This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs P from Crowthorne

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

We are so glad we visited Namibia!

Namibia between 24 Oct 2008 and 7 Nov 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had the most enjoyable and exciting holiday. We felt well prepared before we left and when we were there we found a very high standard of accommodation, quality of food and service. The scenery is breathtaking and the locals were charming. We are thinking of going back!

Just one thing : we found the saloon car inappropriate for some of the roads we used. Upgrading the car in Swakopmund was the best thing we did."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2008
"Bullsport was ideal as a first stop as we drove straight from the airport. After a tiring journey It would have been nice to be greeted with a cold drink whilst listening to the arrival information (it was not the owners who met us on arrival).

We very much enjoyed being able to do some walking on our own. We feel that maybe the owners should consider charging a little more in order to pamper their guests (tea and coffee during the day and higher quality toiletries...) We were rested when we left and felt ready to discover Namibia."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Wolwedans Dune Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2008
"We found the road to Wolwedans difficult in our saloon car but, as soon as we arrived, it was all forgotten. We had a warm welcome, lunch was ready when we arrived at the camp.

The accommodation is luxurious (considering the location), the staff is attentive without being overpowering. We thoroughly enjoyed the sun-downer and the day drive with our guide Vinte. We learnt so much but at the same time the day was relaxing in such beautiful scenery.

We had lunch at Boulders Camp as there was no guest there on that day; the manager sat with us over a cup of coffee and gave us an insight into his life and some of the Namibian customs. Just like the staff at our camp he was professional and charming.

We appreciated having the flask of hot water to have tea in bed watching the sun rise and there was chocolate in the evenings... Most members of staff told us that they have a really good boss; he certainly has managed to create something very special. We loved it there!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Kulala Wilderness Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Kulala Wilderness Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2008
"We enjoyed our stay at Kulala. The welcome was warm but, for us, it was over the top. We felt that Thomas was trying too hard. He booked us into two restaurants in Swakopmund ignoring the fact that we did not want to eat in the smoking area at the Tug ("that's all was available" and we decided to eat at Sam's Giardino which was an excellent choice), he was very insistent that we should do the ballooning trip on our day of departure (fortunately we did not as it took us a long, long time to reach Swakopmund in our saloon car).

We had a great day to the dunes with Bariar; he obviously has a lot of experience and knowledge, which made the trip unforgettable. He found an idyllic spot for our delicious brunch. It was a most enjoyable day.

The food at the camp was good and the service efficient. After seeing a scorpion we were not keen to sleep on the terrace!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2008
"Although Sam's welcome was very low key we found Sam very helpful. We needed a dentist, managed to get to the very modern medical centre at 5.00 pm on a Friday and the tooth was "patched up" so we could enjoy the rest of the holiday.

Sam went out of his way to organise some excursions for us. The trip to Moon Valley was excellent thanks to another very experienced and accommodating guide.

Sam's hotel is extremely comfortable and we found the food absolutely delicious.

A great place to stay and, if the weather is good, there is a beautiful landscaped garden to relax in."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2008
"We were looking forward to our stay in Doro Nawas and we were not disappointed. The chalets are very spacious and well appointed, the main area is relaxed and friendly with superb views over the desert. We sat on the veranda looking out for some elephants! On our first afternoon we relaxed by the pool, which is very secluded.

Our guide took us to the elephants, which were a long way from the camp. Although our guide was determined to find the elephants she did not seem to have the all around passion for Namibia that we found in the previous guides. We paid quite a lot for the trip to the rock paintings but being taken there was relaxing and we finished the day with a sun-downer and some interesting conversations in a beautiful spot.

Sleep outside, it feels very special with so many stars and shooting stars and the cool pure air of the desert! The food was good and the young girls in the restaurant were charming ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2008
"Ideal as a last stop. The tents are quite small and we found the bathroom very dark and open to wildlife! It is nice to have tea and coffee in the tent. We enjoyed the sun-downer (and the kudu sausage) and the very early morning walk. The guides were once again very keen and helpful.

The pool and the area around it are ideal to relax in before tackling the journey home. A visit to Omaruru is an interesting experience.

It would be useful to have some sort of alarm system like in Kulala and Doro Nawas as the chalets are spread out. Emergencies do happen."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team