This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs R from Wimbledon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Best ever safari

Tanzania between 15 Aug 2009 and 24 Aug 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"I have been on safari many times but I rate this holiday as the best.

The internal flights meant that we lost very little precious time in the bush. We were on a game drive at 9.30 am on day 1 after a short flight from Arusha to Kuro and we saw a leopard in a tree before lunch.

Our morning flight to Kogatende gave us time to see a river crossing before lunch.

Suggestions for improvements:

Difficult to improve on the best."

Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge

"Arusha Coffee Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2009
"Good quality accommodation and food. An ideal place to relax before a safari."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2009
"An overall good experiance. Good guide and game viewing and excellent room service from Robert.

However, although the food was good, the quantities were minute. When helping yourself at the buffet, you had to look around to see how many guests were to follow as there was a distinct shortage of food."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

"Great migration experience at Sayari"

4 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2009
"Fantastic new permanent camp ideally located to see the migration and Mara river crossings. The very large tents are superb with fantastic views of the bush.

Esto was a great guide and managed to find the 4 Cheetah cubs that had not been seen for 2 weeks. We witnessed a river crossing within an hour of landing at the airstrip. Day 3 produced 5 river crossings and we were the only vehicle to witness one of the largest deep water crossings.

Excellent food and the service from Philip and Wangish in the dining room deserves a special mention. We took a packed breakfast on our morning game drives starting at 6.30am and came back for lunch at 1pm. However, if we found something special, they were very flexible and we could return at any time for lunch."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Selous and Ruaha for the New Year

Tanzania between 25 Dec 2008 and 7 Jan 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Probably my best ever holiday and must return to see the places in the dry season for a different experience."

Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Dec 2008
"This camp was managed very well by Chloe and her staff who were all friendly and attentive.

The afternoon boat trips were fantastic and Hassan's knowledge of birds was first class. We were able to get very close to Malachite Kingfishers and Bee-eaters. The large flocks of Egrets and Open-billed Storks in the evening light was a wonderful sight to see.

Game viewing by vehicle was a bit more difficult as everywhere was very green and animals more difficult to find and see. However, the large flocks of Carmine Bee-eaters were fantastic flying around the vehicle. We saw a large pride of Lions and a Leopard.

I would like to return in September to see how different it is in the dry season."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Mwagusi Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2008
"Everywhere was very green and the area is beautiful and Ruaha has become my favourite place in Africa to date.

The guides were the best that I have come accross in my 12 or more safaris. Each guide had a driver/spotter and between them, they seemed to see everything. We were allocated to a vehicle each day and therefore we had 4 different guides over the 5 days. I did not like this idea at first but now I think it is good to experience the skills of diffent guides.

There were 4 large prides of lion numbering 14 or more in each pride. Good lion sightings were a daily event during my 5 nights there. We had an amazing sighting of 2 leopards in a tree followed by one of them climbing into a large tree where it stood for 20 minutes before we left it alone.

It was rare to see another vehicle and any of the game drives.
There was a large population of elephant which produced some of the best sightings that I have experienced.
I saw 4 wild dog, Klipspringer and Lesser Kudu for the first time.
The variety of birds was excellent which kept us busy identifying well over 100 species.

The packed breakfast was poor for a camp of this quality but it did not spoil the long morning drives.

It has become my favourite place and I must return to see the dry season when more large game are likely to come down to the river."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Ras Kutani

Ras Kutani

"Ras Kutani review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2009
"A beautiful place but it was too hot for me in January. I am not a beach person but as beaches go, this was excellent.
The service was excellent and the place was managed well. Nothing was too much trouble.

I had a wonderful massage on my last day.

The flight from Dar only takes 10-15 minutes and we had the little plane to ourselves."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team