This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs I from Cheadle

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2013 trip

Zambia and 1 other country between 24 Jul 2013 and 9 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We absolutely loved our time in Zambia. It wasn't just the poor room which disappointed at Kaya Mawa; it just did not live up to what we thought we had booked.

For the future we would take all email correspondence between our agent and us with us - by the time we arrived at the final leg of our holiday we ended up thinking we were wrong. We weren't."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2013
"Not only is the guiding superb at Tafika but also the warm hospitality and stunning environment."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2013
"Again, excellent guiding and wonderful walking with a lovely camp to begin and end the day in,"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Crocodile Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2013
"Again the guiding, walking and environment were as good as we could ever wish for."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwaleshi Camp

Mwaleshi Camp

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2013
"Mwaleshi was the highlight of our whole trip. What a stunning location, with wonderful hosts and outstanding guiding.

Karen, David and family, well supported by a superb backroom team, and our guide, Alex, ensured a memorable experience. A bonus was lovely, knowledgeable fellow travellers who whetted our appetite to learn more about birds!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaya Mawa

Kaya Mawa

"Kaya Mawa review"

4 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2013
"Kaya Mawa was a disappointing experience. Despite booking lakeside rooms back in January, which had been confirmed by Expert Africa, we were alarmed to be told by Michelle that she always got out of breath going up to our room, Mbamba,, which was not what we had booked. It was the former restaurant up on the highest rock. She said Expert Africa had 'upgraded' us so we told her we would take it up with them. It appears this was not so. Not for us a room with a view - unless we were prepared to sit on the bed or take a chair indoors and look out of the window. The alternative was to look at a concrete plunge pool or sit surrounded by trees. We envied those guests who could take advantage of room service.;when we tried we had to eat indoors on our knee because the flies were so bad under the trees round the balcony.

Our meal on our first evening was excessively salty - we mentioned it when we were asked but were told we were probably suffering from sensory overload. How rude!

If you have any hankering for exploring Likoma Island independently after safari, forget it unless you are happy to report your plans in advance. It is hotel policy to inform islanders what the guests will be doing/ where they are going which we found very disconcerting. If you are happy to stay at the hotel and access the many water sports then that may not concern you.

We are not picky, difficult travellers and this is the first time ever that we have had a sufficiently disappointing experience.to feel so aggrieved despite many years of travelling. We certainly don't agree with the judgement in Lonely Planet."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average

Zambia 2011

Zambia between 25 Jul 2011 and 3 Aug 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fabulous holiday in three parts which were all very different experiences but all we would do again. I did not expect to return home as rested and refreshed as we did; I thought we would be tired, stressed and in need ofsun and a good beach to chill out on. Far from it - we came home buzzing and wanting more.

I also appreciated the personal email from Ellie on our return rather than just this form.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

More of the same please!"

Image alt

Own arrangements

"KItwe: SOS, Kitwe, and Buntungwa schools"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2011
"Although Ellie was unable to book a flight to Ndola until 4pm as, at the time. there did not appear to be any between 7.30 am and 4 there were several flights that we could have caught.

We enjoyed our time with the 3 schools in Kitwe - we stayed at the SOS Village and were well looked after by colleagues.

Kitwe has a long way to go to become a tourist destination but we enjoyed ourselves in the town and in the bush - it is certainly looking better than iit did 2 years ago. Our friends said the coming election had led to roads being repaired."
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2011
"As safari novices we were bowled over by the welcome and patience at our ignorance. We were definitely slow learners at remembering what we had seen and identifying it next time!.

We were astonished at the level of comfort and attention to detail which surpassed any expectation we may have had.

Superb surroundings, excellent company and outstanding food were the icing on the cake."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2011
"Brilliant walking country - we loved being able to soak up the sounds and smells as well as the sights.

We had been impressed by the standard of cooking at Tafika but were bowled over by what the chef produced at Chikoko e.g bread and cake from the same wood fired oven...

We loved the open wall on the bedroom.

I felt that there was no need for the shower to have a higher wall to protect the ladies' modesty - who's looking??"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Not long enough at Crocodile!"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2011
"Hard to believe that the vegetation/landscape could be so different from that around Chikoko and yet we had not walked for that long. Stunning location.

As with Chikoko we loved the jug of hot water for morning washing.

We wished we had arranged to spend at least another night at Crocodile - one wasn't enough."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Hello again Tafika"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2011
"Tafika felt like a metropolis after just 3 nights away! [Ed: Relative to Tafika's bushcamps!]

Interesting to have a different experience, albeit as wonderful, as the guests were different - interesting! A second night would have been good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Own arrangements

"On to Livingstone"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2011
"The journey to Mfuwe airport was yet another fabulous experience - we still felt like we were learning!

Heather from Tafika told us in Lusaka as we were checking onto Livingstone flight that we did not have to pay the departure tax twice (wish I had known that a week earlier!) and so we argued our case. It would have been useful to have that in the travel documents.

Our planned accommodation in Livingstone did not materialise (nothing to do with Expert Africa) so we made our own arrangements and stayed at Maramba River Guest Lodge. Once we had got our bearings it was a good place to stay - elephants, baboons and crocodile were regularly on the other side of the water. Livingstone town 5 minutes away as was Victoriafalls in the other direction. Rural, river setting.

The hotel insists on taxis as it is apparently not safe to walk between the lodge and the falls or the lodge and town although both are within walking distance. There is a lot of noise from micrlights and helicopters going over the falls but we did get used to that. Best activity of a great selection was going out to Livingstone island for lunch at the edge of the falls, including a plunge in the Zambesi right next to the edge.

We stayed here for 4 nights then travelled back to Lusaka by bus; 6 hours on a really good coach which cost Kw85 000 (around $8.5) Fabulous experience which we would highly recommend.We booked the day before and were given a seat reservation."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team