This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Artist from Connecticut

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

1

fab time lots of work done will go back

Namibia between 28 Mar 2008 and 16 Apr 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"i got all work done and loved almost every minute.sceleton coast camp has problems/ wolwedan`s lodges need update but all that is a detail compared with the pleasures and beauty one gets from this journey

Namibia private guided safari section of trip - great guide [paulo] wonderful cook [rodney] they could not have been better.
they made my stay as comfortable as possible under the difficult rainy circumstances but the rains storms very unforgettable and for me a great visual experience. lots of painting under a special little tent that served as an outside studio.

paulo and Rodney were the best and of great help
paulo is very recommendable and he is now training for a national guide position.he deserves lots of attention. very knowledgeable and soft spoken, full of patience and attention to detail. he made my first 6 days extremely productive and creative

the dune world deserve more than a few days and all drives were spectacular at different times of day dawn and dusk"

Feedback response

One of these travellers is a professional artist who went to Namibia to paint for his exhibition called ‘Fire and Ice’. Namibia is forming the 'Fire' section of this exhibition.

You can see the gallery of these Namibia pictures here - and enquire to the artist if you’d like to purchase any.

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"very pleasant place and delicious kudu stake"

1 night Arrived 28 Mar 2008
"noisy room [number one] no mosquito net and some of them.....very good food
inspite of no mosquito nets very recommendable place / rooms upstairs are less noisy"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Private Guided Safari

"totally fabulous experience best guide"

5 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2008
"great guide [paulo] wonderful cook [rodney] they could not have been better.

they made my stay as comfortable as possible under the difficult rainy circumstances but the rains storms very unforgettable and for me a great visual experience. lots of painting under a special little tent that served as an outside studio.

the dune world deserve more than a few days and all drives were spectacular at different times of day dawn and dusk"
Excellent
Location
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"extraoridnary setting with wonderful staff"

3 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2008
"the lodge was leaking heavily in a major rain storm. inexcusable at that price per night ....lousy details in the bedroomlodge. l deck lounge chair covers all in shreds,ceiling not attractive, dirt and a magazine under the bed from previous guests....not up to standard.
they will remodel. we were told .....but until then one should know...

inspite all those complaints it was my favorite place of the whole trip and the one lodge i truly want to return. the views from the rooms,bar /sitting room and dining are truly spectacular and change at all our of day.michil and his staff could not be more charming and the presence of herman made it unforgettable.

the rainstorms were so dramatic we were literally scared from all the thunder and lightning. would not have wanted to miss a minute of the whole stay inspite of the drama of the leaking bedroom"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"unique place and location"

3 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2008
"charming and nice
without a car one is a bit lost "out there"

we ate at the tug every night and the walk was perfectly safe even though one is a bit wary as there is no one in the streets"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"ernst is the best by far"

7 Apr 2008 • All-day excursion

excellent
Excellent
Image alt

Skeleton Coast Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"very unusual isolated place,magical"

3 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2008
"the arrival by plane is incredibly unforgeable and moving. the isolation is truly mysterious and a bit scary

the first day drive last 11 hours... a drive forever... it is very exhausting .one looses a little bit the pleasure...l oved it though and next day was less stressful. they should find another way to show you the sights which i guess is pretty impossible at those distances... any drive longer than six hours is too much.

the very charming manager treats you a bit like in boot camp... i asked for eggs and bacon in the morning and would not get them. only the last day... i was told....... this should not happen at those prices... inspite of the hardship of the 11 hours first day drive it is a day one will never forget and the guide/driver tries very hard to make it as leisurely as possible.amazing sights and views.

we even saw an elephant the next day and visiting the himba people was truly interesting. again wonderful guide and one can easily forget not having gotten one`s eggs and bacon in the morning.

the beds as in most lodges [except etendeka] were amazingly comfortable and as one is soooo tired one needs those delicious duvets and very firm beds"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"dennnis ,claire and bonny make the place"

2 nights Arrived 12 Apr 2008
"a bit rougher but lots of style and charm. dennis is the best guide possible. great experience to walk with him
but no choice in the activities... you have to do what they do or else..you stay at home... slight boot camp orders...d id not like that too much...but suited me as i worked a lot

tent beds / cheap linens / no mattress covers...charming bucket shower"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"best place before going home"

2 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2008
"perfect place to chill out after the safari
fab food

great service and charm
wonderful pool and jacuzzi

snakes in the garden ...watch out [puffadder]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team