This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs G from Victoria

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

African experience

Botswana and 2 other countries between 26 May 2013 and 12 Jun 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an amazing time. Everyday had something new to experience. We didn't have a single bad day."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Good accommodation at Ilala Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2013
"Staff were able to provide good advice on things to do."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Fantastic experience on Ichobezi Houseboat"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2013
"Coordinator on board Ernest made everything run like clockwork, was very knowledgable about the area and did everything in his power to make our stay a memorable one.

The guides were very knowledgable especially about the bird life . They did everything possible to ensure we experienced everything on the Chobe River while always seeking our input to ensure that they were meeting our needs. Guides Martin, Morgan and Vasco.

Chef Vincent prepared excellent food and even prepared a birthday cake for one of our group.

We were quite surprised at the quality and variety of food given the obvious limitations on the boat and cooking for a different culture."
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"A visually appealing, comfortable Lebala Camp"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2013
"We were impressed with the guides overall knowledge and preparedness to track animals that we were keen to view. The interactions between the guides and guest made our visit most enjoyable. We appreciated the style and choices of food at all meals.

We were pleasantly surprised by the staff singing on our last night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Homely Little Kwara"

4 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2013
"Our experience at this camp was outstanding. The wildlife was fantastic and the guides, Ezzi and Joseph together with trackers, Mike and Chester went out of their way to ensure we observed all of the animals within the concession.

They had a great passion for the area and were able to pass on in depth knowledge of animal behaviour and habits. Staff at the lodge were very friendly and accommodating.

Most staff referred to us by name within the first 24 hours. After 4 days it was almost sad to leave, such was the experience we had at this camp"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Overnight in Johannesburg.

"Convenient Protea Hotel"

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2013
"Good hotel comfortable rooms good food and wine at very reasonable prices"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2013
"The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were comfortable with open fires that were prepared each night being a nice touch for the cold nights. Disappointingly the coating on the bathroom floor was sticky requiring the wearing of thongs. Coating sticking to your feet if thongs were not worn.

Food generally fairly basic and not as good as we had experienced at other locations. Wine expensive in comparison to hotels in South Africa.

Thanks to our Primate Safari driver Hussein our treks with the Gorillas were easily managed, given our ages and physical condition. A once in a lifetime experience thanks to knowledgable and passionate guides and trackers."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Luxurious Kigali Serenade Hotel"

1 night Arrived 11 Jun 2013
"Very good food, extremely reasonably priced ( US$30 per head for 4 courses )

Wine however comparatively pricey, around US$ 70 per bottle."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team