This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs & Dr B from Richmond

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Trip to Namibia

Namibia between 30 Oct 2010 and 23 Nov 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"A wonderful trip - we loved Namibia.

Some anxieties about the car hire - our delayed flight to Windhoek put us under pressure and the clerk on the Budget desk when we collected the car was not particularly helpful. The second spare tyre which we had ordered was not in the car and had to be sent for, delaying us further, and at that stage we were worried about getting to our first hotel before nightfall. The various instructions you had given us about car hire were slightly confusing.

However, when we had to purchase a new tyre after a puncture, Budget were helpful on the phone, the staff when we returned the car were excellent and our credit card has now been refunded with the cost of the tyre.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I would very much have preferred to have had a printed feedback form which we could have filled in during our flight home.

I know that this web version is helpful to you in that it is quicker for you to process, but you would have had more immediate (and possibly therefore more accurate) feedback had you enclosed a printed form with our tickets. On the flight we would have discussed our responses together under circumstances in which there was nothing else of particular importance for us to do."

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2010
"Excellent location, service, food and walks.

Staying there and talking to the guide about his life, family, etc. as well as the wildlife and scenery proved a great introduction to Namibia and we only wished that we could have had a second night there (it had not been possible to organize this at the planning stage)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2010
"Wonderful location for viewing amazing variety of wildlife at all times of day and evening - it was a real privilege to stay in a room so close to the waterhole. Our drives into the park to stop at other waterholes were also very rewarding.

Organization of the bar was friendly but completely chaotic and this hindered the general proceedings at the restaurant."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

Rustig Toko Lodge

"Rustig Toko Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2010
"We stayed at Rustig Toko because of the unavailability of other establishments when our itinerary was being planned. Its situation was excellent in terms of our driving distances but not otherwise particularly useful except as a place to relax (though we did also have to go to the nearest town to buy a new tyre (having had a puncture on the way to Rustig Toko).

Although it is near Etosha it is a long way away from the nearest permitted entrance. That said, it has very attractive gardens and pool and it was interesting to see what they were doing there. We tried to go for a walk but within the lodge gardens we found we had unintentionally strayed into the private area, then walking away from the lodge we annoyed an ostrich by our presence, so in the end we gave up and went back!

The owner was hospitable and sat at the table with all the guests for dinner (an opportunity to practise my rusty school German!). She was helpful with advice about obtaining another tyre. Excellent vegetables - meat was tough."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2010
"A wonderful experience - very different!

A great location for many different acitivities, though the only one arranged by the hotel of which we took advantage was an early morning walk in the desert. The prices of anything else on offer seemed extremely high and as we had a hired car (and had already spent so much on the holiday) we did not go on any of their organized trips.

We enjoyed the desert walk and we visited the Petrified forest (which was very interesting), Twyfelfontein, the Organ Pipes (which we loved) and the Burnt Mountain under our own steam. Did not use the swimming pool - no time and very small. We loved our room there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2010
"We liked Swakopmund very much after the initial heartsink of being back in the land of alarmed gates, etc. Sam's Giardino is not central but within easy walking distance of the centre of town. However, we decided to eat at the hotel both nights as we were not sure if it would be OK to walk back after dark (it probably would have been). Sam friendly and hospitable. Food good though use of tinned fruit surprising.

The tour of Sandwich Bay which you arranged for us was wonderful."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2010
"Another wonderful place. Again we visited Sossusvlei, Sesriem Canyon, etc. under our own steam.

At Kulala Desert Lodge we did use the pool which was more attractively situated (and in fact we had more time because prevented by wind from going into Sossusvlei until the afternoon).

We enjoyed the musical entertainment after dinner here. Helpful and friendly staff and managers."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2010
"We initially felt rather disappointed when we arrived at Bullsport though our experience improved.

Our room was next to a shop which was open to the public, though we found that we need not have been concerned about this. Rather a lot of flies in the pool area, probably because of all the horses.

Meals were taken around large tables, outside on the first night. Food was good, though it was zebra on both nights. The owners recommended a walk which involved a driver taking us to the start and finish points. This was excellent and we enjoyed it very much, though we were not told, when it was recommended, how much it was going to cost (the amount was not excessive but we felt that it should have been made clear at the outset)."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"The Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2010
"A good hotel for its purpose as an overnight stay before our flight. Helpful staff and comfortable room.

Pool was OK though it was raining so we only had a quick swim."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team