This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr D & Mrs S from Hants.

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Namibia Sept/Oct 2014

Namibia between 24 Sep 2014 and 12 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Had a fabulous trip , enjoyed the country and it's people. A great experience we will delight in reliving it with our friends and relations through the 3000 photographs we have taken.

."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2014
"Comfortable and friendly, good taxi service into town for a meal.

Only criticism is promised tea and homemade cake but no cake only rusks!"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2014
"Enjoyed our stay here very much, interesting environment ,good walks ,good guiding an excellant food.

Could easily have spent 3 nights here. Very cold at night but good warm duvets."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2014
"Excellant rooms and easy to access Etosha from here.

The service was chaotic with no-one apparently in overall charge especially at mealtimes.eg having been asked when we wanted breakfast when we arrived there was no table for us, not being asked preferance for food at breakfast and the buffet arrangement such that you had difficulty getting to the food. Also the bar bills etc had to be signed for at the end of evening meal, which meant you had to wait for them to be produced rather than leaving when we were ready. This seemed to be for the convenience of the staff not the guests."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2014
"Had great time here , excellent animal viewing at waterhole, helpful staff .They even arranged for our punctured tyre to be mended while we were there.

Also good guiding into Etosha ,saw a rhino fight and a leoprd. Could have stayed 3 nights."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2014
"Beautiful area ,took us longer to get to the pick up point than expected then waited an hour for transfer ,however delightful family at the tranfer point kept us entertained so this was not a problem.

Attentive staff and good food, long communal table for meals good as everyone fell into conversations. Alot of fly in guests.

Guide here was not as good as in other lodges, lacking in enthusiasm and English could have been better especially for guests whose first language was not English. Game drive lasted 5 hours and nowhere to stop for loo break, a challange for everyone.

Saw many of he desert adapted elephants which was a highlight."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka mountain Camp"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2014
"Had a wonderful time here. Dennis and Bonnie make a great team and we learnt alot from them.

Guiding very good saw 9 young lions lying in the grass ,a treat indeed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2014
"Characterful place with warm welcome from Sam. A little out of town but easily walked . Had one meal here which was very good. A bit noisy in the morning as staff arrived and Beethoven barked otherwise room was fine.

Did not do any activities here as needed a rest after driving down the salt road along the Skeleton Coast. A another day here would had been good to do some of the local trips."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2014
"Large busy lodge close to the dunes . Had an excellant guide here who made it all fun and interesting. We climbed Big Daddy ,what a sense of achievement. It was easier and even more fun coming down.

Staff very friendly and liked to chat which made you feel vey welcome and relaxed."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2014
"Sadly the worst lodge of our trip. Had a slightly run down air about it and although welcomed by the pleasant staff our feeling was it was not well run. It transpired that the owners were away as was the only guide. The lady who was standing in for the owners was charming and did what she could to make us feel at home. However on our last evening a coach arrived of self catering guests with us as the only other guests which was not very pleasant. They also left at 5am which disturbed our sleep

There was little in the way of organised activities which was ok for us we did 2 walks on the day we were there but there was no guiding as advertised as the guide was away. Our short sundowner drive was with the maintenance man.

Our very dirty car was cleaned for us for which we were very grateful"
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team