This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dune-larks from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Superb holiday

Namibia between 30 May 2008 and 20 Jun 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"One of the best holidays we have ever had - superb accommodation in a series of wonderful locations. Well organised by Expert Africa.

We will go back one day but with a 4WD this time (not for the extra traction but for comfort in bouncing across the ruts), There was a wonderful feeling of 'adventure' about the trip without it being too scary!

Suggestions for improvement:

Not really apart from my comments on 4WD carhire above. We enjoyed designing our own itinerary but also found your suggested tours helpful in this process."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Quick stop at Hilltop House"

1 night Arrived 31 May 2008
"Spent less time in Windhoek than planned due to incoming flight delay. A lovely warm welcome and a relaxing first night. It is a fair way out of town for walking, particularly at night. Joe's Beer House was good fun.

NB The access map needs checking as there is no direct access now from Robert Mugabe Avenue - you need to take Schanzen (left) from Nelson Mandela Avenue."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2008
"A superb introduction to Namibian 'lodge life' with some great self-guide walking. Communal dining in a cosmopolitan family atmosphere. On our 'must return' list."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2008
"Service really welcoming, friendly and attentive, a few minor blips. Location perfect for early-morning dunes trip with J-J our excellent guide."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2008
"There is nothing at all wrong with Sam's Giardino but it was a distinctly routine European-hotel-style welcome rather than the warm Namibian greetings in the lodges! Sam was away so we might have missed his buzz.

We were not at our best with a 48-hour bug but the excursions (Sandwich harbour and Living Desert Adventures) are highly recommended. We would stay nearer the town centre if we visit again."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Holiday Highlight"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2008
"The most wonderful three-day stay. The setting is magical, with a pleasant trail amongst the boulders to wander each evening. The service is exceptionally good, the food unbelievably so given the remote location.

We must mention Vincent, the manager, who was helpful beyond the call of duty when the car broke down five miles away. He sorted everything so we could continue our holiday untroubled. The safari in search of desert elephants is a 'must' and we would like to compliment Frederick, the guide. Is there a 5plus rating?!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2008
"The atmosphere is more 'mass tourism' than elsewhere but it is done well and the refurbished rooms are great. Our waterhole chalet enabled us to pop over to the waterhole a few yards away, anytime day or night, and provided the best game viewing of our trip.

The food is OK but again with a canteen-type atmosphere, good service though.."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2008
"More stylish than Okakuejo, again recently refurbished to good effect. More of a base to tour, the waterhole not as good as many out on the pan.

Our room was 5star European hotel style, with both indoor and outdoor showers! The fort is a dining place with character although very quiet when we stayed. Not sure the night game drive is worthwhile."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima holiday highlight"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2008
"Another 'wow' place to stay, very select, relaxing, stylish. The activities are all good value and very interesting, our guide Jacque was superb and it was good that we stayed with him throughout our stay.

We had a lovely chalet and the communal dining was well thought out. We still argue whether Okonjima or Mowani was the best place we stayed!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2008
"Hard to follow Okonjima but we really appreciated a gentle wind-down at the end of our trip with lots of walks we could do ourselves. Another stunning setting amongst bouldery hills speckled with baboons."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team