts or fears of taking this trip to Tanzania they were dispelled completely. I found Expert Africa as a company, by accident and would turn to them again for a future visit in a heartbeat.

There was no question however trivial that was not explained fully and my complicated itinerary ran like clockwork. Yes, it was an expensive trip but I was travelling alone and to some more remote parts of the Serengeti so my safety and health was important to me.

I have to thank Richard and the staff at Expert Africa whose current knowledge and expertise about my trip was exemplary. I was a complete stranger to them yet there was minute attention to all the details.

The experience will stay with me for a lifetime. So many thank you’s."

Feedback response

For more details about this travellers trip, her blog is here: www.carolita.co.uk.

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Image alt

Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

"Outstanding service"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2016
"I arrived Saturday evening after the taxi had thronged through a really vibrant and busy end of day market. The road was narrow and strewn with hundreds of people selling everything from carrots to chairs and mangoes to shoes.
When the gates were opened into Lake Duluti the contrast was immense.

My room had been prepared with the mosquito nets drawn and was immaculately clean. I could not have wished for a more lovely place and room in which to spend my first night in Tanzania.
Although the dining room seemed empty with plenty of staff, they did everything to make me feel safe and comfortable.

The following morning I saw what a beautiful setting it was with views over the lake and set in exquisite gardens.

This was where I met my guide and the receptionist who introduced me to his language of Swahili. I was sent off with printed pages of common words and phrases and huge laughter.
More importantly, I accidentally left my phone charger in my room. Some days later, my guide discovered where it was and the staff at Lake Duluti put it in an envelope and flew it to Namiri !!!! I still have the envelope with its travel stamps on it. I thought that was beyond excellent care, thank you so much."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

"An amazing position"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2016
"The Sopa lodge seemed much bigger and busier rhan the Duluti near Arusha. Arriving up on the ridge was exciting in itself and one can not fault the staff. Entertainment in the form of a short Masai dance or similar occurred each evening before dinner which added to the thrill.

The back of the hotel which was like being on a precipice looking over the pool and down into a vast caldera and its squally changing micro climate was fascinating to see giving an air of mystery to the whole crater rim."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"Unbeleivable !!"

4 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"There are no words to describe this place as it was my very first time in the bush and even camping. My tent was like a Bedhouin palace, one of 8 and I pray they never increase its size.

It has an indelible place in my heart, not just for the nightly roar of the lions, the amazing staff and gourmet food under a starry African sky, or the hot water bottle in my bed at night, the outdoor shower or a tray of coffee at 3,30am one morning but so much more than that.

I will return, and thank you to all the staff there. This was the supreme section of my trip.

Mama Carol x"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Balloon Safari over the Serengeti

Balloon Safari over the Serengeti

"Silent lift off"

12 Oct 2016 • Morning excursion

It was an early start to reach the balloon flight so the unusual drive in the dark was pitted with orange hyena eyes and following a strolling male lion. I felt that I had an experience before I got there.

The site of the 140 foot high yellow and green striped balloon, lifting from the ground with a team or engineers blasting fire and gas elements with the help of huge fans was exciting in itself. I arrived under an amazing starlit sky to be rewarded with a beautiful Serengeti sunrise.

I was a little anxious but being able to speak to the English pilot at length was wonderful. He was open and obviously loved what he did and was happy to share any technical and personal information that put me at rest.

This balloon company asks you to enter the basket whilst it is on its side, apparently this is unusual. Whatever the protocol, the take off was so smooth and magical. Apart from the odd blast of the gas burners it was as quiet as the dawn with a birds eye view of morning in the Serengeti. My photos are great considering I'm no photographer.
Excellent
Sunshine Marine Lodge

Sunshine Marine Lodge

"End of the Rocky Road"

5 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2016
"The journey from the airport and the west coast by Stone Town across to the north eastern side of Zanzibar was more than worth it. Firstly I experienced the drive through multiple villages and changes in the vegetation. I went to Marine lodge principally to take up my diving again from 7 or so years ago.

The location with an infinity pool that stretches across the Indian ocean towards Mnemba atoll was stunning and more so because my lodge with its wooden balcony looked straight across at it. Set in a jewel of winding gardens and a lazy holiday atmosphere it was perfect for healing my broken heart at leaving the Serengeti.

A refresher dive in the pool and 2 days of diving helped cure all of that. I had swapped grassland for the ocean with octopus, groupers, stone fish and shoals of rainbow coloured fish. Tea and cake between dives was great and their level of attention and safety was extremely good.

I'm no chicken and although not a large person…gettin me into the water kitted up, well they deserve medals. We laughed a lot.

The hotel gave me everything I asked for, trips to the Spice farm…well worth itt…and the Stone town visit as well as a dubious sail in a small mango boat were on my agenda but the funniest part was the trip to the beach. The boat for transport to the little beach was broken so the barman would drop everything to taxi me to and fro, quite charming and bizarre at the same time. If I wished for anything, it would be that the plastic bottles washed up could be cleared away, such a beautiful coastline."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Smooth and westernised"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2016
"Just one night and sleep in The Eka hotel. It was sophisticated, efficient and really restful. Because I was only there for a few hours, room service and lovely food came quickly as well as a packed breakfast at 4am the following morning.

The drive from Nairobe airport to the hotel let me catch site of a thriving westernised city."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Colonialism is still alive."

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2016
"It was like a step back to a by-gone time. This sprawled out genteel colonial hotel was elegant and timeless.

I didnt eat there apart from breakfast as I took the Zambezie river cruise that served food and champagne, but the breakfast was the most comprehensive I have ever experienced, even from a top flight Hong Kong hotel.

The setting was tropical and the staff were attentive and couteous. My room looked out over the grounds at the back directly in front of the famous bridge that separates Zambia from Zimbabwe."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Good
Helicopter Flight - Zimbabwe

Helicopter Flight - Zimbabwe

"Short and sweet"

21 Oct 2016 • Afternoon excursion

Even though it was not the best season for rainfall the Falls still take your breath away and the flight circled both ways several times so that everyone can see the falls and the rainbows.

They do a little touristy talk afterwards where you can buy a video of yourself and your flight complete with interesting facts about the area.
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team