This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The S family from Scotland

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Fantastic

Namibia between 8 Oct 2011 and 22 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"The whole trip was an amazing experience.

We especially liked Damaraland, Etosha, the sea kayaking (Jeanne was great and very knowledgable) and the cheetahs - the staff there were great as well. Could write tons more!!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

You are doing it well so nothing to suggest"

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"First night in Namibia"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2011
"Just what we needed after a long jouney. Easy to find. Welcoming. Relaxing. Nice staff. Secure parking.

Little shop in reception really useful as we got our books on animals and birds here. Nice dinner here and breakfast menu was great!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2011
"Really enjoyed sundowner drive. Great views of dunes from our chalets. Good access to balloon trip if you wanted it - we didin't do it.

Very friendly and welcoming staff. Bar and verrandah exceptionally located.

A little bit far to Sossusvlei in morning (but an acceptable distance) if you don't take their relatively expensive trip in."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2011
"Sam and his staff made sure we knew what to do in the town including telling us what we didn't know we didn't know. Good recommendation for restaurant the first night (that they booked for us) and we had a great meal at Sam's the second night.

He also gave us filled rolls for our journey when we left. I am confident he would have been able to answer any question we had asked and arrange anything we wanted. We did the sea kayaking while here which was fantastic. I suspect Sam enjoys more time with german speakers!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2011
"This place was that wee bit more special and it's sense of belonging in the area was palpable. Staff were very friendly and had a lovely gentle nature and clearly keen to give us a feeling of being in Damaraland.

We especially enjoyed out cook out in the boma, and even including safaris this is what our daughter will remember best. PG did a great show as the dinner host. Eating at the big table with everyone was great in a place like this, and for us was better than the individual arrangement in Kulala.

Our guide for the elephant safari showed a sensitivity for his elephants (and had to work hard to get us to them), and the area and local people. Expensive safari but we will remember Damaraland camp fondly."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

"Etosha Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2011
"Well placed & lovely elevated location.

Some more obvious advance information on Etosha might be worthwhile especially gate closing & opening times."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Fire and Leopards at Halali"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2011
"Excellent location in centre of park.

One of our chalets smelled very foosty on arrival, which we solved by running water through the shower & sink for 1/2 an hour. A couple of things on the inventory were missing but we informed reception straight away and there was no problem on leaving. Restaurant very canteen like, but we were expecting that and the atmosphere was fine with a choice of eating inside or out. The kiosk which was open during the day was good. Prices fine. Shop not that well stocked for food if you were thinking of catering yourselves while here.

There was a bush fire the afternoon we arrived which burned out all the cables to the waterhole so we couldn't go there after dark which was disappointing, but was pretty well outwith anyone's control! It meant we truly saw how a leopard looks in the dusk. The fire was fairly spectacular and if we had been at the waterhole it would have felt even more alarming as there was no obvious way out. The fire brought home how little information there was about what to do in those circumstances, the main clues were that the staff weren't abandoning the camp and noting in the park as a whole other fires often didn't cross any barriers such as roads and the lack of ground vegetation in the camp to catch fire. I asssumed the staff were calm because they had seen it all before but the man I spoke to said it hadn't happened before.

I suppose the one thing about Halali was it's unfilled potential to be fantastic. Being left to do your own thing was great and you are pretty independent there, but with a little more effort a huge amount of information could be made available - even just a 1/2 hour talk from a game warden in the evening about what is going on etc."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2011
"It was great to be able to go for a walk here.

They sorted out our trip to see the cheetas on our way back to Windhoek the following morning and made things very easy for us."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team