This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs KP & Mr P from Dorset

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2013 trip

Namibia between 1 Aug 2013 and 20 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Really great.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Try to talk to namibian tourism about their government lodges. Let down by bad service and sullen behaviour, especially from office staff (mostly women) who seem put out when asked to do anything. maids, waiters, etc all fine.

Doro Nawas has some glitches, which we assume are the product of it being a joint venture with the locals. We would not go there again. It costs almost the same as Mowani and lacks something special. Needs attention."

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2013
"Comfortable and a warm welcome"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2013
"We were upgraded to the Bush Camp where we had a rondavel surrounded by guinea fowl, warthogs and hornbills.

A lovely place, with wonderful big cats. The leopard tracking and cheetah tracking were very special - did leopards twice."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2013
"Doro Nawas looks like something out of Mordor, a stone fort lowering atop a pile of shale. First impressions were NOT good.

However, the staff were very friendly, if slightly chaotic, the food was fine and the rooms were lovely. Hot water bottles at night (they were COLD nights) .

We had a memorable dinner on top of the 'fort', with moroccan-type candles everywhere. Really special.

The trip to see the desert adapted elephants was wonderful. We spent hours with them and our guide really knew his stuff."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2013
"Horrible - except for the waterhole, which was first class, so long as the people around it kept quiet.

We asked for a room with a braii - which we got but it must have been the smallest outside area on the entire camp. It felt as though everyone in the camp walked past us and there was absolutely no privacy.

Reception was overcrowded and bad tempered and the restaurant was characterised by waiters fighting over each others' table settings.

The shop had NO fresh food and a sullen, unhelpful checkout girl who went as slowly as humanly possible."
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Terrible
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2013
"Much nicer and smaller than Okaukuejo. In the centre of Etosha, so close to all the best waterholes.

Nice chalet with a fire on teh terrace."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"Onguma Tree Top review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2013
"Lovely, felt cut off and peaceful. Food good. Ate at big table, like a dinner party. Very good food.

The night drive was a bit pointless - saw one serval cat - but we did go over to the tented camp to see a lioness and her cubs who had taken up residence."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2013
"Our favourite place, with a BATH (rare in namibia). Luxurious, friendly and good food.

Enlivened by a lioness and her cubs right outside our tent.

A very good trip into Etosha with Eric the guide, who really knew his stuff. Outstanding. Found us a cheetah and her cub hunting, to order!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2013
"Very cpmfortable and secure. A good place to begin and end."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team