This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Family B from New York

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Experience of a lifetime!

Zimbabwe and 2 other countries between 22 May 2016 and 4 Jun 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had attempted to book a two way stay with a car hire for a good part of it, and the first few either refused or discouraged that idea even though our daughter is serving for two years in Botswana. Maruska was a pleasure to deal with, encouraged and supported what we wanted to do, and pulled together a seamless trip from start to finish.

The transfers by Wild Horizons were spot on and she worked to find the exact vehicle we wanted. All of our accommodation bookings were perfect. The only wrinkle we experienced was the car hire company who claimed they never received a voucher they needed and tried yo charge our card a 1000 deposit, requiring several calls to expertafrica to clear the issue up"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Great first respite"

1 night Arrived 22 May 2016
"Wonderful grounds with view of the fall, wonderful attentive staff, amazingly good food.

We stayed our first and last nights at the lodge, the second time we asked for a second floor room and we liked the terrace much better than the ground floor patio. Saw elephant and warthogs right from our room. Victoria Falls area right around hotel not the nicest."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Chundukwa River Lodge

"Wonderful Zambezi River retreat"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2016
"The very private location of the lodge right on the beautiful Zambezi river coupled with the friendly and attentive owner and staff made us wish we had stayed more than two nights. Staying at the cottage provided us with much-needed time to catch up with our daughter who is living in Botswana for two years. The house staff and chef were wonderful, and our boat guide Victor was so knowledgeable about the area and its amazing wildlife. Gail, one of the owners, oversees everything while respecting guest privacy, and was so helpful in helping us to plan a day trip into Livingstone and Victoria Falls.

Overall, this lodge experience checked every box we had and we recommend it without reservation to anyone who wants a quality but authentic stay in beautiful Zambia. Expert Africa should consider recommending it often!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

"Beautiful remote lodge"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2016
"The lodge was so remote and beautiful, despite the drought they are experiencing.

It was sad to see that the lagoon out front was completely dry and that the hippos there had moved elsewhere. Thanks heavens that Maruska advised us to stay at least two nights as the drive in was rough and very long!

We saw a lioness cross our path right on our way to the camp! We had to travel a good distance to the water to see wildlife while on safari, but once there saw elephants and hippos as well as zebras and many others. Beautiful birds everywhere.

I suppose some people would not like the remoteness of the lodge, but those who seek it will be rewarded."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

"Quick stay but nice!"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2016
"We stayed here just one night en route.

Very nice chalets, beautiful terrace and lodge and very good food. Very comfortable beds.

The river was dry while we were there and we didn't have time for acrivirpties, but it was very nice."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Great safari and lodge"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2016
"Beautiful delta safari, we loved our experience and our guides Daniel and Gomms were terrific and very personable.

We really enjoyed having them join us for dinner to get to know them. We had amazing sightings of a lioness and lion cub, cheetah, leopard and many elephants, giraffes and other wildlife.

Gathering in the morning around a fire and at night at the dinner table, meeting people from all over the world, hearing the animals all around and in camo....amazing memories."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Planet Baobab

"Planet Baobab review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2016
"Quirky place, very quiet when we were there.

The rooms were actually better than we expected from the pictures and reviews. The food was not that good, not very many choices. We went on the excursion to see the meerkats with quad biking, which we thought was overpriced and were disappointed to learn that the four of us had to share two quad bikes.

Our guide was quiet but nice. The meerkats were fascinating!"
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Great entry and departure nights!"

1 night Arrived 3 Jun 2016
"We spent one night on arrival and our last night at Illala and it was a lovely, no fuss place to stay. Great view of the mist from the falls, and the lodge borders the park so we saw warthogs and an elephant right on property.

The rooms were a bit dated, and we asked for a second floor room with a terrace on our second night which we found much better than ground floor. Amazing staff and food!!!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team