This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by M & M from Flanders

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

2

Highlights all the way

Namibia between 27 Aug 2015 and 14 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"For me, what sets Namibia apart is the rapid change in the extraordinary desert and arid landscapes over remarkably short east-west distances. Plant and animal life has in turn adapted to the varying climatic conditions making a journey here continually fascinating. Driving through this scenery on Namibian roads is a joy and the hospitality and comfort encountered at camps and lodges is first-rate. Our holiday comprised only highlights. I should like to make a special mention of the private safari in Kunene which Expert Africa arranged for us with Conservancy Safaris which is operated for and by indigenous communities in the northwest. This was adventure and education; both provided at the highest of standards.

We were extremely pleased with Expert Africa's knowledgable and professional advice in putting together our trip. They conscientiously ensured they understood our aims prior to giving clearly-justified, thoughtful, well-expressed options for us to consider. It was always a pleasure to receive Martha's mails or calls and all discussions were promptly and usefully followed up. As a result, we had a superb holiday in which all arrangements were executed flawlessly.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We appreciated all of the elements of Expert Africa's service that we used.

The website is extensive, free of failing links or outdated information and is well-written.

I especially appreciated that all communications were in impeccable and well-formulated English; such unambiguous and literate writing sadly being a rarity in commercial enterprises!

I can not offer much in the way of help regarding suggestions for improvements. I guess your standards of expertise, professionalism and communication have been built on solid foundations and planning which will keep the business on track for many years to come.

It would have been nice if you had been able to help with travel insurance for non-UK residents (because I am not especially happy with what I find on the Belgian market) but that is the only point I can think to raise."

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Great hospitality at a working farm"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2015
"We loved this place.

All the comfort of the luxury lodges but with a much more interesting atmosphere due to the nature of the establishment as a commercial farm. Joanna and Ernst are fine and entertaining hosts (as are the young interns from Germany who they are supporting).

Our guide David on a couple of activities was brilliant and made sure we got the most out of some fabulous drives and walks."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Beautiful base for Sossusvlei"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2015
"A luxury lodge ticking all the boxes. Johnny and his colleagues looked after us brilliantly both at base and out exploring Sossusvlei."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Great hospitality"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2015
"Can't imagine staying anywhere else in Swakopmund. The first and the best! Sam is a skilful and entertaining host who amused and informed us while never imposing himself. His staff are equally competent and welcoming. Food and wine are great - rather better than anywhere else we found in town. An easy 15 minute walk to the waterfront and town centre. We appreciated Sam spontaneously confirming our booked activities for us. Lovely tropical garden as well.

During their stay at Sam's, Expert Africa organised two activities for these travellers. Firstly, we organised a Pelican Point Kayaking trip. They commented:

Utterly delightful. A thoroughly enjoyable morning. Jeanne has this expedition organised to perfection and is a brilliant host and guide. Kayaking amongst the seals and flamingos is charming (and surprisingly comfortable and warm) and the environment around the lagoon is stunning.

These travellers also did the Day Trip to Sandwich Harbour, and commented:

Environment and adventure.

A fabulous day exploring the remote and inaccessible coastal environment south of Swakopmund. Berger was a great guide and fortunately, given the nature of the route, a great driver too!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Utterly delightful"

2 Sep 2015 • Morning excursion

A thoroughly enjoyable morning. Jeanne has this expedition organised to perfection and is a brilliant host and guide.

Kayaking amongst the seals and flamingos is charming (and surprisingly comfortable and warm) and the environment around the lagoon is stunning.
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Environment and adventure"

3 Sep 2015 • All-day excursion

A fabulous day exploring the remote and inaccessible coastal environment south of Swakopmund.

Berger was a great guide and fortunately, given the nature of the route, a great driver too!
Excellent
Image alt

Kaokoland Private Safari

"The highlight of the highlights"

6 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2015
"The private safari was under the auspices of Conservancy Safaris about whom we learnt much during the 6 days. This small-scale tourism company has been set up by Namibian environmentalists and placed in the ownership of several Kunene conservancies (areas of rural Namibia under protection status for indigenous people). One of their aims is to provide local communities with financial incentives in maintaining wildlife populations (to set against the competing temptations of selling rhino horns and eliminating predators which kill livestock). The staff running the safaris are all also active in conservancy work, wildlife monitoring and preservation so that this becomes part of the tour as well.

Happily there are no compromises in quality for supporting this worthy business. Our hosts (Boas, Sonia and Nico) provided us with a set of unforgettable experiences in amazing landscapes accompanied by a great deal of thought-provoking education. On the animal side, tracking black rhino on foot, observing lions mating in the desert hills and spending half an hour watching a beautiful leopard were especially memorable. Perhaps even more special was the time we spent in Himba communities (where we were accorded warm welcomes with fascinating conversations being facilitated by our hosts who were also from Himba families).

The practical arrangements were - astonishingly, given the remoteness of the journey - as wonderfully comfortable as elsewhere in Namibia's luxury lodges. We camped in style for 3 nights and enjoyed 2 more in a magnificent conservancy-run Etambura lodge in the far north. Food, drink and sleeping comfort were impeccable.

We would encourage anyone interested in experiencing a little more of Namibia than the main tourist highlights to give serious consideration to including a Conservancy Safari in their agenda."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

"Overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2015
"We just stayed one night in between different sections of our holiday. The lodge is fine in all aspects but without any characteristics (that we discovered) that make it stand out.

It caters (when we were there) for group tourism with buffet-style dinner."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Fabulous camp"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"We had a great time at Anderssons.

The staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Getting a week's worth of washing done for us within about 3 hours of arrival was much appreciated! Our safari guide, Jakes, was just great, locating a large pride of lions and a pair of white rhino for us in the Ongave reserve. Lions roaring outside of our tent during the night was a slightly scary but also amazing experience. The tents themselves are very comfortable and the food and drink of extremely high standard.

There were large groups staying both nights of our stay (taking up about 80% of the capacity). This limited the social contacts somewhat but the Andersson's team did a very professional job making the evenings pleasant for everyone.

The camp seems to us to be a perfect base for exploring southern Etosha - rather nicer than staying inside the park at Okaukuejo we thought."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Stunning lodge"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2015
"Sadly we only had time for one night in this stunning location amongst the boulders where three different geological regions clash.

Still, time for a great afternoon walk and scramble on the rocks, a beautiful sunset, cocktails and a delicious dinner under the stars (watching the animals coming to the floodlit waterhole) and a hearty breakfast enjoyed whilst attempting to identify all the early-morning birdlife.

Should have stayed 2 nights!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team