This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr D&P& Mrs J&J from Essex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

A land of diversity and contrasts

Namibia between 14 Oct 2009 and 30 Oct 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"We were recommended to visit Namibia by some people we met in Botswana last year. It was a good piece of advice. We chose Expert Africa because they seemed to have the expertise to organise bespoke travel arrangements. During the planning stages nothing was overlooked by our consultant Sabina, and this gave us great confidence.

We would certainly advise like minded travellers to visit Namibia, and to trust Expert Africa as we did."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Good game tracking at Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2009
"We wanted to visit Okonjima to learn more about the work of the Africat foundation. We probably needed more than the 2 nights we allowed in order to get a full understanding. We were surprised by the variety of game that we saw on the game drives, beyond the cheetah and leopard for which the camp is renowned.

On our first game drive we encountered cheetah that were semi-tame, contained within an enclosure, and not themselves capable to hunt game. On other drives, we used radio antenna to track leopard and hyena that had been collared, and were living in the wild. We got the impression that we might not have found the leopard at all by more 'normal' tracking methods.

We also enjoyed night game viewing of animals from a hide, where food is routinely left for them in a prepared location. These were excellent experiences, but they felt a little contrived, and different from our previous game viewing activities. We also felt that the presentation of Africat work was somewaht low key."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Excellent game viewing at Ongava"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2009
"We were delighted with our experience at Ongava, which was clearly the best camp we stayed at during our visit to Namibia.

The camp is very professionally managed, and the degree of commitment and engagement from the staff to the guests is exceptional. The camp really has a 'wilderness' feel, and the design of the tents around the water hole also provides for exciting night time game viewing. During our 3 night visit, Our guide Festus, was prepared to give us two full day excursions involving both Etosha and Ongava, which was well beyond what we had previously experienced on safaris. As as result of his efforts, our game viewing was superb.

The manager Paul was also keen to get personal and candid feedback on all aspects of the camp. The contrast between Ongava and Etosha was stark, and proved to us that it's not what you see, but how you see it that really matters."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Desert adapted elephants at Damaraland"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2009
"When we arrived at the parking area for Damaraland camp, we discovered that our 4WD vehicle was capable to make the off road journey to the camp, which was a bonus for us.

The location of the camp is in spectacular scenery, and the rooms are modern and comfortable, but the lighting was somewhat inadequate. We reserved a full day for our guide Raymond to take us to Twylfontein and also to find the desert adapted elephants.

Our close viewing of a family of elephants whilst they were in transit owed a lot to Raymond's expertise. The staff at the camp gave us a warm welcome, but the level of engagement and commitment were not at the level expected by us, and that was a disappointment."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Ideal location in Swapokmund"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2009
"We had driven down the skelton coast from Damaraland, and were warmly received by the staff at Central Guest House, which is in a convenient location as the name suggests.

We were assisted with our flight and restaurant bookings and nothing was too much trouble. The room and the breakfast were excellent, and the atmosphere friendly and relaxed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Intimate camp and spectacular views"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2009
"We flew in to Wolwedans camp over the dunes at Sossusvelei. The camp is in a remote location, and has been designed with every small detail in place to make the atmosphere feel authentic, and the guest feel special.

The candlelit evening meals were very intimate. The individual tents are located in oustanding scenery with wonderful views. The night sky and the sunrise were very memorable. The service and amenites were excellent.

Our day spent on the game drive with our guide was also excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kulala Wilderness Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Friendly reception at Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2009
"The camp has a unique location witha backdrop of mountains and open landscape. The buildings are constructed from natural materials and the design of the central area is very comfortable and convenient.

The dining area allows for individual seating with great views. Our reception was friendly, and all the staff were attentive. The singing by the staff at dinner made for a great atmosphere.

Our guide Richard was very laid back but he gave us some enjoyable experiences."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"A place to relax at the end of the tour"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2009
"We arrived at Hilltop house at the end of a long a tiring journey. The location is excellent with splendid views, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The snacks provided by the poolside were tasty.

Our host organised our restaurant for dinner and taxi and also allowed us access to our rooms with no extra cost on the day of departure. This is an ideal place to stay at the beginning or the end of the journey."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team