This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs F from Derbyshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Jan 2019 trip

Kenya between 15 Jan 2019 and 24 Jan 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"All the organisation and arrangements for this holiday, from initial discussion and booking till we got home, worked perfectly.

It was our first visit to Kenya, and one of our best holidays ever. We enjoyed our stay at Elephant Bedroom but Kicheche Mara
is a special place.

Thank you, Claire.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No, it's just fine!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

"Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jan 2019
"Arriving late in the evening, it was good to have a hotel within the airport perimeter.

It was very comfortable, the breakfast was excellent and the staff helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Elephant Bedroom

Elephant Bedroom

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2019
"The location of Elephant Bedroom camp by the river is lovely. The tent was very well-equipped and comfortable, and it was very nice to have the plunge pool.

But the food was a bit disappointing. Breakfast was fine, but the 3 course lunches and dinners were very similar and it would have been preferable to have had a much simpler meal in the middle of the day.

Julius, our driver/guide was good and very knowledgeable, and we had an interesting visit to the local Samburu village."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

"Kicheche Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2019
"This camp is in a most lovely setting. It has a great atmosphere and the staff are very well-integrated, friendly and most welcoming. The relief manager, Peter Cadot, was really excellent. He was extremely knowledgeable, about birds in particular, and came with us on one game drive.

The food - picnic breakfasts on game drives, very varied salad-type lunches and 3 course dinners - was delicious, beautifully presented and always interesting.

Our game drives with Richard were fantastic. We were lucky to have him to ourselves for the whole time. He was very patient, had a great sense of humour, and we learnt a lot from him. Every day we had exciting and varied wildlife sightings."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Jan 2012 trip

Tanzania between 24 Jan 2012 and 1 Feb 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was a great holiday in every way and it more than lived up to my expectations.

The wealth and variety of wildlife sights were fantastic. What really made it was having an excellent driver/guide. Harry was tireless in trying to make sure we saw as much wildlife as possible, very informative, had a great sense of humour and was endlessly patient.

Any birds we saw he always took the trouble to show us in the OUP guide so we could see both picture and name. This was a great help to me as I have a hearing problem.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I don't think so. The people Expert Africa use, certainly seem a good choice as a Tanzanian safari company."

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

"Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2012
"We found that Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge was ideally placed for arriving early for an all day visit to the crater. The rooms were very spacious, well-organised and well-equipped.

The food was good, especially the vegetables and the puddings, with lots of choice at the buffet. The situation was lovely and the gardens beautifully maintained and it was nice to be somewhere with a swimming pool.

All in all, I felt it was an excellent place to stay though it did seem a bit hectic around the reception area with so much coming and going at times."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

"Ndutu Safari Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2012
"We really enjoyed staying at Ndutu. It is such a wonderful setting and I felt it had a nice unpretentious atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the food was really good. It made a great base for exploring the Serengeti and having 4 nights there gave us time to do that.

The only slight problem was trying to reconfirm our flights. The various staff in Reception seemed to regard this as a strange and unusual request and in the end our driver/guide phoned through to his head office and they did it for us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team