This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr G & Ms M from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Trip was great.

Tanzania and 1 other country between 18 Jun 2011 and 8 Jul 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Trip was excellent. We weren't quite sure what to expect, and experience far exceeded our expectations. I think the last 4 days of the safari were planned around the migration, which wasn't taking place. As a result, we had 12 days of game drives, perhaps a bit much, but always found something new to see. Our first guide from Wayo, George, was spectacular. Other guides were also very good. The only part that didn't quite work, as I indicated in questions above, was the walking safari.

We found the tipping a bit awkward, since at least twice we were the only ones in camp. Several lodges don't take credit cards, and some didn't do laundry. We could have used more cash.

Overall a great trip - thank you.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Online info very helpful."

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Kwihala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2011
"One of the best camp experiences - very personal, great wildlife experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Maramboi Lodge

"review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2011
"Maramboi Lodge - lodge experience was okay but came away with uncomfortable feeling we were being hustled for tips every time we turned around - much more so than any other place we stayed.

Our cottage was the farthest out from dining area and a long, dirty walk on the sandy trail. Facilities, food were acceptable."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Thloma Lodge

"Ngorogoro Farmhouse Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2011
"Ngorogoro Farmhouse Lodge - wonderful. As much as we enjoyed the tent camps, this was a nice break."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

"Kati-Kati Camp"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2011
"It poured rain here, but was a good camp experience."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

"Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2011
"The only part of trip that didn't quite work. We took one 4-hour walk the first morning we were there, saw absolutely nothing, and were soaked literally to the skin from walking through wet, tall grass.

I guess because the wildebeest hadn't migrated through yet, the grass was tall and nothing to see. The rest of the time we went on game drives. The guide seemed a bit unsure as to what to do with us. We spent a few afternoons in camp, which was fine except we had been warned not to go more than about 50 feet from the tent.

We expected an opportunity for nature walks, to focus on birds, insects, plants, natural history, geology, really anything. But the guides seemed focused on big game which didn't make sense since we were walking."
Average
Location
Poor
Service
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2011
"Great - a very nice camp experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Mchanga Beach Lodge, Zanzibar (this camp has since closed)

"Mchanga Beach Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2011
"Wonderful experience - a great place to relax and explore."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

"Beyt al Chai review"

1 night Arrived 7 Jul 2011
"Hotel was fine, although perhaps has seen better days. Restaurant was excellent!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team