This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs & Mr L from Durham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

2014 African holiday

Zambia between 20 Aug 2014 and 2 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"First visit to Africa and first safari, holiday has exceeded our expectations especially the visit to Tafika and bush camps. Hospitality so very good, all staff make you feel welcome. They also care so much about the environment and the community.

Zambia was chosen as our destination because of the walking safaris and the reported experience of the guides. We were not disappointed the guides knowledge, observational and communication skills were all excellent. We have seen and learnt so much.

It is good to be able to experience both a walking safari and a game drive especially in small groups when you get a more personalised service.
Expert Africa and Megan in particular provided a very thorough detailed service tailored to our requests."

Arranged By Megan Green


Nkwali

Nkwali

"Short safari stay on transit to distant camp"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2014
"Made very welcome at the camp and throughout our short stay .
Very comfortable accommodation well appointed, however came back after game drive to find many baboons 'using' our room for many activities . Was not a problem as all our belongings fastened away as advised, but needs to be monitored.
Excellent game drives with Fred.
Loved the drums for wake up and meals.
Ideal when arriving early evening as not too far from airport."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Fantastic safari at Tafika"

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2014
"Beautiful location, made very welcome on our arrival and got to meet 'family ' and staff. Excellent accommodation spacious and clean. You get used to the friendly frogs. Was concerned about insect bites but mosquito nets are very effective.

Being our first safari we were amazed at the number and variety of animals and birds that we saw. The observation skills and knowledge of all the guides is excellent.

Food is excellent, with very innovative vegetarian dishes. Toured the vegetable garden, interesting how they cope with watering, heat and monkeys.
Enjoyed the mountain bike ride with John, you need to be a reasonable cyclist."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Birthday at Chikoko"

1 night Arrived 25 Aug 2014
"Walking to Chikoko with Alex, skirting round buffalo and elephants, tracking a lion is what makes a walking safari so memorable.

Accomodation good and enjoyed being up in the trees, stairs quite steep and narrow and need to be sure footed in the dark.

Birthday celebrated with cake and candles and a rendition of Happy Birthday from the staff, a lovely treat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"First walking safari to Crocodile"

1 night Arrived 26 Aug 2014
"Loved Crocodile it was so peaceful and enjoyed watching the animals coming to drink at the water hole.

Visited the kitchen and where the bread is made. The staff are very proud of what they produce and so they should be producing such good food with limited facilities.

Coming to Crocodile was our first encounter of a walking safari, that feeling of being out In the bush is not be missed. Alex our guide brought so much to the whole experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Return to Tafika"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2014
"Returning to Tafika after the bush camps and the welcome received made us feel at home.
Had requested a visit to the school to give some equipment and were treated to singing, dancing and poems. Although the school was on holiday teachers and pupils came in for us.Pleased we could help in some way. Continued visit it to village to learn more of their customs. A very worthwhile and humbling experience.
More birthday celebrations, cake and singing.
Excellent game drives and walking safari."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Short stay to see Victoria Falls"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2014
"As a base for visiting the Victoria Falls this hotel is very good, stayed 2 nights.
Breakfast food OK but did not find the buffet dinner particularly appetising. Ate dinner on second night at The Royal Livingstone.
Meal and dining experience excellent and not much more costly than Zambezi Sun."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team