This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms S & Mr L from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Marvellous

Namibia between 13 May 2009 and 3 Jun 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Marvellous (despite the problems with air Namibia)

Suggestions for improvements:

I honestly can't think of any suggestions. The service you offer has been excellent & we are also grateful for your ongoing help while we sort out our insurance claims"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

Terra Africa, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Terra Africa review"

1 night Arrived 14 May 2009
"Warm welcome & very helpful staff. Suitable accommodation for an overnight stop; we stayed at the beginning and end of our trip.

The breakfasts were good, however the evening meals (we had two) didn't quite come up the standard we were accustomed to in Namibia."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Just like Shangri La"

4 nights Arrived 15 May 2009
"It's quite a drive to get there, but well worth the effort; a little oasis in the middle of a vast landscape. This was our second trip to Zebra River & I hope it will not be our last.

After our first stay, we decided that we had to go back to Zebra River if ever we returned to Namibia. The 4 nights just flew by. Rob & Marianne are so welcoming, it's like home from home.

To get the most out of Zebra River, we recommend a stay of more than 2 nights - the walking is amazing & the food excellent!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House review"

3 nights Arrived 19 May 2009
"Good central location for walking into Swakopmund with good restaurants nearby.

The breakfast was very good & the owners very friendly & helpful"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2009
"stunning view from our tent - no need to go anywhere with a view like that!

We took the early morning trip to find the desert adapted elephants & were lucky enough to find them. Our guide was excellent & was a good story teller.

The food, as usual in most of the lodges, was very good & the staff very attentive.

well worth a return visit"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 May 2009
"We didn't expect to have our own personal guide for the 3 night stay at the camp; it felt quite extravagant being chauffeured around in the Land Rover.

The two hour transfer to the camp from Palmwag seemed to take no time at all, thanks to our guide who had eyes like a hawk & was constantly pointing out the wildlife to us.

We were lucky enough to find a rhino on each of our outings & enjoyed the little walks we had to & from the rhino viewing spots.
Considering the camp was miles from anywhere, we found the accommodation excellent; lovely and spacious. Although we had early morning calls (not expected), our guide softened the blow by bringing us tea! this was a lovely touch & very well received."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

"Etosha Garden Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2009
"The hotel was chosen for convenience as a one night stop between chosen destinations. As such it was adequate. We would not like to have stayed for more than the one night & if we were to repeat the trip, I think we would stay elsewhere.

The hotel had a tired feel about it & our reception could have been warmer. The meals we had in the evening were, by Namibian standards, quite poor.

We were the only two people in the restaurant for breakfast, not exactly busy; but I had a 20 minute wait for our fruit & yoghurt which somehow arrived after Les' cooked breakfast"
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2009
"I don't know how to describe the wonderful time we had a Mundulea. We went expecting basic camping facilities; & how we were we surprised! We did not expect such luxury - some of the furniture was built by Bruno. Take note of the chandelier over the dining table!

We had hot water for the shower (no bucket shower here), if taken during daylight hours; totally unexpected. Bruno has such imagination to have built this camp.

The walking was wonderful & it was such a change to see the animals from on foot rather than in a vehicle. Bruno's knowledge of the area is vast. It amazed me how he finds his way around.

The food cooked over the open fire was excellent with lots of it.

We would not hesitate to return - only next time, if going at this time of year, I think we would take hot water bottles & thermals; it got very cold in the night.

We wish Bruno all the best for his venture at Mundulea"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2009
"A lovely location and not too far away from Windhoek for use as a first or a last stop.

We took advantage of a 'short' walk in the morning with a guide - short walk didn't really mean the amble we thought it was going to be; but never the less it was lovely. Our guide was so eager to impart lots of information on the local flora & fauna.

Again, as with most of the lodges, we would be more than happy to return. It's a lovely place to chill out before travelling home."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team