This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Lisa & hubs from Nashville

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

1

Our June 2019 trip

Tanzania between 14 Jun 2019 and 30 Jun 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Everything was seamless! All transfers went off without a hitch, whether by land or air. Having someone from Coastal Aviation walk us through our arrival in KJO international airport to the domestic terminal and through all the security points was so reassuring.

This was our first safari, so we didn't know what to expect on either service or accommodations. We needn't have worried as everything was just super! This will be a hard act to follow for any future agents."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

"Just what we like!"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2019
"We knew this was the most "basic" of the camps we were to stay at, but as this was our first safari trip, we didn't have any expectations. We were very happy with everything here, and especially loved the ability to pick out ourselves what we put in our take away lunch boxes. We didn't realize how nice this was until we were at other camps.

All of the food was delicious, and service was super friendly and helpful. Cleanliness throughout the entire camp was great. Size of the tent and comfort of the bed were great.

The migration arrived 2 days before we did, so location was fantastic!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Unfortunately, migration skipped this area"

4 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2019
"It's not this camp's fault that there were few animals here, but having to drive 30-60 minutes before seeing ANYTHING, became very disheartening. The camp is far away from all other camps (and the river). I guess if the migration is in the area, it would be nicely located to avoid a lot of other vehicles, but for us, it was a major burden. Also, the tsetse flies were vicious and it was difficult to escape them.

Service was fantastic, friendly, and always rapid with any responses. Food and drinks were delicious. Eating under the stars at dinner was really special. Tents were huge, and the shower arrangement kept everything else in the bathroom dry. Bed was big and comfortable. The entire camp was always very clean. Fresh towels every day was an unexpected treat.

We really liked the "eco-toilet" that used minimal water and had no odor."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Balloon Safari over the Serengeti

Balloon Safari over the Serengeti

"Beautiful way to see the Grumeti River"

19 Jun 2019 • Morning excursion

They were very prompt on pickup and take-off, and very thorough on briefings. This was our first balloon ride, so we appreciated the detailed descriptions of how to handle take-off and landing.

The pilots were very professional, yet personable, and seem to truly enjoy interacting with the guests.

The champagne toast after landing was handled well and in a fun manner. "Proper" English breakfast was quite filling and tasty. We enjoyed the "Loo with a view".
Excellent
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

"Walking safaris are the best!"

5 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2019
"We are very physically active people and so thoroughly enjoyed all the walking on these safaris. We were thrilled to be able to wear shorts and short sleeved tops while we walked (since it was the dry season, there are minimal insects). A few superficial scratches after pushing through bushes or river grass were not bothersome.

We loved getting to know interesting details about animals and plants, and seeing things "up close and personal". You definitely can get closer to animals in a vehicle (they don't perceive you as people in that big, square thing that stays on the road), but it was thrilling to "sneak up" on a herd of elephants, being downwind and not talking.

Moli and Noelle have created a true oasis in the bush, and accommodations are first rate! They seem to truly enjoy hosting people in their slice of paradise, and regaling them with hilarious stories. Their staff are second to none, and food and drinks were delicious. The beds are truly enormous and comfortable, and the entire camp is spotlessly clean.

We spent 2 days at fly camp, most of the time with Jacques, and enjoyed it immensely. He was tireless in giving me photography tips and helped me get some wonderful pictures of the night sky and the Milky Way.

We don't usually repeat trip destinations (the world's just too big!), but we're already planning to return in wet season to revel in the differences, and spend time in this beautiful area with super people. This was definitely our favorite camp of the 4 we stayed on this trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

"Night safari is fantastic!"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2019
"Dinner under the stars every night was truly special. The staff almost bend over backwards to respond to your slightest desire. Food and drinks were excellent. The tents are well separated, so you have a great sense of privacy. They are very roomy, and the bathroom area is also very large, with the shower outside. This is good and bad. If you take a shower before or after lunch, you bake in the midday sun, but having it outside keeps the tent nice and dry. It was really nice to sit out front and enjoy my morning coffee (dry season - no bugs!). It was certainly different to have a "Wifi area" where you went if you needed to connect with the outside world, but having that option was very welcome, that far from civilization

Hands down, our favorite activity was the night safari. It's an extra $59 per person charge, payable in cash, but definitely worth it. We were taken out for over 3 hours, and saw an amazing variety of animals. We were even so lucky as to see a leopard!

After being with the guide at this camp (very average), we realized how great we had had it with our previous extremely knowledgeable guides. This was our first safari trip, so we had no expectations or comparisons."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team