This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Reviews: Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Below are independent comments from 50 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 41-50 of 50
Date
Dr A & Mrs E
Berks

"A wonderful dune experience"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 18 Sep 2018
"We were extremely privileged to have a personal guide, which reduced the anxiety of our limited mobility.

Our guide, Daniel,was excellent - a very impressive, thoughtful and intelligent young man. We learned a lot from him; about the dunes, the life that exists in the desert, and about life in Namibia generally.

He dealt extremely well with questions, and was prepared to discuss anything" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr D.
Egham

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 18 Sep 2018
"The excursion takes you out into the dunes and provides a great opportunity to see the highlights of Sossusvlei. Whilst you could do this yourself using your own vehicle, you would need a 4WD and know how to use it in soft sand.

It is also unlikely you would get so much insight and find the quieter parts away from the main crowds of visitors. We therefore found it worthwhile and of good value. The lunch was good and served in a remote location with a perfect setting. An Oryx even kindly came and sat under a tree nearby to complete the view.

As someone who is disabled following a spinal injury, I didn't expect to be able to climb the main dune or descend into the Sesriem canyon, but managed both, partly thanks to the patience and assistance of the guide." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 16 Sep 2018
"This was a great day. We left early to be at gate to Sossusvlei as they opened. Sossusvlei was very busy but our guide knew when how to avoid the crowds so we were relatively quiet. For example we walked to Deadvlei on a different route to other people and arrived as the crowds were leaving.

We learnt about the formation of the sand dunes and also our guide found a scorpion and a trapdoor spider which were both fascinating. We then had a very good lunch in a quite area under a thorn tree for shade. The trip ended in a walk down Seisriem canyon." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
T & T
woodside

"Incredible landscape!"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 18 Jul 2018
"The dune landscapes are visually stunning. We spent some time with the guide looking at animal tracks on the dunes, and dug out a white lady spider and a yellow scorpion for us.

We climbed up and down the dunes, admired the otherworldly dead forest, and then had a nice lunch watching gnu and secretary birds.

It was fun chatting with the guide and the other guests over some drinks as we contemplated the plain in front of us.

We were joined by the aptly named Sociable Warblers. On the way back we explored the Sesriem canyon where we encountered a Puff Adder.

Great adventure!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms J
London

"Excellent Sossusvlei excursion"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 8 Jun 2018
"Really good small group (though we were moved around on this).

Knowledgeable guide (Lukas) and great day." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Winchester

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 14 Apr 2018
"Excursion to Sossuvlei should have been better managed. It was arranged that we arrived at ‘Big Daddy’ in the high heat of the day 11.30 am, which made it too arduous for us to climb – a disappointment. Suggest that the trip is organised such that Big Daddy is visited first and do the other explanatory things on the way back." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Mr I P
Uk

"Hoodia Sossusvlei Excursion"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 7 Apr 2018
"Our guide John was brilliant.

It was a real pleasure to undertake a tour that was not "get to the dunes as quick as possible, have some food and get out again" - our Hoodia tour was relaxing, extremely informative and great fun.

It finished off with a magnificent lunch under a tree, miles away from any other tour party.

Absolutely fantastic day!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Miss A
Okehampton

"Taking on Big Daddy"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 19 Feb 2017
"TOO MANY PEOPLE!! And we were there in the low season! We would avoid it in the high season- or stay at a camp with private access....But, having said that, it was obviously not to be missed and our excellent guide made every effort to take us to the less crowded spots. Beautifully served, proper sit - down lunch under a huge old acacia - with only an oryx for company!

Some of our group made the top of the Big Daddy dune- we got half way- but it was still fun coming down." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
J & R
UK

"Dunes"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 15 Apr 2016
"A great guide, Mike. we set off at about 6am and returned back to the lodge at 3pm, so a very long day - a bit too much for me.
Climbed a dune, slid down - hilarious!
Delicious lunch under the trees." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Honeymooners
Brussels

"Angula was excellent!"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 29 Jul 2012
"Angula was our guide and he was a very knowledgeable and polite guide. He walked with us all the way up the dunes (no easy feat, exept for him) and showed us around everywhere, culminating with a fantastic picnic lunch before our last stop at Sesriem Canyon." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 50
98%
50 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
47
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team