This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms W from Kenora

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

1

Everyone needs to experience Africa!

Tanzania and 1 other country between 31 Oct 2017 and 14 Nov 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"I applied for a job in Tanzania some time ago so i bought the guide book and book on safaris just in case I got the job. Well i didn't get the job but the book really got me excited about Africa. When i found a travel partner, some years later, while re reading my books i was inspired by the fact that the authors had travelled to this area frequently and consequently I was drawn to contact the affiliated company regarding trip planning.

Lyndsey was excellent. She started off by asking what kind of trip we wanted and from there guided us through planning a trip that would meet our needs and expectations. She answered our questions, wasn't pushy and was open to my suggestions of things i wanted to work into our trip, like visiting fish markets and seeing some of Dar es Salem. The adventure was exactly what we wanted and more.

Travelling as two older women it was important to feel safe and at the same time experience the opportunity of adventure. Keeping the costs down and not going to high end camps was important as well as avoiding the crowds. We met other travellers who had been further north and when they showed up at an animal sighting there where 50 jeeps already there, everyone lined up. We knew we didn't want that nor travel in an enclosed vehicle so again great direction from Lyndsey.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We were not charged the $30 fee to leave Tanzania and I'm not sure if this is because we left from Zanzibar or not.

The Stone Town Airport does not open until midnight for a 2am flight so there is no point going out there early. If u do the toilet outside the airport building costs money and the one inside is free. You need TZ shillings.

The booklet is confusing on tipping in the camps and we received different information from the different camp managers. If two people are travelling together do they pay their guide as one person or do they people double the recommended amount? We paid our driver, the guide, the boat guide all separate from each of us and then half that amount at the second camp. Other people we talked to seemed confused as well.

I brought a black head net and was really glad I did as the flies at the second camp were fierce in some areas. Burning elephant dung helped somewhat. Green head nets interfere with your vision clarity but the black ones work great.

Thanks Lyndsey for all your help in planning our wonderful adventure!"

Feedback response

We are really glad that these travellers had such a wonderful time in Tanzania and Zanzibar. We really appreciate all their feedback and advice, particularly regarding tipping. We respect that who and how much to tip can become confusing, especially when you have multiple guides. To assist our travellers we have actually produced a online guide on how to tip in Tanzania, and this can be found on the Tanzania pages on our website. We will certainly revise our distributed material, including our notes for travellers, and clarify how best to tip whilst on safari.

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun Dar review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2017
"We arrived fairly late in the evening and received a welcoming beverage and attentive staff to help us get checked in and assistance to our room. It was spacious, spotless, quiet and had fabulous beds and linens for a great night's sleep. Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of fresh choices and offered both an inside and outside seating option. We sat outside enjoying the warm fresh air overlooking the lovely garden.

The hotel concierge arranged a guide for us to tour the city and made some helpful suggestions as to places we might like to visit and some dining options as well. We had a fantastic day touring the city although I would recommend if anyone plans to visit the actual fish market, which was very busy and interesting, there is an expectation that all visitor sign in the market office upstairs on arrival. Our guide had to pay a fee as well and it was not clear why this happened.

We really enjoyed all the markets we visited and felt perfectly safe with our guide. We took the concierge recommendation for dinner and ate at a restaurant called the Fish Market. We enjoyed fresh sushi in a beautiful setting overlooking the water.

Check out was easy and our pre arranged transportation was on time and shared more information on life in this busy city."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Stone Town Discovery Tour

Stone Town Discovery Tour

"An excellent introduction to the highlights!"

31 Oct 2017 • Morning excursion

Our guide arrived promptly as pre arranged. He asked us first our areas of interest, reviewed our time allotment and made a few suggestions of things we should not miss before we headed out. He was born in Stone Town and knew lots of interesting little tidbits about the city that made it much more interesting.

He was very polite, had a good sense of humour and was determined that we should enjoy our tour. We saw everything we wanted to see, felt very safe, were introduced to some delicious street food and packed in as much as possible.

He was also helpful in giving us directions for further sightseeing and shopping on our return to Stone Town on our departure date which was very helpful as well.
Excellent
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Amazing animal sightings, up close, no crowds"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2017
"We met our guide and driver at the air strip on arrival and started are first game drive as we headed to the camp! After receiving a warm reception at the camp, receiving assistance with our luggage from the Masai guides, we arrived at our wonderful tent! It was perfect after the beds were converted from a double into 2 singles. We had everything we needed, it was spotless, the beds and linens were comfortable and it almost felt like we weren't camping.

We meet with the camp manager shortly after arrival for review of the camp layout, safety rules, plans for the evening and the following day. We ended up going out on a boat safari and enjoyed the company of another guest and our guide. I trained but we hardly noticed we were so excited with the abundant birdlife, crocs and hippos.

Every day was packed full with incredible game drives, amazing knowledgeable guides, delicious meals and enjoyable social time before dinner with our guests. We appreciated the safety provided by the Masai in the early morning and evening. The game drives were fabulous with wonderful communication between the guides in other vehicles as to sightings, never a line up of vehicles waiting to see the animals and a wealth of knowledge shared by the guides about plants, trees, birds, insects, the animals and their behaviour.

We were a bit confused with the tipping as to the rates suggested were for each of us or the both of us travelling together. we thought we had it right but were led to believe at the second camp that we had tipped double what was recommended as a guide. We were both so pleased with our guides that it really was worthwhile."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Another fabulous and well run camp!"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2017
"We felt very comfortable arriving at our second safari camp and we were so glad we had the opportunity for a similar but different experience in another part of Tanzania. once again our guides met us at the small airport and where very helpful and welcoming. The camp managers met us on arrival and once we were settled in met with us to discuss our afternoon drive and the camp orientation.

Once again our tent was fantastic, spotless and with all the comforts we expected after our visit to the first camp. We had drinks around the campfire in the evening before dinner and it was a great time to socialize with the other guests. The meals again were delicious with plenty of food and variety. Camp breakfasts out on the game drive were a great experience as well and the food was delicious. I did have a problem on my last breakfast with all the bees attracted to the honey or jam i tried putting on my toast and finally gave up in the end.

Our guide and driver were both very knowledgeable regarding the vegetation, birds, insects, animals and their behaviour which we really enjoyed and appreciated. We travelled with another couple on our game drives and enjoyed their company as well. Once again the variety on animal sightings was excellent with no line ups and every attempt by the guide and driver to help us get a good shot with our cameras.

From the information from the camp on line i was not expecting to see a dry riverbed and no waterfall whatsoever. Our guide was good enough to take us to the waterfall area so we could see for ourselves and get a better understanding of the impact of the dry season.

The charging area was very much appreciated and well set up. All the staff were very polite and helpful and really made our stay ver enjoyable. Burning elephant dung to ward off the tse flies in certain areas was ingenious but i do recommend a black head net if you are really bothered by the flies. You can see perfectly thru the netting and still use your camera."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

"Highly recommend more than a one night stay!"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2017
"We loved this place from the moment we first caught sight of this incredible structure as we made our way through the twisted alley-streets of Stone Town. i think it is perfectly located in the middle of everything but not noisy at all as there is no car traffic. We were graciously received by the manager and staff and escorted to our room with luggage assistance. We were in absolute awe of this grand old building and it's history. I would say a truly "shabby chic" decor which fits perfectly with the vintage of the structure and makes it so comfortable.

We had a huge room with 2 comfortable double beds with superb linens, a full bath with 2 sinks an amazing stone tub/shower, a lounge area, as well as two outside decks overlooking the streets. One night's stay was not enough to really soak up the ambience of this hotel. The manager was very attentive and helpful as were all the rest of the staff.

i highly recommend including this hotel in your Zanzibar adventure but stay more than one night!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge

"A beautiful retreat, fabulous staff & food!"

4 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2017
"After spending time in two different safari tent camps it was absolutely fantastic to arrive at this incredible beach front resort for a little indulgence. The grounds were immaculate and the well tended gardens spectacular. The staff greeted us with welcoming smiles on our arrival, refreshing drinks and hand cloths which were truly appreciated. We arrived towards the end of lunchtime but were accommodated with a perfect lunch to tie us over until dinner. Our bungalow overlooked the reef and the vast Indian Ocean beyond. The perfect setting and we had a fully furnished private deck for lounging and enjoying the sea breeze.

Our bungalow was perfect inside as well with a high thatched ceiling, two comfortable double beds with quality linens, one on the main floor and one upstairs both with well placed.fans. The bathroom was huge, with a beautiful tub and great walk in shower, and a separate toilet. we were so happy we were staying 4 nights!

The meals were fantastic in their presentation, variety and taste. The dining room was well situated overlooking the water as was the infinity pool. A second pool was closer to the bar lounge area and was equally as nice with a small waterfall.

We utilized the sports centre for assisting us with an afternoon kayaking out to the reef, a wonderful boat ride and snorkelling outing to a distant reef and a swim with the dolphins and a walk to the fish market and a village tour. The staff at the centre were very helpful and friendly.

Overall the front desk staff, the bar and wait staff were all excellent and attentive. i also really enjoyed my massage treatment. This resort and the staff put on a fantastic and swahili dinner and entertainment fun night which all the guests really seem to enjoy and learned a few new dance moves! I highly recommend this resort as a great place to unwind and relax."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team