This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr D from Berkshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Western Cape tour

South Africa between 27 Oct 2011 and 14 Nov 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was really excellent, everything worked perfectly and we enjoyed a relaxing and interesting 2 weeks.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

You should offer more extensive travel to other parts of South Africa, because that's what we would like to do next, going on to Mozambique."

Image alt

Bishops' Court, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Bishops' Court review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2011
"We had a superb time here, Tessa was so helpful and charming, everything was just perfect."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Auberge Provence

Auberge Provence

"Auberge Provence review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2011
"We really enjoyed Hermanus and it was great to be staying just outside the town"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Klippe Rivier Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Klippe Rivier Country House review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2011
"This is a delightful place with excellent food.

One night the chef was unwell so the guesthouse booked us into a really good restaurant in town."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

The Retreat Groenfontein

"The Retreat at Groenfontein"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2011
"This is a brilliant place, remote but not as inaccessible as we feared and so comfortable and with very friendly and charming hosts, in a beautiful setting with great walking and birdlife.

The food was really excellent. Strongly recommended."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Rusthof Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Rusthof Country House review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2011
"We had a wonderful time in this really pretty and comfortable guest house, a very convenient place to stay.

The food in the restaurant, Ryan's kitchen, which is attached and where we ate the first night was nothing short of stunningly brilliant, we were so surprised. We didn't eat nearly so well elsewhere in Franschhoek.

[The comment on food below refers to the breakfast]"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

2 weeks in Zambia and Botswana

Botswana and 1 other country between 6 Oct 2007 and 20 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was an excellent, really well planned, balanced and interesting trip. We came back both stimulated and relaxed.

Your advice was very sound. We felt well looked after but also a little bit adventurous.

We have hundreds of digital photos to sort through!"

Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

"Islands of Siankaba review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2007
"Personal attention, just the right amount of encouragement to socialise with other guests, very relaxing,safe, a great place all round."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2007
"Very well organised , focused on viewing animals. Saw a wild dog pack resting and hunting.

Boat wasn't working while we were there but it didn't matter to us."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2007
"The location and camp itself were marvellous but there wasn't the same personal attention or information given or facilitation of socialising with all the rest of the guests as at other camps which was a pity. It was generally less friendly and relaxed in the camp.

However the wildlife viewing was very good. As the driving generally was less vigorously off-road than at Lagoon the animals seemed a bit less easily scared by the vehicles.

The electric boat trip we went on was very dull and restricted and I would have opted out of it if I had known more in advance. Apparently mokoro trips were in theory available but had been pre-booked by other groups.

Seeing elephants baboons and vervet monkeys in camp was very special."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
San Camp

San Camp

"San Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2007
"We really loved San camp, it was as special as we had been told.

I had been concerned it would be extremely hot in October but the breeze made a lot of difference. There weren't any detectable mosquitoes! Obviously the tents are fairly basic but that was fun and we coped OK with the bucket showers.

All the activities were as hoped, well organised and very enjoyable."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team