This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr Sand Martin from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

Trip report

Namibia between 5 Oct 2007 and 7 Nov 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"Etosha was fantastic and I had some fantastic sightings. After Etosha and Cape Cross I spent the remaining time in the Caprivi (plus a couple of days in Windhoek).

Bum Hill campsite is highly reccommended - located on the banks of the Kwando river it is one of the very few places in that area that is accessible to a 2WD car - many others such as Nambwa need 4WD. It had a flush toilet, hot shower, sinks and a shelter plus raised viewing platform for each of the six camping pitches. Its owned and run by the local conservancy.

Ngepi on the banks of the Okavango river is another excellent campsite (but very different). its busy but has excellent facilities including electirc power at each of the camping pitches.

Shamvura tented camp is another nice place to stay - particularly with the tame Cape Clawless Otter that lives there !

Namibia is a beautiful country and I keep going back (this was my 6th trip) - I'm already planning my next trip !"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2007
"A pleasant location to stay in WIndhoek. It's a lovely place and is in easy walking distance of the shops in WIndhoek."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

5 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2007
"Okaukuejo's main benefit is its location and the waterhole. The work being done to upgrade the camp is however ruining it. The rooms look great but are badly thought out - the power sockets are inaccessible and too few with only one being available to use. There is a noisy refridgerator in the room which makes it hard to sleep. The showers dont drain well and often flood the bathroom. On the plus side the air conditioning works.

Service in the restaurant is as bad as ever and the shops are a disgrace with a poor selection and frequently running out of things.

Maintenance has not improved so leaky pipes and lights not working go un-repaired for a long time.

Having to leave a N$500 key deposit is insulting - no private lodge does this and the deposit is only returned once the staff have checked the room and counted the spoons and cups !

The night drives are over-priced and are frankly terrible. The guides are not properly trained and give inaccurate or downright wrong information. The drives are run on the cheap with the driver trying to operate the spotlight as well as drive which doesnt work well"
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Excellent
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Restcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2007
"This is by far the best cap in Etosha as little has been done to it other than adding shade to the waterhole viewing area and refurbishing the rooms

The night drives are over-priced and are frankly terrible. The guides are not properly trained and give inaccurate or downright wrong information. The drives are run on the cheap with the driver trying to operate the spotlight as well as drive which doesnt work well"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

5 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2007
"as per previous okaukuejo review"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Cape Cross Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2007
"The lodge is situated a long way from anywhere - the only thing nearby is the Seal colony, but for people wanting to visit the seal colony then this lodge is an excellent place to stay. There is a water supply outside which attracts jackals and the occasional brown hyena to drink.

My only concern is that if Namibia continues to cull so many seals then the colony which is already a fraction of the size it was 6 years ago when I last visited, will simply cease to be worth visiting and this lodge will then struggle."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team