This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs T from Bucks

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

August 2017 trip

Namibia between 10 Aug 2017 and 25 Aug 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have traveled as a family a reasonable amount and have all agreed that our trip to Namibia was an absolute highlight.

It is a stunning, dramatic, beautiful and haunting country. Mountains, canyons, deserts, seascape and fantastic wildlife, all coupled with welcoming friendly, warm and engaging people.
We'd encourage anyone to go - and probably go now before development changes Namibia irrevocably.

A major part in our trip being such a success was the guidance, planning, support and recommendations provide by Expert Africa and especially Josh Flatman. To put is in some context Josh arranged a fantastic agenda for two of us, which was then changed to be the whole family - he approached this difficult task with relish and was able to find fabulous accommodation for us all with the minimal of fuss. I cannot praise him highly enough.

It is clearly the collective experience at Expert Africa, research trips undertaken by the staff to Namibia and the connections that they have in country which enable them to provide a first class tailored service. Thank you all, and Josh especially, so much.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Only two suggestions; one minor, one more important:

- Minor. Please mark exactly where Bullsport is on the map. We had a in impression is was north of the junction of the D1206/C14, coming from Reheboth, and took the wrong turn. It's some 300 m south of that junction!

- More material. The B1 road south between Okahandja and Windhoek is currently undergoing major works to turn it into a highway rather than a regular road. This causes long delays for blasting etc. and the works do mean that there is some dangerous driving from locals when overtaking. Do leave plenty of time when returning to Windhoek for the airport etc.
We were warned to expect this by the staff at Erongo Wilderness Lodge so left plenty of time but don't be tempted to think it will be quick based on the road being tarmac."

Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Hilltop Guesthouse - perfect first night stop"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2017
"Easy to find and well located on-top of a hill in a lovely part of Windhoek.

A perfect stop for a first night in Namibia as is reachable in less than an hour from the airport - and very little traffic encountered.

Good parking and secure. Felt very comfortable and safe. Easy to reach nearby restaurants e.g. Joe's Beerhouse.

Lovely, lovely rooms - very large and comfortable.

Great breakfast served on the terrace in the sunshine overlooking Windhoek.

Only regret is not staying two nights and using this as a base to see more of Windhoek..."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Great walks and location - Bullsport Farm"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2017
"Beautiful location at the foot of the Naukluft mountains. Very large, very comfortable and well designed rooms.

Family are very welcoming and we loved the communal dinners (delicious - as were the afternoon teas..), with the chance to find out more about farming and horses in Namibia. Added bonus of the canine members of the family who are are welcoming too!

There are a number of well defined walks that are a perfect antidote to the first day of driving on Namibia's gravel roads!

Guided walk to the Quivertree Gorge was super - our guide spotted many animals and birds (Hartmann's zebra and black eagles) which we would never have seen.

Only issue was the map from Expert Africa indicated that the farm was located north on the road from Reheboth. It's just south ;-)"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Sundowners and Dunes in the Desert..."

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2017
"Stunning location and super rooms - we had two new 'huts' 24 and 25 furthest from the main centre of the camp but worth it for the location and view. Do climb the nearby hill for a view back over the camp and the mountains.

We did the sun-downer drive which was simply amazing. Completely isolated stunning view as the sun went down with drinks and nibbles - a very special memory.

Use this as a reasonably close location for the dunes - we did the drive to the Sestriem gate and then into the dunes with breakfast included. The trip was a little long but absolutely a highlight of our Namibia trip. Very knowledgeable guides with great ability to find snakes and spiders...

Rooms are super and the beds wonderful - and what a view to wake up to. Sky at night is awesome too."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Organic Square

Organic Square

" Great location, clean B&B in Swakop"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2017
"Good location. Nice big rooms with great bathrooms and a super breakfast.
Is exactly as advertised.

Walking is safe at night and location is 5 to 6 minutes from The Tug, Strand Hotel and all shops.

Also very easy to locate from the coast road coming into Swakop from Walvis Bay.

Whilst staying here these travellers also took part in a kayaking with seals excursion in Walvis Bay, here are their comments:

Easy to find to meet the guide Jens who was excellent throughout. Very engaging, informative and entertaining!

Great trip out to Pelican Point with an informative guide and then a super trip on the water.
Weather was excellent so don't be put off and assume it is always foggy - Walvis Bay is usually far clearer than Swakop.
Kayaks and all kit were excellent - very easy to stay warm and dry and have a wonderful time with many, many seals.

So listen to the guide and follow the rules though. Kayaking company used by Expert Africa are ethically sound whereas some are not - it should be applauded in order that future groups of tourists can enjoy the seals in the wild. Don't touch them!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

" Wonderful, special place with fabulous staff"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2017
"We cannot praise this camp enough.

Boertie, our guide was fabulous. He spent hours tracking and circling around the desert adapted elephants and he never gave up. Eventually we found the whole group and spent a good time observing the family including baby Christmas. A special time.
Thank you so much Boertie...

Everything about this camp is fabulous - the welcome, the staff, their good humour and sense of fun, and their desire to make every stay an experience is evident from the moment one arrives. Food was super - breakfast, lunch and dinner, and a lovely evening at the boma eating outside under the stars.
Interesting walks in stunning scenery nearby. Even had an astronomy lesson!

We feel privileged to have been to this very special place. Heartily recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

" A watering hole to die for !"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2017
"Camp itself is what is says on the tin - government run camp. Very functional but clean. Food is reasonable for saying they cater for so many, and the pool is very nice.

Guides are great and the morning safari is one to book -- we saw 12 lions in 40 minutes!

Aside from this the absolute highlight is the watering hole - many, many animals, hundreds at some stages. We saw many elephants, including large family groups, 15 giraffes in one group and an amazing rhino fight. Also woken one night by roaring lions.

There are more welcoming and bijou camps but if in Etosha do not shy way from staying here. The wildlife more than outweighs the functional nature of the place."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

" Green oasis with excellent facilities"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2017
"Larger than we expected and does have the feel of a corporate location but the staff more than make up for this.
Rooms are large, clean and very new with wonderful bathrooms.

The gardens and pool are very lovely especially when seeing bontebok, mongoose etc. so close to hand.

We found the place to be a great rest stop after a long set of travels and the Reptile Park should be mentioned - some amazing snakes e.g. black mamba and an informative guide. Do take time to see it.

Food choice is incredible and very tasty, especially the barbecue."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Fabulous location in Erongo Mountains..."

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2017
"A wonderful location to end a wonderful trip.

Doe and his wife provide a fabulous welcome to an amazing camp.

My wife and I had the 'honeymoon' lodge. Far from the centre of the camp with amazing views and many places to sit and watch the sun rise and set. The tented chalets were just perfect. We cannot understand a comment on Trip Advisor where people complain of gaps between wooden floorboards. This is a mountain region of Africa and there will be insects - not that we saw any!. It is not and never should be a sterile unnatural environment.

All food and wine was excellent and it is nice to get recommendations from Doe himself and understand a little about wine in Namibia. The dining room and small pool are in fabulous location and it was such a pleasure to use the facilities accompanied by a wide variety of birdlife.

This is a very special place. We hope it remains so. Do take the trip to Paula's cave. It's a highlight especially when coupled with a sun-downer. All staff and guides are wonderful - especially the fun sense that the guides bring to what they do whilst still being informative; special mention for Halacious (spelling?) who was tremendous fun and very informative..."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team