This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr M from Fortis Green

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

0

Amazing week in Botswana

Botswana between 30 Jul 2018 and 6 Aug 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had 7 amazing days at 3 camps in an around the delta in August (Gomoti, Machaba and Lebala). Compared to places like the Mara/Kruger/Serengeti, I'd say there was less volume of game (or the plains are less open, so it's harder to see) - sometimes you'd go a couple of days without seeing a lion - so you had to work a bit harder for the sightings. However, the fact that they're all private reserves (or private-ish) means that when you're driving around you are in total isolation, and your sightings can mostly be enjoyed without other vehicles for as long as you like.

Even though there are several reserves and concessions, nothing is fenced - that's great as it makes it truly wild, the downside being that animals can cross the dividing lines but people can't, so you need to go to a few different camps to minimize the probability that the animal you wanted to see crossed the border yesterday and so isn't accessible (this happens quite a bit).

We had great sightings of leopard and wild dogs, saw the big 5 in a single day, had some truly amazing night drives - lion hunts, wildcat, serval, civet, owls galore - and picked up over 100 species of birds in the week. We went on a motor boat trip once, which was very beautiful, really relaxing. We also tried the mokoro, which didn't do much for us (felt quite rickety, and didn't see anything).

In August, the temperature goes from 5 degrees in the morning to close to 30 in the afternoon - that contrast really enhanced the experience as it felt like you were moving from one place to another every day.

All in all, it was by far the most thrilling safari experience I've been on - the tranquility makes it seem so much more wild/natural - and so in future I think I'll be coming back to Botswana rather than Kenya or Tanzania.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No - Megan was fantastic as always"

Arranged By Megan Green


Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

"Gomoti Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2018
"Only a 10 minute flight from Maun, nicely laid-out camp. Accommodation and food all very good.

Good game viewing on land - saw Rhino, and several leopard (including one trying to hunt a porcupine on a night drive, which was amazing), but no dogs or cheetah.

Motorised boat trip was very beautiful, lots of bird life. Good guides, and really welcoming hosts."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

"Great game and guiding"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2018
"Only stayed for a couple of days, but it was an incredible experience - made mostly because we had the camp manager Shaun as our private guide and he was amazing.

The game was fantastic - saw dogs a couple of times, including a litter of about 10 pups and a thrilling time following a chase across the landscape. Leopards several times, including a mother with her sub-adult daughter interacting together.

Amazing elephants - big breeding herds which allow you to get right in the middle of them. Very good birds, particularly owls.

All made incredibly special by Shaun, whose passion for the job made it a real joy - he even made a compilation video of our trip and sent it to us as we were leaving.

The camp itself is very nice, lovely main building, nice food. Would definitely go back...."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Very varied animals, particularly nocturnal"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2018
"Much more remote than the other camps we visited - no electricity in rooms, no wifi or mobile signal, but very comfortable. Excellent food. Compared with further south, the plains were bigger and more open, so when there was a sighting you could follow it for longer rather than it go into the bush, which was good.

Game was up and down - a couple of drives produced almost nothing (not even a lion), then on a single night drive we saw lions hunt and consume a wildebeest, serval, side-striped jackal, civet and really good wildcat sightings. The following morning a dog chase, large herd of stampeding and leaping lechwe and big breeding elephant herd which let us get right in the middle.

Funny how it goes - halfway through our stay we were wondering if it was a bit of a dud, and by the end it was probably the best set of safari sightings we'd ever had."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average

South Luwangwa in September

Zambia between 21 Sep 2017 and 24 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"...

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I loved your website - being able to compare all the different lodges in one place made a huge difference.

Megan was incredibly responsive, helpful and knowledgable. Thanks very much."

Arranged By Megan Green


Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"Long weekend at Flatdogs"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2017
"Spent a long weekend at Flatdogs in September 2017 as a solo traveller. Overall, it was a fantastic experience

Location - It's right by the main gate but outside the park, not much more than 30 min drive from Mfuwe airport. Being near the main gate brings you a bit more traffic - but on the other hand it also allows you to piggy back on other vehicles' sightings. We took a drive into the more remote part of the park one day and didn't see as much, as you only see what you spot yourself.

Accommodation - The tents are perfectly nice, though in September it is warm and although the fan in the room helps, sleeping can be difficult.

Food - Unlike nearly every other lodge I've been to, they have a full-size restaurant menu, rather than 1 or 2 options per night. Makes a big difference to the experience to be able to choose from so many things.

Wildlife - South Luwangwa in September is incredible. The combination of low number of tourists relative to other places, not much vegetation, lots of leopards and ability to do night drives makes it one of my all time favourite places to do safari.

Service - The team at Flatdogs were really helpful - a lot of places have a fixed 'programme' for guests and that's what you have to do. At Flatdogs we had a discussion every night about what we wanted to do tomorrow. In the end I paid extra to have a private vehicle as being in the truck with half a dozen others felt more like being on an open-top bus tour than enjoying a special moment with nature. It wasn't cheap, but well worth it. My guide was fantastic - in terms of spotting, his knowledge but also listening to what we were interested in rather than going through the motions. Will definitely go back next year."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team