This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by D & M from Munich

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

Emerald Season at Nkwali

Zambia between 21 Mar 2019 and 2 Apr 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic!"

Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali fantastic as always"

10 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2019
"We just love everything about Nkwali. The people, the location, the guiding, the food, the chalets..... This was our 4th stay in 4 years time and we always stayed a longer period at least 7 nights there, which we would highly recommend. Then you can experience all the secrets of the area. For example during the dry season it is possible to explore the game management area around the camp where we had very special sighting exclusively for us because only RPS cars are allowed to drive there.

We enjoyed this time the Emerald season when the park is green and you have the feeling to have the park for yourself. The bird life is amazing and we found other wildlife sightings like leopards, wild dogs, lions with cubs, lots of elephants etc. The game is maybe a bit more difficult to spot in comparison to the dry season but in a park like the South Luangwa there is always still more that you could wish for. The high levels of the river and the morning boot drives into the park at sunrise have been out of this world. Just stunning!

We have to say a special thank to everybody from Nkwali. The whole team made this stay again unforgettable and it was so hard to leave. The atmosphere in the camp is very warmly, relaxed, cheerful. Thank you for all the new wrinkles because of laughing so hard :-)

The passion for wild life with all the incredible knowledge that all the staff has got is amazing. Guiding is hard to top. We have been very privileged to go with Kanga on our Safaris. We learned a lot from him observing carefully the nature. Now we understand again more how this precious and fragile ecosystem with all the plants and animals is working.

We are looking very much forward to our next time even when we have to wait till 2021."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

South Luangwa Oct/Nov 2017

Zambia between 23 Oct 2017 and 14 Nov 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"To say it short... Perfect and breathtaking trip! There is nothing to add."

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Breathtaking experience at Kaingo"

5 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2017
"For us the perfect place for wildlife holidays in every aspect. Remoteness, personalized game drives and service, beautiful location, abundant wildlife, wonderful hosts, family atmosphere, world class guiding, very close to nature........ The love and respect for nature is the main theme in this camp and its sister camp Mwamba! Everybody from the owner to the whole staff live this idea."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Heaven on earth at Mwamba"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2017
"Mwamba is for us a magical place. Extremely remote, very peaceful and so unspoiled, that you feel very thankful to be guest of this gem and its beautiful nature. Of course you find wildlife in and around the camp in abundance. For people they are afraid that they may have wildlife in their room, Mwamba is maybe not the right camp.
We do love the hide "Last waterhole". We could sit their for hours.
Guiding and hosting here is on the highest level. Fantastic!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Exploring the Nsefu area"

4 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2017
"Nsefu Camp is located at a very scenic and remote location on the South Luangwa River. There is also a lagoon with a hide next to the camp which is very nice for observing pukus, elefants, Lions lots of birds ....... Due to the rains the game was a bit spread and the wildlife sighting were a bit more difficult. But despite of this we had wonderful sightings here. We loved the bee-eater hide a lot. All in all a fantastic camp to visit!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Lovely Nkwali"

8 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2017
"This is our 3rd visit to Nkwali in 2 years. We love this camp! The location, the kind how the camp is managed with so much love and enthusiasm which you can feel as a guest all the time. The hole staff is cordial, attentive, superb. The atmosphere is relaxed and cheerful. For us one of the reasons we fell in love. The guiding was outstanding. Full of passion, with so much respect for the nature, the unbelievable knowledge about animals, plants... as we stayed 9 night we had the chance to learn a lot of the interaction between animals and the ecosystem of the South Luangwa in general.
The game management area where Nkwali is located offers very good opportunities for wildlife sightings and you will not find many other cars because its Robin Popes property. In the National Park where you get via Pontoon or by boat is is maybe a bit more busy than the areas deep in the park like Nsefu. But it is still possible to avoid too many cars if you tell your guide that you don't like it. We had also leopards , wild dogs etc. just for ourselves but than you have to skip some of the leopards (which are plenty) or the lions. All in all we recommend Nkwali a lot and are looking forward to return as soon as possible."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team