This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs A from Malaysia

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

My Jun 2013 trip

Zambia and 2 other countries between 21 Jun 2013 and 13 Jul 2013

Trip rating: Good
"Everything Expert Africa arranged worked like clockwork with one exception when a camp messed up the schedule but Proflight sorted it out.

Our only confusion is where your letter to us said that all Zambian departure taxes had been paid by you but this was not accepted ny the airport or your representative at the airport when we flew to Malawi. Consequently after some hassle we paid the equivalent og USD78 in local currency as they only accepy Visa credit cards and I have Master Card. This was an unnecessary trauma that should have been avoided.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

"Savuti was probably a mistake for us"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2013
"The camp itself is beautiful and the mixed male/female local staff make it a home from home. The guides also work like slaves to make your stay enjoyable. However as our main aim of going to Botswana was to view and photograph a similar wealth of animals that we had seen in an earlier trip in Chobe, the game drives were disappointing.

We did see animals including the big cats but the terrain is very boring as it never seems to change very much with lots of stunted trees (thanks to the elephants) and underfrowth. We were hoping for more scenery and greater numbers of animals.

Full marks to Ace our guide who lived up to his name."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Chiawa - Just like the brochure"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2013
"Chiawa is one of the prime camps in Zambia and it was a very comfortable and pleasant place to stay. However, although there were plenty of birds to photograph on the boat trip (thanks to Douglas the boatman) we found rather less animals than expected.

The guides were very helpful and did their best but the animals were just not around for us."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Old Mondoro - The Highlight of our trip."

4 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2013
"Of the 7 campswe stayed at across Botswana, Zambia and Malawi, this was undoubtedly the best for us and we were delighted with the 4 nights we stayed there. It was exactly what we wanted. We could have ended our African trip right there as we did and saw almost everything we expected to cover over our 26 days holiday. We would liked to have stayed longer.

Wonderfully scenic with a mixture of woodland and a grassland plateau, plenty of animals and birds, including lion cubs, leopards, huge herds of buffalo ,hipoos, elephants etc,it was just what we wanted. Furthermore from the photographers point of view the lighting is magnificent. The walking safari therefore was the most pleasant of the several we did in the various other camps.

Turning to the people at all levels there is only one word needed - fantastic,

If we go again to the Lower Zambezi it will only be to Old Mondoro"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Disappointed with Nkwali"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2013
"We did not get a good feeling about Nikwali from the moment we arrived. The rooms are splendi but plagued with theiving baboons which is very annoying. The camp is also not in the Park and traversing the Reserve to the Park becomed tedious. Overall the camp had the feeling of being there too long and running in auto mode and we were just another couple of travellers passing through.

Having said that our guide Fred pulled out all the stops to find us some animals, but as the Park is large we spent a long time speeding along gravel roads to change areas. Nonetheless we did get lions and a single leopard (at night), as well as the more normal giraffes, antelopes (various) etc.

2 nights was enough!"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nsefu

Nsefu

"We had fun at Nsefu Camp"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2013
"Nsefu is anol historic camp but beautifully maintained with lots of wildlife close by and elephants wandering through every day

Here we were very fortunate to be the only guests for two of our three nights stay and unusually our hosts were both African, Chris and Braston and they made us feel part of their family.We really did have fun and we commend them both for the care and attention they put into our stay.

The game drives day and night were also outstanding with two different leopards everyday, lions and a multitude of other animals. Undoubtedly this camp is well worth visiting and comes close to our favourite Old Mondoro..

But there is another outstanding opportunity from this camp, a visit to the local Kawaza village. This we did and were entertained royally by the villagers and to complete our day did a very successful game drive going there and back. The village is part of Project Luangwa a charity which helps educate the children and adults of the area. It is strongly supported by Robin Pope Safaris. Do visit this village if you choose Nsefu. It is an education in itself.

We concluded our stay with a safari walk to our next camp, Tena Tena, about 9Km away"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Spectacular Night Drives at Tena Tena"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2013
"This is a new camp that replaced the original in 2012. Consequently everything is new and many of the photographs on the Internet are of the old camp and are not representative of the new one. We felt that the camp suffers somewhat from being too far away from the water compared with several of the other camps we visited. Viewing life on the water from the camp was therefore impractable.

Again like its sister camp Nsefu, we saw two leopards every day and an array of other animals but the lions evaded us.

The outstanding part of the game drives was at night when a wide range of nocturnal animals could be seen.

This was a pleasant stay worth doing in conjunction with its sister camp Nsefu."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ryalls Hotel

Ryalls Hotel

"One Night at Ryall's Hotel"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2013
"A fairly standard International hotel but the highlight was the restaurant for dinner. Wonderful food and wine at a surprisingly low cost.

Make sure you have some warm clothes as the town is very windy and cold."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Mkulumadzi Lodge

Mkulumadzi Lodge

"Mkulumadzi Lodge was a disappointment."

3 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2013
"This lodge has the most fantastic situation of any we have been to, The rooms are second to none and it has every facility you could ever need.Furthermore for part of the time we were the only guests and had first class attention from all the staff. It is a perfect place to take time out and relax.

However we went there for game viewing intent on seeing the black rhino of which there are said to be 12. They also claim a population of all the Big 5. But what a disaster the game drives turned out to be.

First of all the weather was quite unseasonal, cold, blowing and often raining. But the lodge had the solution - overall waterproof ponchos and blankets, suitable for almost any wet weather. Consequently we set off on the first cool evening to find that the guide had only provided one blanket between the two of us and had failed to test the night lamp which was defective.. I froze and the night drive was uneventful!

On the following morning we set off early for a full day game drive to try and find the Rhinos. When the rain set in at 10.00am we discovered that the guide had failed to pack the ponchos and the hot flask of cofee was cold. We abandoned the drive and I made a complaint to the manager which resulted in us being given a new guide that afternoon.

So we did a simple but pleasant drive and boat safari with new guide Samuel complete with ponchos and blankets. He really pulled out all the stops to save the day and to a point he succeeded,

Our final day we set out an hour earlier than normal with Samuel to try and find the rhino and others of the Big 5. We drove for more than 12 hours covering many miles in the park but the nearest we got to the Big 5 was a single buffalo. Samuel and Scout Mike really tried hard but the animals were just not there.

So to conclude we suffered at the beginning by carelessness of the guide and his management who failed to check the vehicle facilities were correct. Samuel did all he could, but we would never recommend Mkulumadzi as anything other than a place to unwind, never as a game viewing destination."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team