This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Larks from Appley Bridge

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

Fantastic and memorable Namibia !

Namibia and 1 other country between 16 Apr 2008 and 10 May 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"A truly memorable trip, everything we could have wanted - the lodges, the activities, the food, the sights ! Hire car was trouble-free, and all the roads were in excellent condition despite recent exceptional rainy season.

The Mainliner bus from Livingstone to Windhoek was a convenient link from the Falls, and is recommended for adventurous travellers, but not for those who demand to travel 5-star ! The staff were helpful and very pleasant.....but it was a LONG way - 22 hours altogether.

The advice and guidance from Expert Africa staff, especially Gwynneth and Chris, went a long way in ensuring a successful trip. So many wonderful highlights, it would be invidious to name one above others.

We just wish all travel opeators could be as efficeint, obliging, knowledgable and 'common sense' as Expert Africa ! This is our second trip with you, and we have already recommended you to other potential travellers."

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2008
"Excellent in most respects-appropriate for 5* hotel... but one problem with one meal. There was an unacceptably long wait before the main course-approx hour and half-and a suitable recompense-such as a bottle of wine - would normally be forthcoming...but it wasn't !"
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Hilltop House review"

1 night Arrived 21 Apr 2008
"Warm welcome, very helpful with advice and other help for our onward trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

"Etosha Garden Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 22 Apr 2008
"Convenient for an overnight stop, standards seem to have slipped a little since we were there 6 years ago."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2008
"Very highly recommended. V friendly helpful staff and manager.

Memorable bonuses were sleeping on private terrace under the stars, a knowledgable guide by the manager to the astronomy of the night sky from the lodge rooftop, finding desert elephants which was our main reason for being there. Also the delightful simple swimming pool with a view over the plains."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2008
"An unexpected highlight of the trip. The tents were really comfortable, and the bucket showers were amusing and effective.

The highlights were the morning walk and the evening game drives, all of them with Boni, an exceptional mine of information about geology, the natural environment and local customs, all imparted with enthusiasm and modesty.

Also a superb careful driver, and a great scout - he retraced our steps to find lost sunglasses, which were then posted on to our next destination by our host, Claire. Surely beyond the call of duty !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Hobatere Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2008
"A very special place, hosts providing a memorable experience despite current major renovations, now completed. Food was exceptional.

The morning game walk and evening drives with Martin and Steve were the highlights, along with the unexpected bonus of a morning in a distant hide.

Steve, the host, made a special drive to see a pride of lions."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

De Duine Hotel

"Overight at De Duine Hotel"

1 night Arrived 1 May 2008
"A very convenient stop en route to Cape Cross / Damaraland / Swakopmund"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Image alt

Eberwein Hotel, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Eberwein Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2008
"Highly recommended. A real gem of a hotel, large airy immaculate rooms, a short walk from town centre, shops, sea-front. Our room was the top suite, and excellent value for money.

A good place for Expert Africa clients !"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 4 May 2008
"A very convenient stopover en route to the dunes.

Good for organised self-guided walks.

Lovely swimming pool, and very friendly welcome."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2008
"A superb new development, very well designed and excellent for dawn drives to the dunes. Staff trying their utmost to please, attitude excellent.

Very enjoyable evening dune ride with 'Rambo' , at his suggestion as an alternaive to our plan - he is also expert with sundowner G & T !

A pity you can't wheel the bed out on to the terrace to sleep."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Terra Africa, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Terra Africa review"

1 night Arrived 8 May 2008
"Very friendly and helpful family run this B&B. Immaculately clean, but rather out of town from restaurants etc. Kind concern for one of our party who was sick.

Close to State House, so security probably pretty good !"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team