This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs O from Chester

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Our May 2014 trip

Namibia between 18 May 2014 and 3 Jun 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent trip loved it.

Distances longer than expected - along very poor roads in many instances. Would have been useful to know which were gravel or tarmac. Some roads very bad for our VW Polo car. Thus very long journeys- yes I know it's Africa! Not sure whether a larger car would have helped but fellow travellers thought so

Nice and friendly Namibians. Very clean and comfortable accommodations everywhere.

Petrol very cheap!"

Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 19 May 2014
"Conveniently located. Helpful in arraging taxi to restaurant and booking table"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2014
"Unaware that this place was so small and isolated - but this caused us no problem.

Went on a couple of walks and on the second found the gate at the end of a two hour walk that the gate was locked and not climbable. The hosts knew we were taking this walk and were not very apologetic. Managed to get through eventually. Same problem would have occured for others next day had we not advised them!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Fun at Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2014
"A really fun place due to the attitude of the staff. Always happy and attentive. Good singing. Our favourite stay"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2014
"Very calm and well run establishment. Pleasant staff/owner

Excellent trip out with Turnstone Tours (Ernst?)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Long (bad) road to Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2014
"Staff seemed less professional than at other lodges and less wlcoming/enthusiatic.

However they were most helpful in repairing a puncture."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"The waterhole camp at Okaukuejo"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2014
"Yes a large camp

We could only book two separate rooms for our two night stay and staff were most unhelpful about moving from one to the other. We asked that perhaps the new room could be made available as soon as possible but they were not in the least accommodating. We were made to be "homeless" from 10 am until 2 pm - unnecessarilly we thought.

Food was poor and waiters totally useless"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara - a haven"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2014
"A lovely place. Wonderful food, atmosphere and service. Near the park. Nice swimming pool"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Jun 2014
"Quirky. Fun.

Too isolated for our one night stay. We had to park away from our accommodation which was not convenient for packing up on our last night.

Very cold at night in a tented room without the "sides" covered. Yes we could have covered them ourselves but this was looked after elsewhere. Food served outside under the stars - fine but could not see our food at all!!

Added inconvenient mileage for our last night and still a long way to the airport. Particularly rough road. Would have been extremely difficult for people with less than average mobility. Should point this out.

However a very nice free guided walk to the top of the rocks for sundowners!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team