This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Reviews: Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Below are independent comments from 75 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 61-70 of 75
Date
Mrs & Mr H
California

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 23 Nov 2018
"Awesome! See previous review.
Guide did great with the spider and scorpion
We climbed big daddy
Guide had cold towels and drinks for us at the end.
Did not torture us in 40degree heat to go way down into canyon
Beautiful lunch
Excellent driving" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs A & Mr M
London

"A terrific day which we will always remember"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 7 Nov 2018
"Enos was a wonderful guide and showed us so much more than just the dunes.

We learnt a great deal about the small insects and reptiles that live in the area. We had a wonderful walk through the dunes and the vlei. The lunch spot was idyllic and the food first class.

On the way back we explored the canyon which actually had water in it as there had been a storm a few days earlier.

This was a terrific day, well organised and extremely well led by Enos, our guide." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr M & Mrs R
London

"Great excursion, nature walk and lunch"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 10 Oct 2018
"Before we went to the dunes our excellent guide showed us the nest of the dancing lady spider and of a small scorpion and persuaded them to emerge from the sand. He also explained a great deal about the geology of the area.

He drove us to a quieter area of the dunes which was less crowded than the more popular one. We still walked up a dune of a size which suited us - while two other, younger guests were more ambitious and walked up a much larger one - and helped us to slither down the precipitous far side. We then went for a long walk through the dunes before having a relaxing picnic lunch, beautifully laid-out beneath a shady tree.

It was very hot on the walk and our guide went to great lengths to make sure we drank plenty of water." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
K+R, J+P
Stirling

"Lovely individualised visit to Sossusvlei"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 5 Oct 2018
"Fascinating guide (Lucas) who gave us so much information about how the dune formation comes about and is maintained. He also gave us good insight into the different animals in the area thorough tracking them as we walked. We were a little uncomfortable with what appeared to be the apparently standard practice of digging up scorpion and spider burrows. These were interesting but likely to have an impact on the animals chance of survival.

Our guide was very helpful with our elderly walker using sticks and ensuring she was able to fully enjoy the dune walking experiences. We liked that we took an individual route into Deadvlei rather than walking the tourist 'highway'.

We had a lovely lunch in the desert in the company of oryx. The lunch set up was a bit OTT although the iced drinks were appreciated." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs K
Wilts

"Fabulous day out"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 28 Sep 2018
"The trip to Sossusvlei was breathtaking. Well worth doing and one of the highlights of our trip. The guide was excellent as was the lunch they provided." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Dr A & Mrs E
Berks

"A wonderful dune experience"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 18 Sep 2018
"We were extremely privileged to have a personal guide, which reduced the anxiety of our limited mobility.

Our guide, Daniel,was excellent - a very impressive, thoughtful and intelligent young man. We learned a lot from him; about the dunes, the life that exists in the desert, and about life in Namibia generally.

He dealt extremely well with questions, and was prepared to discuss anything" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G.
Egham

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 18 Sep 2018
"The excursion takes you out into the dunes and provides a great opportunity to see the highlights of Sossusvlei. Whilst you could do this yourself using your own vehicle, you would need a 4WD and know how to use it in soft sand.

It is also unlikely you would get so much insight and find the quieter parts away from the main crowds of visitors. We therefore found it worthwhile and of good value. The lunch was good and served in a remote location with a perfect setting. An Oryx even kindly came and sat under a tree nearby to complete the view.

As someone who is disabled following a spinal injury, I didn't expect to be able to climb the main dune or descend into the Sesriem canyon, but managed both, partly thanks to the patience and assistance of the guide." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 16 Sep 2018
"This was a great day. We left early to be at gate to Sossusvlei as they opened. Sossusvlei was very busy but our guide knew when how to avoid the crowds so we were relatively quiet. For example we walked to Deadvlei on a different route to other people and arrived as the crowds were leaving.

We learnt about the formation of the sand dunes and also our guide found a scorpion and a trapdoor spider which were both fascinating. We then had a very good lunch in a quite area under a thorn tree for shade. The trip ended in a walk down Seisriem canyon." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
T & T
woodside

"Incredible landscape!"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 18 Jul 2018
"The dune landscapes are visually stunning. We spent some time with the guide looking at animal tracks on the dunes, and dug out a white lady spider and a yellow scorpion for us.

We climbed up and down the dunes, admired the otherworldly dead forest, and then had a nice lunch watching gnu and secretary birds.

It was fun chatting with the guide and the other guests over some drinks as we contemplated the plain in front of us.

We were joined by the aptly named Sociable Warblers. On the way back we explored the Sesriem canyon where we encountered a Puff Adder.

Great adventure!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms J
London

"Excellent Sossusvlei excursion"

Based at Hoodia Desert Lodge on 8 Jun 2018
"Really good small group (though we were moved around on this).

Knowledgeable guide (Lukas) and great day." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 75
97%
75 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
66
6
2
1
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team