This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Reviews: Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Below are independent comments from 72 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 51-60 of 72
Date
Dr and Mrs A
Surrey

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 2 Jul 2019
"Gong into the park you do feel like you are on the tourist trail but our clever guide managed to minimise the feeling and we were able to get away from the crowds.

In fact we were on top of Big Daddy by ourselves and had a picnic with no one in sight. We all loved running down the dunes after the climb to the top.

Stunning scenery." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Jane/Chris
crolles

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 21 Jun 2019
"Already commented on previous page

[Ed: These travellers commented: "We had an excellent outing to Sossusvlei and Sesriem with John who adapted very well his program to a mixed group (old people and very old people!!!) Excellent information on flora and fauna."]" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs B
Swindon

"Very educational"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 15 Feb 2019
"With a good guide you will learn a lot. Really enjoyed our trip, not for animals but just the scenery." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr A
Oxfordshire

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 17 Feb 2019
"Worth every penny.

They take you off the beaten track and away from the hoards and you get to climb some of the quieter dunes (not 45).

Daniel's explanations and insite really helped put everything in context.

Lunch in the shade of a few trees, taking in the vista was a wonderful affair." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr J.
Warwick

"Excellent excursion"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 11 Feb 2019
"Our guide was very good and made sure everyone got what they wanted out of the excursion. A little way to drive but it really wasn't an issue." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Four poms
Somerset

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 8 Feb 2019
"Combined with the Lodge stay comments but also saw zebra, oryx++, baboon, 1 wildebeeste, black-backed jackal, springbok, Ostrich, white dancing spider, tok tokkies, scorpion." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Desert Fun!"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 27 Nov 2018
"We received a warm welcome (in 40oC heat!). Lucas was our guide for all activities. He was extremely knowledgeable on a very broad range of topics, as well as the local area.

He drove us to a special location for some sundowner celebratory drinks and nibbles (for just us two). During the Sossusvlei excursion, he also managed to find a few dancing white lady spiders in their sandy dens whilst also explaining the geography of the area. He challenged us to climb (and run down) the 'big daddy' dune in an hour, which was great fun, if not slightly daunting at first!

We then had a fantastic lunch/picnic under some trees with Oryx and zebra in the distance, before returning to the lodge in the afternoon.

The accommodation was very smart and comfortable, and the food was excellent (again bearing in mind the location of the lodge - and the fact it hadn't rained there in 7 years)." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs & Mr H
California

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 23 Nov 2018
"Awesome! See previous review.
Guide did great with the spider and scorpion
We climbed big daddy
Guide had cold towels and drinks for us at the end.
Did not torture us in 40degree heat to go way down into canyon
Beautiful lunch
Excellent driving" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs A & Mr M
London

"A terrific day which we will always remember"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 7 Nov 2018
"Enos was a wonderful guide and showed us so much more than just the dunes.

We learnt a great deal about the small insects and reptiles that live in the area. We had a wonderful walk through the dunes and the vlei. The lunch spot was idyllic and the food first class.

On the way back we explored the canyon which actually had water in it as there had been a storm a few days earlier.

This was a terrific day, well organised and extremely well led by Enos, our guide." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr M & Mrs R
London

"Great excursion, nature walk and lunch"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 10 Oct 2018
"Before we went to the dunes our excellent guide showed us the nest of the dancing lady spider and of a small scorpion and persuaded them to emerge from the sand. He also explained a great deal about the geology of the area.

He drove us to a quieter area of the dunes which was less crowded than the more popular one. We still walked up a dune of a size which suited us - while two other, younger guests were more ambitious and walked up a much larger one - and helped us to slither down the precipitous far side. We then went for a long walk through the dunes before having a relaxing picnic lunch, beautifully laid-out beneath a shady tree.

It was very hot on the walk and our guide went to great lengths to make sure we drank plenty of water." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 72
97%
72 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
64
5
2
1
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team