This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Miss R & Mr N from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Thank you for a memorable holiday

Namibia between 14 Oct 2007 and 27 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"What a strange scale - where is the excellent / good . Very satisfactory sounds very English - a massive understatement for what was a really good holiday.

Really appreciate your help in sorting out the itinerary and even getting the little details sorted such as marking up the map with where we were going to stay - thank you so much Judith & Stuart"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Great place to start"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2007
"Very pleasant, lovely room, super shower and an ideal place to spend our first night.

Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed it by the pool

They recommended Joe's Beerhouse and made a reservation for us - a really great place to eat

Its too far from town to leave your car and walk into Windhoek"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Mountain Homestead, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Down in the dunes"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2007
"Fantastic location and amazing views
Friendly servcie, greeted by 4 members of staff and cold flannels which were very welcome after a long drive

Food was OK but felt it could have been better. Afternoon tea was disappointing, breakfast average
Shower room was short on space and looked a bit tired

Space around the plunge pool is tiny - if the platform was just a little wider you could sit by it - really needs a little refurb.

Room is begging for a private verandah to sit out on and take in the amazing view
Trip to the dunes was very good with a lovely luch - very civilised"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"Stupendous Stiltz by the Sea"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2007
"Fabulous room, beautifully decorated and furnished. The overall attention to detail and execution in the design is brilliant.
Very friendly welcome, helpful with booking boat trip, restaurant reservations and general directions. Appreciated that we had little time and were passionate to ensure we did what we wanted to do.

Breakfast room was delightful, great service, lovely fresh food and a good choice

Short walk from the sea and town - don't rush to the TUG restaurant go to the Kelder instead."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Amazing Etendeka"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2007
"Amazing experience and would thoroughly recommend this to anyone who is travelling to Namibia

Considering where they are and how difficult it is to get supplies the standard of food was amazing. This set the standard for the rest of the holiday.

Staff were very friendly and knowledgable, Dennis and Claire made us very welcome and Bonnie was a brilliant guide. I even had a great massage!

Accommodation was good - very clean"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

""Hell - ali" restcamp"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2007
"This was the low point of the holiday. What a contrast to everywhere else we stayed, especially Etendeka.
Rude, surly and unfriendly service - should they be working in a service industry?

Shop was poorly stocked. Restaurant baking hot (although you could eat outside)
Breakfast was abysmal -poor choice and poor quality, tinned fruit cocktail, bread (dry from the atmosphere) no toaster and not even marmalade or jam and they made us pay $12 for it although our voucher stated we had B&B. Didn't fancy anything cooked.

Made to pay $500 room deposit in case we stole anything or trashed the room - what sort of welcome is that?
Room had been very nicely refurbed and was very clean, lovely bedlinen.

Suggest Expert Africe arrange some form of" bond" should any of their guests "trash" the room - an event that I believe will never happen. It would be better to bring your own packed food that eat here."
Terrible
Location
Good
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Good
Food
Terrible
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Not pleased to see you at Okaukujo"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2007
"Amazing accommodation sadly not matched by the facilities or service. The best bedlinen and fluffiest towels of the holiday.
Made to leave $500 cash (or driving licence or passport) in case we stole anything or trashed the room - such a nice welcome particulary as we were paying for a premier waterhole chalet. Having travelled the world I have never been affronted like this.

They need to look at their customer profile and general attitude to their customers. They actually sent a housekeeper to check the room before we left and she radioed back to reception so our deposit could be released ! Neither of us have ever been asked anywhere in the world to do this before - what are their clients like if they have to count the spoons ?

No bottled water provided in room and I would have expected some form of mini bar or dial up bar service for the price I was paying. Wasted opportunites - no mini bar in the room as clearly they don't trust you, it would have been so nice to sit out on our balcony and have a drink whilst watching the waterhole.

I have never been to a bar that doesn't have tonic to go with a gin and the bar man is seriously not bothered. Poor service in the restaurant, turn up with your voucher and feel like a criminal then wait ages for your drinks to appear. Staff look completely disinterested.

Waterhole was in a good location and we did see a good selection of animals.

Lack of information in the rooms regarding the park. Poor service will now be labelled "an etosha" experience.

Good choice of food, buffet style. Restaurant can't cope with numbers and needs to buy more china - they were taking plates as you finished to get them through the wash up. Bit like a canteen at times, not a relaxing experience. They need to separate out their clients and the service they provide. A canteen might be fine for the campers but if we are paying for a premium lodge then I would like a more relaxed and civilised service at dinner. Also if you do go for one of the lodges you need to understand that the crowd watching the waterhole will be right under your bedroom window."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Terrible
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Frans Indongo Lodge is the best"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2007
"Fabulous way to finish off our holiday. Great accommodation, amazing food, very good service and good value for money
had two trips, one game drive which we enjoyed althoughit is a very different setting to etendeka and etosha.

Felt the driver got a bit close to the rhinos. Not so concerned for our personal safetly, more that we were encroaching on their space.

Well organised trip to the CCF. If you do go to CCF make sure you see the orphans in the very large enclosures (has to be booked via lodge) rather than just those few in intensive care in the centre. Very relaxing last couple of days."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team