This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Gurinder & Jill from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Namibia Adventure

Namibia between 2 Sep 2017 and 18 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"As first time visitors to Namibia we enjoyed our trip overall and we would return but only to specific areas, ie the north Etosha, the central Erongo, and Okonjima areas. We would not bother going back to Swakapmond as we found it quite chilly and uninspiring. Although we enjoyed seeing the flocks of flamingos and we took a scenic flight over the namib desert rather than drive all the way down there. Highlights for us were Etosha, Erongo Mountains and Okonjima. We saw pretty much all the types of wildlife we hoped to see, and more. We enjoyed the challenge of driving on the harsh roads once we became accustomed to this - taking it in turns to take the wheel. We plan to return at some stage in the future and maybe next time spend a bit longer in Etosha. We would also recommend Expert Africa as trip planners."

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Good service but slightly claustraphobic"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2017
"the Staff at the Olive Grove are very helpful and friendly. The food provided at all meals is pretty good. However what we didnt like I'm afraid was that found this property to be quite claustrophobic (it is a small complex and the rooms are in very close proximity to the open seating area and indeed the eating area - there is nowhere to walk or stroll or get a feeling of space or any views. Personally we would have preferred to spend our one night in and our one night out at one of the camps in the Windhoek area en route to/from the airport - where we could have spent more quality time and stretched our legs a little."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"The Gem in the heartlands of Namibia"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2017
"Okonjima Plains Camp was superb. We really enjoyed our stay at this Camp. Our garden/bush camp room (no 1) was absolutely fabulous, it was very spacious with a great bathroom and even better views. The main complex eating/relaxing area is also exceptional - fabulous aspect straight out to the marvellous watering hole. Food was very good, and the service we received was superb. The game drives are very good, every effort is made to get close to the wildlife (even if it means bursting a tyre on the safari vehicle!!). The rangers has vg knowledge and didnt hesitate in sharing this with guests. We would most definitely stay here again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Slightly scruffy but well located Camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2017
"Upon arrival at Halali we were slightly disappointed with the quality of this Camp. Our hearts sank more when we reached our bush chalet which was quite dark and uninspiring inside and out. However the food provided in the restaurant was good. The Watering Hole (which seems to have great following) we visited several times but we personally found it was not particularly good for photography because the viewing / seating area is so high in relation to the water hole and one is shooting downwards. But we did see some nice wildlife here. We spent each day out in Etosha park anyway so this eased our time spent in our drab chalet. We do appreciate that this is a state owned facility and therefore wont be up to the same standard as private. This part of Etosha is pretty good for exploring and we saw much wildlife in the various water holes located in this area. The ROADS are VERY ROUGH here and our VW VAN held up well under the circumstances."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Excellent Camp + excellent water hole"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this camp. Far superior to Halali - our watering hole chalet no 5 was VG indeed, much lighter and nicer equipped inside than the Halali experience and simply two steps from the Hole. Food was good although we would mention that at breakfast time they ran out of certain things at the late sittings. We enjoyed some stunning photographic opportunities at the water hole and we were very pleased about this. Would recommend and would stay again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View Lodge

"New facility to see cheetahs"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"We appreciate this accommodation only opened in June 2017 and we were asked for our feedback at the property too, which we would sum up as: CHEETAH RUN EXCELLENT; other activities & game drives POOR; room VG but sadly the food wasn't. I think they can improve upon this in the future. Also to mention the view at the back of the lodges is all bush and close to the lodges so once gets a claustrophobic feeling rather than an open view towards the Waterberg Plateau (so perhaps they should not make a point of this in their literature - because you frankly cannot see it). One other thing we would say about the rooms was that they really need to provide fridges because it is very hot in this location and one needs to chill water.

NB THE CHEETAH RUN IS THE BEST ACTIVITY HERE"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Sensational mountain retreat"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"Loved it! Tent No 1 - wonderful, loved the ambience and the bathroom and the little visitors on the rocks each day (Cassies). Ranger walks were excellent, as was the game drive to see the cave art - like going back in time. Exceptional. The owner dropped in to say hello too and this was a nice touch. Service overall VG indeed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze Lodge

"Funky quiet out of town spot"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"We liked the desert breeze (we stayed in room 5) which had slightly better views of the sand dunes than the room that we had been originally allocated. The staff couldnt be more helpful and the room was very pleasant - we enjoyed the log fire each evening once we managed to light it! This is a bed and breakfast and so the main complex closes at 7pm."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"See previous review "

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2017
"See previous ie first night

We were allocated room 11 on our last stay and we would like to mention that the TAPS in the bathroom are STIFF and it is almost impossible to turn them on or off. You might like to feed this back to the property."
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team