This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs B from W Midlands

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Simply a wonderful trip

Namibia between 4 Sep 2018 and 15 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"We cannot praise Expert Africa highly enough. All your recommendations were spot on, there were no hiccups, and there were some little personal touches, such as marking up the locations of our lodges on the map, which we had no right to expect.

We did not see all Namibia has to offer but enough to appreciate how much it has to offer and be able to confidently recommend others to go. We would also recommend others to opt for the larger car. The driving was a joy. Although the distances varied each day we reached our destinations by 2 pm every day except the last and this allowed us to relax and, from Hohenstein, enjoy a swim,

Indeed the quality of the lodges (accommodation and food); their locations and scenery; and the chance to experience the cool freshness in the early morning and relax with a drink as the sun went down; were probably as important in our enjoyment as seeing the amazing dunes and the rich variety of game animals.

So, a huge thank you

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We are lost to think of anything"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Convenient, attractive, guest house"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"We thought this an attractive, neat, friendly guesthouse with plenty of shaded sitting out areas and a nice guest lounge. It was easy to find from the airport and easy to reach the B1 the following day.

We opted for reception’s recommendation of finding an evening meal at Joe’s Pub which they kindly booked and was about 15 mins walking distance away and found it a very good choice.

The beds were comfortable and our only minor problem was that we struggled to find the ceiling light switch in our first room and couldn’t then turn them off completely.

Also, Heidi prepared grapefruit for our breakfast which we couldn't eat (because, for some reason, it interferes with a course of statins), so it might be better for guests to help themselves. Having said that the staff could not have been more helpful."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert Homestead Outpost

"A hidden gem"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"This was our favourite lodge. The publicity says it enjoys a stunning location, and this is absolutely true. It is 7.5 km from the nearest road out of sight of all other signs of human habitation, looking across to attractive distant hills. We thought we couldn't get further away from 'civilisation'; where we could almost ‘hear’ the silence, and see the stars in all their nighttime glory.

The wonderful location is backed by the superb level of service, friendly, helpful, well thought out. We appreciated too, the way that the individual chalets blended into the landscape and maximised one’s enjoyment of the view and, also, how the management have sought to impose as little damage on the environment as possible with virtually all the electricity coming from solar panels with battery back up, and all hot water from solar radiators.

It is 40 km to the park entrance to visit Sossusvlei which opens at sunrise and where, for an hour or so afterwards, the dunes look their most impressive. We had anticipated driving there ourselves but were pleased we chose to go. with 7 others. with the tour offered by the lodge, and got to the gate in plenty of time. We wish Chris and Lauren every success. A wonderful place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"As perfect a place as you will find "

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"We can not see how this Guest House could be improved. it is easy to find, convenient for shops and good restaurants, and has secure parking.

Above all, it is really attractive with flower beds outside and perfect accommodation within, and an ambience which was truly welcoming.

One of several nice touches was the provision of a kind of pager which allowed us to call the owner or reception from anywhere if we had a query.

The restaurant recommended, the Fish Deli, was excellent and the WiFi excellent too."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

"A pleasant, secluded stop over"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2018
"The lodge does not have the wonderful views at the Desert Homestead Outpost and Ugab Terrace lodges but is within the attractive Erongo mountain range, secluded and quiet.

Once again the staff were welcoming and helpful and the room decorations were an artistic treat. We enjoyed the pool though it was early season and somewhat bracing.

We thought the evening meal a little basic and there was no guide available for the walk we had hoped to make though other activities were still on offer. We saw monkeys and an ostrich from our veranda."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

"An excellent lodge in a stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2018
"Namibia has some striking geology and at Ugab, built on a ridge, we thought the views were stunning. The rooms were large and the decor attractive, the beds wide and, though firm, comfortable.

We enjoyed walks from the lodge and, as it was warming up, greatly enjoyed a swim in the small but attractive pool. The staff are welcoming and the meals very good. We had a barbecue on our first evening which was excellent.

Only 2 things let the lodge down. The key to our room safe had been lost and the advertised sunset drive was not available. Some may find the approach track ‘challenging’, but, as the notice said ‘Difficult roads often lead to beautiful destinations and this is a must stay place if possible, just for its location."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

"An excellent convenient lodge"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"This was the largest of the lodges we stayed at with 65 attractive bungalows set out in lines running from the reception, restaurant area and viewing deck. A modest disadvantage was that, at bungalow 64 it took us 10 minutes to walk to the bar!

On the other hand the western swimming pool was quite close and much enjoyed. The meals were good and eating outside a treat. This was where we contacted Bidvest re the car's fuel problem and the reception stall were extremely helpful. They also got us on an early morning tour of the park itself which we thought well worthwhile as it helped us to see more when we went in the next day ourselves. We stayed 2 nights.

This is an excellent and convenient lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Delightful, slightly different 'lodge'"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2018
"We thought this a delightful place. It was comfortable but with enough authenticity to merit the name Camp Though the accommodation is set in the 'bush', accessed is by well lit paved paths.

We loved the large attractive thatched lounge, bar and restaurant area, and, even more, the evening barbecue meal in the nearby boma which was delicious.

Our room had everything we needed, the beds were snug, and the staff universally welcoming and helpful. It had the best pool of all we found and was subtly different to the other lodges, and good for that.

It ran the Desert Homestead Outpost, our favourite, very close. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"See comments above"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"See earlier comments"
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team