This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs L from Oxon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Brilliant

Namibia between 10 Sep 2008 and 26 Sep 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip ran smoothly, all the bookings worked, the accommodation at the rest camps was of a higher standard than expected.

We would recommend this trip to other people.

However, don't let your credit card out of your sight as ours was cloned and money withdrawn. We are not sure where this happened but definitely not any of the places we stayed."

Feedback response

We're pleased to say that this kind of credit card fraud is exceedingly rare amongst our travellers, and (we believe) fairly rare in Namibia. However, we're alarmed that it's happened at all on one of our trips!

We can't help but agree with this taveller: these days, when travelling anywhere in the world, it's increasingly prudent not to let any of your credit cards out of your sight if you can possibly avoid doing so.

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"hilltop"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2008
"Room spacious and well appointed. We were welcomed. Everyone helpful.

Shame about the building work nearby."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"A very relaxing place"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2008
"Very good welcome. Friendliness easily spread to guests. Very good food.

The guide for the morning walk could have been more informative."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Wonderful location"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2008
"We really appreciated the welcome, friendliness and enthusiasm of all the staff. The location inside the park was a real bonus.

The guide was very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Pity about the dog"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2008
"A convenient place to stay but we feel that the owner did not create a very relaxing atmosphere.

Although promised that the dog would not be in the public rooms when we were there (because of allergies) we had to persuade the owner to keep the dog out of the rooms."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"elephant safari was great"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2008
"Though each of the staff was friendly, we felt that this had a more formal atmosphere. (slightly colonial?)

The guide for our morning trip was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"brilliant waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2008
"Although we could not see the waterhole from our room inspite of it's name, we were a very short distance away. The crowds round the waterhole were not oppressive or noisy; we saw a great many animals.

Being in the park was a great advantage for night and early morning viewing of the waterhole and easy access to the rest of the park."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"A more relaxing rest camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2008
"The accommodation was large and include a sitting area.

The swimming pool was excellent. Very few animals came to the waterhole."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Wonderful location"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"Erongo was a very relaxing, informal and welcoming place. It was really enjoyable and could have stayed longer.

We had a very knowledgable guide for the morning walk."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team