This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr N. from Dorking

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2018 trip

Kenya between 10 Oct 2018 and 19 Oct 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was a visit to Lake Turkana, Marsabit and then to Samburu National Reserve. We were pleased that we did the circuit in that order as it gave us a luxurious end to the journey.

I had some difficulty to find an operator that was willing to cover Northern Kenya, but Expert Africa had the knowledge to create a suitable itinerary for us and find a company experienced in touring the region."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

"Functional & convenient airport hotel"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2018
"A 40 minute wait was required as no room was immediately available despite the late evening check in. We did not seem to be the only ones in this situation. A clean, functional and formulaic hotel, but very convenient for the airport."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Ngari Hill Ecolodge

Ngari Hill Ecolodge

"Ngari Hill Ecolodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2018
"The lodge is perched on top of a hill and accessed by a rough track. Large, comfortable room furnished in a slightly idiosyncratic style. Rather dense planting round the cabins hid what should be a commanding view of the local surroundings, however this supported a lot of bird life. Friendly and attentive staff. A new dining area was under construction."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Oasis Lodge

Oasis Lodge

"Oasis Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2018
"Surrounded by miles of desert and accessed by a rough road, Oasis Lodge is remarkable for the facilities it is able to provide. Excellent staff working in challenging conditions support the weary traveller with cold beers and superb food. Only one of the pools was in operation on our visit, but it was very welcome. The rooms are small and very tired, but clean. The rooms have windows that are covered with an insect screen and opening the louvered panes allow for a very welcome draught while being mosquito free."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Sylvia's Inn

"Feedback for Sylvia's Inn"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2018
"This feedback is for Sylvia's Inn as Marsabit Lodge was closed.

On the plus side, the rooms were clean, the bed comfortable and the toilet flushed efficiently. However our room was shabby with missing and broken fixtures and the bathroom facilities were shoddy. The food was basic and chewy but tasty enough. Alcohol is not served in the restaurant, but the food can be delivered to the bar on a different floor. The staff seemed unaware of our reservation.

If you are in need of a bed for the night it's acceptable but very basic"
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Elephant Bedroom

Elephant Bedroom

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2018
"A stunning place. We had fantastic sightings of leopard, cheetah and saw a successful lion kill thanks to the skills of Lekeda (James). We appreciated that the game drive vehicles were not filled to capacity.

The camp is rather more luxurious than we would normally choose, but was a welcome extravagance after a trip to Northern Kenya. The camp is run by Joseph and his team with seemingly effortless efficiency. The staff were conscientious and diligent and looked after us well.

The rooms are very spacious, clean, and beautifully presented and the plunge pool a welcome treat. Given the conditions of being in the bush, the food was generally excellent.

A point to note: The monkeys are experienced sneak thieves and not easily discouraged. Be on your guard and be VERY assertive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team