This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr M,P&Mrs L&H from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

A holiday like no other

Namibia between 6 May 2009 and 22 May 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"The holiday was like no other, it was a wonderful, exciting experience, the people are extremly helpful and a lot of fun.

It was really good to see that they are so passionate about their country and that recycling has really taken off here, everyone seems to take it so seriously.

The scenary and wildlife are incredable. A really memorable time was had by all of us."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2009
"This was the beginning of our Namibia trip, the road that leads down to camp is very bumpy and long, however there was a lot of wildlife on the way, we saw a lot of warthogs, giraffe, spring bok and several birds, it took about half an hour, when we arrived we were greeted by June who was very helpful, she gave us a torch to take to our rooms and then shown to our rooms, which were spectacular.

Once we unpacked we were guided to a camp fire with nibbles and pre dinner drinks to arrange our itinary for that evening and the following day, we were greeted by Martin our guide who was very informative, after a lovely meal, we were taken to the hyde a short walk away 5mins at most, there we saw the porcipine being fed with the scraps from our meal (not a lot left though) we must have spent a good half an hour or more just watching them, it was amazing.

In the morning we were given an early morning call about 5ish and were given muffins and coffee, then Martin met us to take us to track the Leopards. Words cannot describe how wonderful it was to see a female leopard walking in front of our jeep, we followed her and were even able to see her take her kill up into a tree. In the afternoon we went out to see the Cheetas and were privallaged to see all nine males sitting on the road in front of us, we must have watched them for about 20mins and they walked around the jeep to look at us also, it was just incredible.

We were then given a full english breakfast in the garden area, which was most welcome, The food was excellent and service top class, the only down side was that they did not seem to cater for vegetarian and one of our party was a veggie, they seemed to think vegetarians ate either chicken or fish. However once informed they tried very hard to please."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

"Etosha Aoba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2009
"This was a lovely quiet camp, the right location for visiting etosha and very friendly staff, especially Elizabeth who cooked lovely meals and also sang with other staff, whilst we ate our evening meal. Lovely rooms very quaint and had every thing we needed.

A nice water hole in which impala came by early morning whilst we were eating breakfast."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2009
"We had a little trouble finding this camp at first, as we did not expect it to be so close to Andersson Gate, after a short detour we found it, you just drive out of the Andersson Gate and it is directly to your right. From the moment we arrived everyone was so friendly, our rooms were tents on a stone building, with an outside shower and toilet, it was amazing, probably the best accomodation of the whole holiday, although all the others were great.

There is a lovely water hole and as we ate our evening meal a Rhino came by for a drink, the staff were so good that they covered our meals and drinks so that we could go watch and take pictures, they were so attentive to every detail, however they were never intrusive.

This was by far our favorite. Thanks to everyone who made it so special, no names as they were all exceptional."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 13 May 2009
"A fantatic drive to get to Dora ! Nawas, we visited Burnt mountain, the organ pipes and Twyfelfontein on the way all worth a visit.

Our rooms were fantasic with balcones at the front looking out towards mountains and also steps upto a roof top balcony.
The main part of the lodge looks like a fortress and of an evening you can go to the roof top and look at the stars, you can also wheel your bed out onto the balcony of your room, we did do this and the stars were amazing, I must admit though we did not last longer than 30mins or so as there were still mosquito's and lots of other creepy crawlies trying to join us, the experience is a must though.

We went on an eve excursion to track Elephants and although we did not see them, there were lots of tracks and the whole experience was fantastic, we even had to get out and push the jeep as we got stuck in sand, it was just so exciting, great fun."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2009
"We were really surpised out how lovely and quaint this was, we had lovely rooms and the luxury of a hair dryer. The location is excellent for the short walk to town, however if you arrive on a Saturday be aware that it is half day closing and everything closes.

The lady who was not the owner, (her name was Ellena), did everything to make our visit special, she even booked us our restaurants for our evening meal and a great trip on a catamaran to see the seals and dolpins at Walvis bay and at a special price. She even informed the Skipper that one of our party was a vegetarian and he had put on a lovely spead for all of us.

On the morning of oor trip the cook even came in early to get us an early breakfast before we went, we were really impressed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kulala Wilderness Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Kulala Wilderness Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2009
"This was a lovely camp off of the main road ( we mentioned this as quite a few of the Kulala lodges were near the road), although the road was not at all busy. We were given bottled water every day, however be aware that you have to pay for this and that it is not complimentry, this was not explained to us on arrival. Our rooms were really lovely and we had two balconies, one up the top and one at the front, with lovely views.

At the main part of the lodge, there is a loo with a view and it was just that, you look straight out onto a mountain, never seen anything like that before it was fantasic.

We enjoyed a full days ride out onto the sand dunes, we were up at 4am and watched the sun come up over the dunes it was an amazing sight to see, we did not get back till 2pm, worth the early start, we were treated to a lovely lunch set under a tree for shade and dunes in the background, which was very impressive."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2009
"This was a perfect place to end our holiday. The rooms were either lovely garden rooms with table and chairs outside in which to have our lunch served, it was full board here, there was fresh bread evey day and the gardens were full of lovely flowers and an abundance of birds.

We had one of the rooms at the top of some steps, (very steep) worth it though as we had great views of the mountains and a lovely balcony for sundowners, one of the owners dogs would come and join us to watch the sun go down then once it had he would go down for his dinner, it was really funny how he timed it just right.

The evening meal was fantastic and Marianne ( one of the owners) during the meal got up with the kitchen staff and sang and danced for us, great entertainment. Peter (the other owner) took us outside after our meal and treated us to some star gazing, it was very special.

This is a lovely place to go walking by yourselves, we walked to a nearby cave and one of our party braved the walk to the Quiver tree, you need to go early morning as it gets very hot later in the day.

We were totally relaxed after our 2 night stay and able then to enjoy the spectacular scenic drive back to the airport."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team