This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs lion from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

A great trip

Kenya between 23 Jun 2017 and 2 Jul 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Can't thank Richard enough for his advice and the way he set the trip up. We were really pleased with all aspects of the holiday. I can quite understand why Richard is so keen on the Conservancies and the Kicheche camps.

I can't actually think of any way in which the trip could have gone off more smoothly.

We were very impressed with Southern Cross and the Eka hotel and the transfers went like a dream. All the managers and staff at both camps were superb. Nothing was too much trouble. As for the game, and particularly cat sightings. Wow! 2500 plus photos after initial editing says it all.

In conclusion, the highest praise I can give is that if we decide to do a similar trip we'll be contacting Richard and Expert Africa to organise it with every confidence!"

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Eka hotel Nairobi"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2017
"Using a hotel closely situated to the international and Wilson airports was great. A new, good quality road to the hotel that doesn't need to take you into the jams of Nairobi was also appreciated. The hotel is fairly new with friendly and efficient staff.

Rooms are clean and contain all that you need for a nights rest before going on safari or starting the long haul flight home."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

"Kicheche valley camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2017
"Our first time at this camp, but with the experience of many safaris. Andrew and Marietta were the new hosts. Both were really friendly and efficient. We enjoyed their company.

The set up was first class. We had tent 4 which was one of the closest to the dining area. The quality of the newish tents was brilliant. Loved the design, space, storage and the fact we had battery charging points. Tent was spotless and the shower worked well.

Meal times was conducted as a group. We were fortunate in having lovely guests which made meal times relaxing and informative.Our driver Johnson was superb and as an amateur photographer I appreciated his positioning and awareness of light. He was always open to suggestions and did his best to help us achieve our shots.

Game was great including leopard and lion cubs and a cheetah coalition."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

"Kicheche bush camp"

4 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2017
"A different feel to Valley camp but really loved it. The hosts were great, being good fun, friendly and informative. Frank, their Jack Russell was the star of the camp.
Our tent was number 1 The monkey. It was close to the hub of the camp and was well appointed, spotlessly clean and with a great bucket shower. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the evening dance they put on was much appreciated.

Organisation of meals was either out under the trees or inside in one group. Both worked really well and much friendly banter and stimulating conversation took place.

Our driver/guide, James was excellent, a very safe driver and a keen photographer which suited me down to the ground. The jeep was well set up including bean bags for photography.

The wildlife was amazing and we certainly saw more animal behaviour and species ie 9 different antelope than on many safaris we've done. Predators included Fig (leopard) with two very young cubs, many lion cubs and a cheetah. I liked that we could stay as long as we liked at any sighting and that nobody was interested in hunting down the Big Five, but we could spend ages at dwarf mongoose etc. The highlights were time spent with two hunting dog up from the Serengeti and watching a lion pride hunting wildebeest in the pouring rain. Absolute magic."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Expert Africa triumph again

Tanzania between 26 Jun 2008 and 6 Jul 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We were very happy with the organisation and reality of the trip. Everything went smoothly and there were no snags. Timing for each section was good and at no stage did we have to rush to make a deadline. All staff that we dealt with throughout the holiday were efficient. Many were exceptionally friendly and made us very welcome.

Being a bit of an animal enthusiast, I do think it is important to stress that certain species are unlikely to be seen. I was disappointed to be told that certain species were not found in the locality of the camps despite assuming from comments in the guide that they were around ie Roan, Sable.

Having said that, there was plenty of game, and for safari newcomers, more than enough species to keep them happy.

Suggestions for improvement:
We have had two excellent trips with your company in the last two years. Both were competitively priced, superbly organised, and delived more than was promised. Ellie is a gem who updated us at every opportunity and who provided me with specific information on the two camps that we visited as she had been to both herself. Her level of knowledge was far higher than that we have experienced from reps of other companies and,as we have now been on safari eight times, we are really impressed.

Your website is the best around for imparting information and I like the visitors comments and general organisation that it contains.
Could I suggest that you update your info about cameras in the travel book you issue. More info about digital cameras, suitability for getting batteries charged, size of memory cards, dangers of heat and dust would help a lot of first time safari travellers.

In general though, carry on with your excellent work."

Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"A happy time at Selous Impala"

4 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2008
"We visited Selous Impala for a four night stay at the end of June. Wewere surprised at the amount of water in the river and surrounding lakes which added greatly to the variety of wildlife seen compared with a normal safari.

The camp was small and personal. All of the staff were ultra friendly and obviously happy. They worked superbly as a team, ably led by Chloe. Food was varied and consistently of a good standard. Tents were well equiped, spotlessly clean and contained a three pin plug suitable for battery charging. One minor irritation was that the two deckchairs outside on the platform were almost horizontal and could not be adjusted so there wasn't anywhere ideal to relax apart from the main eating area which was superb. As the camp was open, we had to be careful when moving around as giraffe and elephant moved freely about. At night, we were led to and from our rooms by Massai which added to the sense of adventure.

Game drives were well conducted and the drivers went to a lot of trouble to position the vehicles for great photos. Guides were knowledgeable and great fun. The chance to partake in boat trips was a new safari experience for us and a highlight. We managed three including a visit to Bird island which was a twitchers paradise. Abdullah, the boatman, was expert at spotting and positioning his craft for photos and I still can't believe how close he got us to a variety of kingfishers and bee eaters.


The highlight of our trip was spotting three hunting dogs with whom we stayed for half an hour. However, this sighting was a real bonus as they hadn't been seen for the previous two weeks.


We are always sad when we leave a camp, but this was especially so at Impala where there was a genuine warmth and interest in our visit and where we shared many happy and humorous moments."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Mwagusi aims to please"

4 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2008
"We stayed at Mwagusi for four nights at the beginning of July. The camp is medium sized and there regularly seemed to be about twenty plus tourists coming and going.

Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Guides varied in ability, and as some were shyer than others, imparted different amounts of information. We had several different guides and drivers during our stay so didn't really get the opportunity to develop a relationship with a particular individual.

Chris, who owned the lodge was interesting to talk to and keen to solve any minor problems.
The buildings that we stayed in were superbly designed, consisting of open sided viewing area containing comfy seating, tent with comfortable furniture, and a toilet/shower area with clothes storage. There was no power point so all batteries plus charger had to be taken to the office for charging which was a drag as you had to make sure that you got the right one back, plus they had found time to charge it.

The person in charge of cleaning and tidying the accomodation was amazingly thorough and everything was left perfectly.
Food was of a reasonable standard and the staff went to a lot of trouble to set up a different dining area in the bush each night. The system of everybody sitting along one table had its good and bad points. Mwagusi staff were experimenting with setting up two areas if the numbers eating was quite high to make it a little more personal.

Laundry was availabe free and the system generally worked well.

Wildlife and scenery were varied. The bush was still quite high and green which made animal spotting more difficult. Wild dogs were hard to locate and hadn't been seen for several months. Apparently December is the best bet. Lion were common, leopard elusive and the terrain didn't suit cheetah. Elephants were numerous but Roan and Sable, which I thought were in the area were rarely seen. We did see Lesser kudu but, like many of the shy antelope there, only from a distance.

Ruaha was an interesting place to visit and the camp was a good base."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

"Royal Palm Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jul 2008
"THis was a great hotel for a stop-over. Staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms were clean and contained all that you need.
The restaurant we visited was brilliant. There was a fish night when we were there and the freshness, quality and variety of food was amongst the best we have eaten anywhere. The price was reasonable and a lot cheaper than in England.

The bar was lively with live music but almost exclusively male predominated.

The concierge was particularly helpful and arranged a taxi out to the slipway. The driver was superb and reasonably priced. In the morning the bill was already prepared and we wasted no time in being able to get to the airport.

One word of caution. the restaurant doesn't serve breakfast until half six so if leaving earlier you need to book room service before three o'clock on the previous day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team