This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Prickly Pear from Dublin

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Tanzania/Zanziabr Honeymoon

Tanzania and 1 other country between 9 Jul 2008 and 26 Jul 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall we were very pleased with our trip,
Our Guide on the Safari, Nuru was absolutely brilliant, he had so much knowledge and didn't have to rely on the CB or following other people around to find the animals. The way he was able to spot some of them was unbelievable. Also he had such a knowledge of all the small animals as well, always showing the animal afterwards in the books he had and always correct on their name as well.
he looked after us from the moment we landed to the time we took off for Zanzibar. We were very lucky to have some one like him.

The accomodation was very impressive overall considering the general standard on view. Was really impressed with the quality and variety of the food as well.

Tanzania is such a lovely country and would love to visit it again some time in the future.

A big Thanks to Claire & Ann who helped us out in preparing for the trip that were always very helpful when dealing with them."

Feedback response

These travellers obviously enjoyed their trip, and we’re delighted that they ascribed so much of this to their guide who was “absolutely brilliant”, and “had so much knowledge and didn't have to rely on the CB [radio] or following other people around to find the animals”.

We couldn't agree more - good guiding is crucial on these safaris!

Their guide, Nuru Sanga, knows his wildlife, as well as being good at spotting it. It’s a great sign that Nuru showed the travellers his reference books – he is very familiar with them, as any good guide should be.

In some ways these travellers were, as they wrote, ‘very lucky to have [a guide] like him’. But in other ways, this was anything but luck…

When we first researched these guided mobile trips to Northern Tanzania, we were quite depressed. Guiding standards in northern Tanzania are generally not good. Often they’re very poor.

The official standards for guides are minimal – so anyone with a vehicle can set themselves us as a ‘safari guide’ in Arusha, and many people do! The town is full of chatty chaps who talk well and tell a good joke, offering to zoom hapless visitors around the parks, looking for big game. These ‘guides’ will often monitor radio traffic, to increase their chances of good ‘sightings’; most have little depth to their wildlife knowledge, and the worst will make up answers to questions when they’re unsure.

These aren’t the type of guides that we wanted to work with: our travellers to Southern Africa are used to much better. Eventually, after much searching, we settled on a small team in Tanzania who are dedicated to excellent guiding skills. The also believe that guiding is the single most important factor in a successful safari to this area – and they have a small, dedicated band of experienced guides who are serious about their wildlife knowledge.

Nuru is one of this team: he is one of our superior guides - and he’s very good! We’re confident to send travellers out with Nuru, and his colleagues, even when we send experienced old safari hands. (See our detailed comments on the choice of our safari guides Northern Tanzania.)

Guides like Nuru aren’t the cheapest guys to work with – but we’re very confident that you won’t find better safari guides in Northern Tanzania, or safaris which are better value for money than these trips.

We think they’re worth it – and are please to see these travellers agree.

Arranged By Claire Scott


Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge

"Arusha Coffee Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2008
"Not here too long less than 12 hours altogether.
Staff were good and friendly very helpful.
Room was clean and comfort.
Breakfast was ok, only meal we had here.

The Lodge served its purpose as being a stop over on the first night from Kilimanjaro Airport and then onwards to Tanangire Park."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Tarangire Treetops

Tarangire Treetops

"Tarangire Treetops review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2008
"The Location of Treetops is good on the edge of the Park, however the road into the Treetops is the worst road in all of Tanzania that we used. Took over 1 hour to travel less than 20kms.

The actually lodge itself is really cool, you really feel like you are on a safari and sleeping in the middle of the bush but with all of the luxury that you could expect. The room had a fantastic view over the treetops and even had a surprise for us when we arrived on our honeymoon.

As the lodge is a bit away from the restaurant there was security to escort you to and from.
The food was good drinks were included, we even had an Elephant join us one morning for breakfast.

Note that there is actually WiFi available here if you happen to have a device that uses it, very helpful to send a mail to home.
Staff were very welcoming on our arrival and send off."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Gibb's Farm

Gibb's Farm

"Gibb's Farm review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2008
"Gibbs Farm is very professionally run, more like a business and a bit removed from the African safari experience.
The Location is between both Lake Manyara & Ngorongoro Crater, about 1 hour drive from each. As the location is quiet high up it can get a little cool in the mornings & evenings.

The room we had Ngorongoro as it was called was one of the bigger lodges. The room was very impressive with 2 double beds and an indoor and outdoor shower (too cold to go out though). There was also a fireplace there as well which we made use of one night as it was chilly.

The staff were very friendly and looking to help where they could.

The food was excellent with most of the vegetables & fruit grown on the farm. There was loads to choose from in the morning & lunch time, dinner you didn't have as many choices but the quality was the same.

We had a day out here instead of going back to the crater for a second day and had a nice tour around the farm. You can also do an Elephant Cave tour as well ($10), but we didn't do it.

Overall we were really impressed with Gibbs, very well run and gives loads of employment to the locals. Just maybe a bit too removed from the rest of the Tanzania experience, as they seemed to be into $$$ as they charged for everything compared to the other places."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olakira

Olakira

"Olakira Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2008
"The location of Olakira was very near to the centre of the Serengeti. There is only 6 tents so not very crowded and was very intimate from that perspective. They had a nice surprise for us as well in our tent.

The tent itself is quiet large you had a patio area in the front with sun chairs and a lounger. Inside you had a big double bed, a proper bed not the blow up version. In the back then you had a bathroom with Shower, sink and a wardrobe for your clothes. Shower needed to be filled by staff who were more than willing to fill it when requested with hot water, which was more than adequate for your shower. It felt quiet safe inside the tent as well. Lights are run on Solar power and are more than adequate for what was needed.

The guys in the camp were excellent and very geniuenly helpful & friendly. They were always there if you needed anything from stepping off the jeep with a towel, to welcoming you to the camp fire at night and bringing you back to the tent at night. Drinks were included in this.

The food in general was good, considering that it was a camp site, Lunch and Dinner were good. Breakfast was less than adequate though, not too much there to choose from for the long day ahead. One point of concern which should be highlighted to the camp was in regard to the breakfast food which was left uncovered on the the main breakfast buffet table, we noted that some of the food was attracting flies who were walking all over it, hence we didn't have much of that breakfast. Would suggest using plastic covers on the plates whilst unattended by staff.

Overall really liked Olakira had a nice experience there and would definetly recommend it for anyone.
staff really good and it certainly give us a camping experience that we were looking for."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

"Beyt al Chai review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2008
"The Beyt al Chai is described in the book as being exclusive, but to be honest the hotel was adequate compared to some of the safari accomodation. Can not judge it based on other Stone Town Hotels. Was going to use restaurant there but after walking around the town we found somewhere we thought looked better and definetly had a better view (Sunset over ocean).

the location is only a couple of minutes from the main street in the town, very convienient for this.

The room itself looked better in the photos than reality. The shower was really a bath with a shower head that you had to hold up yourself and not exactly an en suite either, it was just in the corner of the room. The room itslef was large, but maybe a bit too big for the contents in it, a huge walk in dressing room was actually a free standing wardrobe. Also there was a sea view but dont think it could be described as supurbed.

The service was good from the guys there, but only had 1 night here.
The food for breakfast was good not sure on choices if you where here for more than 1 night."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Breezes Beach Club

Breezes Beach Club

"Breezes Beach Club review"

7 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2008
"The Breezes in Zanzibar is located on a mostly private beach, a couple of locals but there is security on the beach front of the hotel.
From the moment that you walk in, you felt relaxed and heavenly in the nice furniture and decor of the reception area. The overall decor of the hotel is amazing from the reception area, to the bars, the different dining areas, the beach area, the faboulous Spa & the Sultan Bath. also nearly forgot the swiming pool as well which has a bar beside it if required.

The room that we had was a deluxe one which was one of the nearest to the beach, think this is the only difference from the standard rooms which are just further back from the beach. The room was an adequate size with a sofa, which could have been used as an extra bed. There was a 6ft bed in the room. The room was cleaned daily and towels changed when requested.

the staff in the hotel were very helpful and very friendly in the food/drink areas, very professional.
The food was excellent, you had such a wide choice at breakfast time, even though it was the same buffet everyday, you could have something different every day from american pancakes, waffales, crepes, bacon, susage, beans, hash browns, eggs anyway, french toast, a wide variety of fruits & breads.

The Lunch menu was nice, and they had a seperate special everyday, would recommend the thai chicken noddles.
What was really impressive though was the dinners, every night it was different, they had a swahili night, an indian ocean night, a bbq night, and then differnet set menus as well. The buffet night give you a chance to sample different foods on the same plate. The tables & staff costumes were changed every night which actually felt like that you were in a defferent place each night. We had one night in the private dining area for 2, had to pay extra for this, which was probably not worth the money considering how good the main restaurant was. You could also go to another al a carte restaurant but didn't try this one.

There were a wide varieties of tours and water sports at the Breezes however we didn't try any of them (can't swim).
They also have a sports centre (didn't use it) & also a Spa, which we used twice. Had a go in the Sultans Bath which was amazing, a private bath in a small pool with lovely flower petals and a relaxing double massage afterwards as well (costs extra).

Overall was really impressed with the Breezes and would recommend for anyone looking for rest and relaxation on a honeymoon or even bringing the family to either."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team