This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs A-C from California

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2008 trip

Namibia between 25 Aug 2008 and 4 Sep 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"The accomodations were superb and the locations allowed us maximum game viewing, which was our prime purpose.

Tracy was correct in that we took on more driving than recommended. We were fortunate that we had no car trouble, but it did cause concern in certain areas, particularly in the north."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Great cheetah viewing."

1 night Arrived 25 Aug 2008
"Wonderful accomodations, good food and game drives. The leopard tracking was a highlight.

Accomodating staff. We arrived late afternoon due to delays at the airport and they arranged to have us join the game drive.

Only suggestion is warmer blankets for the bed. The nights were cold!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Great base camp for viewing Etosha."

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2008
"The room was wonderful; very large and comfortable. The oudoor shower was a treat on a hot day.

The night game drive was definitely worth doing to see the nocturnal animals. We saw lion and rhino we hadn't seen during the day.

The location was great for driving into the park.

The food was of uneven quality. Surprisingly, the crocodile was good and the chicken was very tough. Breakfasts were good.

Note that fuel was not available when we were there. As noted in your tips, fill up when available."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Tropical paradise on the Kavango river."

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2008
"After driving through Rundu we were concerned about this lodge, but were very pleasantly surprised at how lush and comfortable the accomdations were.

The sunset boat cruise was pleasant and allowed us to see beautiful birds and a gorgeous sunset as well as local villagers going about their everyday lives."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Susuwe Island Lodge

"Fantasy Island"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2008
"We had no idea there was such a place on this earth as the Suswe Island lodge! The lodge itself iswonderfully laid out and appointed. Our room was spacious and had wonderful details such as a fantastically carved front door and inlaid floors. It had a great deck overlooking the river.

The managers, Tian and Natasha were gracious and hospitable spending the evenings conversing with us around the fire pit. They also invited us to view the hippo that decided to dine on the grass in the staff quarters area.

The food was superb! The chef serves gourmet meals that he announces personally.

Lester, our personal guide, was from the area and was able to explain how the local people used various plants. His knowledge of the plants and animals of the area was enormous and he shared his knowledge freely. He was terrific at locating animals and was very friendly and open. A truly exceptional guide.

Absolutely the highlight of our trip! An incredible experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Tenting on the river, a different experience."

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2008
"Finding the lodge was a bit tricky. Signage could be improved. The dirt road was marginal for a two wheel drive with poor clearance. (Toyota Yaris).

The location on the Kavango was lovely and we were treated to a herd of elephant right across the river. Horst was a gracious host who took the time to talk to us about the area and Namibia in general.

The boat cruise gave us an opportunity to see hippos up close as well as crocodiles.

The fresh mini loaves of bread were great in the morning."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Khorab Lodge

"Comfotable overnight stay featuring blesbok."

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2008
"The lodge and dining area were nicely done. The garden was lush and beautifully maintained. The room was quite comfortable.

We enjoyed walking the surrounding land which contained a herd of blesbok. Jackson provided excellent service at table and the hosts were friendly and gracious.

It is a good stopping spot, not really a destination. Only downside was road noise."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

own arrangements

"Own Arrangements"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2008
"Good."
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team