This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Crested Cranes from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2008 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 26 Aug 2008 and 13 Sep 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Met all out expectations - great trip!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp

"Jack's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2008
"Like a return to colonial Africa. Jack's is very stylish and a very different safari experience. The meerkats were the main attraction for us but we also enjoyed the Bush Walk, and saw ostrich and Aardwolf. No game on the menu :-(."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

"Jacana Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2008
"Intimate camp in the heart of the Okavango. Our guide, "Speedy" was excellent and after the Kalahari was a stark contrast.

The island on which the camp is situated was visited regularly by troops of baboon and elephant. The wildlife in the area is plentiful with great sightings of leopard, many species of antelope and birdlife everywhere you look.

Our fear of mosquitoes due to the swamp was not founded (late Aug/ early Sept) and the bite count was a pleasant zero.

No game on the menu :-(."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2008
"Nice small camp set amongst riverside woodland where the guides try their best to show you what you want to see.

The highlight here is the chance to see wild dog. We were not disappointed with two sightings. Alson our guide was knowledgeable and could not have tried harder to track the wild dogs for us.

They also do night drives here so that more nocturnal animals can be found such as spotted hyena and springhare. There are plenty of wildebeest, antelope, zebra and giraffe too.

No game on the menu :-(."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

"Chobe Game Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2008
"A large more commercial game lodge which was a welcome change giving more luxury than an average camp.

It's in a national park and therefore night drives and off-roading is not allowed.

Plenty of lion, buffalo, large herds of elephant and large pods of hippo. The downside is that there are LOTS of other people from this an other lodges there too.

The food is good and includes game which, amazingly, was hard to find at other camps."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

"Toka Leya Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"A new luxurious camp whose activities are not particularly well organised.

The food is OK but covered in too much sauce. No game on the menu.

Proximity to Vic falls was the reason for us choosing it. Beware of the high visa costs in both directions and a previously unknown guide fee if you go to the more spectacular Zimbabwe side. $55 to Zim and £75 to return to Zambia."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Southern Sun OR Tambo, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Southern Sun OR Tambo International review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2008
"Better than we thought it was going to be for an Airport hotel.

If you are just staying over the Intercontinental is in a better position."
Good
Location
Good
Rooms
Good
Image alt

Marlin Lodge, Mozambique (this camp has since closed)

"Marlin Lodge review"

6 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2008
"Great resort, very well organised, friendly, excellent service and food.

Well run diving ,fishing and other activities.

One felt like one could do as much or as little as possible on this beautiful dessert island."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team