This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Reviews: Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Below are independent comments from 50 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 31-40 of 50
Date
Mrs B
Swindon

"Very educational"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 15 Feb 2019
"With a good guide you will learn a lot. Really enjoyed our trip, not for animals but just the scenery." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr A
Oxfordshire

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 17 Feb 2019
"Worth every penny.

They take you off the beaten track and away from the hoards and you get to climb some of the quieter dunes (not 45).

Daniel's explanations and insite really helped put everything in context.

Lunch in the shade of a few trees, taking in the vista was a wonderful affair." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr J.
Warwick

"Excellent excursion"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 11 Feb 2019
"Our guide was very good and made sure everyone got what they wanted out of the excursion. A little way to drive but it really wasn't an issue." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Four poms
Somerset

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 8 Feb 2019
"Combined with the Lodge stay comments but also saw zebra, oryx++, baboon, 1 wildebeeste, black-backed jackal, springbok, Ostrich, white dancing spider, tok tokkies, scorpion." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Desert Fun!"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 27 Nov 2018
"We received a warm welcome (in 40oC heat!). Lucas was our guide for all activities. He was extremely knowledgeable on a very broad range of topics, as well as the local area.

He drove us to a special location for some sundowner celebratory drinks and nibbles (for just us two). During the Sossusvlei excursion, he also managed to find a few dancing white lady spiders in their sandy dens whilst also explaining the geography of the area. He challenged us to climb (and run down) the 'big daddy' dune in an hour, which was great fun, if not slightly daunting at first!

We then had a fantastic lunch/picnic under some trees with Oryx and zebra in the distance, before returning to the lodge in the afternoon.

The accommodation was very smart and comfortable, and the food was excellent (again bearing in mind the location of the lodge - and the fact it hadn't rained there in 7 years)." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs & Mr H
California

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 23 Nov 2018
"Awesome! See previous review.
Guide did great with the spider and scorpion
We climbed big daddy
Guide had cold towels and drinks for us at the end.
Did not torture us in 40degree heat to go way down into canyon
Beautiful lunch
Excellent driving" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs A & Mr M
London

"A terrific day which we will always remember"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 7 Nov 2018
"Enos was a wonderful guide and showed us so much more than just the dunes.

We learnt a great deal about the small insects and reptiles that live in the area. We had a wonderful walk through the dunes and the vlei. The lunch spot was idyllic and the food first class.

On the way back we explored the canyon which actually had water in it as there had been a storm a few days earlier.

This was a terrific day, well organised and extremely well led by Enos, our guide." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr M & Mrs R
London

"Great excursion, nature walk and lunch"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 10 Oct 2018
"Before we went to the dunes our excellent guide showed us the nest of the dancing lady spider and of a small scorpion and persuaded them to emerge from the sand. He also explained a great deal about the geology of the area.

He drove us to a quieter area of the dunes which was less crowded than the more popular one. We still walked up a dune of a size which suited us - while two other, younger guests were more ambitious and walked up a much larger one - and helped us to slither down the precipitous far side. We then went for a long walk through the dunes before having a relaxing picnic lunch, beautifully laid-out beneath a shady tree.

It was very hot on the walk and our guide went to great lengths to make sure we drank plenty of water." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
K+R, J+P
Stirling

"Lovely individualised visit to Sossusvlei"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 5 Oct 2018
"Fascinating guide (Lucas) who gave us so much information about how the dune formation comes about and is maintained. He also gave us good insight into the different animals in the area thorough tracking them as we walked. We were a little uncomfortable with what appeared to be the apparently standard practice of digging up scorpion and spider burrows. These were interesting but likely to have an impact on the animals chance of survival.

Our guide was very helpful with our elderly walker using sticks and ensuring she was able to fully enjoy the dune walking experiences. We liked that we took an individual route into Deadvlei rather than walking the tourist 'highway'.

We had a lovely lunch in the desert in the company of oryx. The lunch set up was a bit OTT although the iced drinks were appreciated." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs K
Wilts

"Fabulous day out"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 28 Sep 2018
"The trip to Sossusvlei was breathtaking. Well worth doing and one of the highlights of our trip. The guide was excellent as was the lunch they provided." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 50
98%
50 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
47
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team