This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs L from Bath

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Tidied, Dirty but Very Happy

Zambia between 4 Oct 2017 and 14 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"A. Apart from Latitude 15, everything was excellent.

The guiding was first class and very productive, this makes all the difference to the enjoyment of a safari to Africa.

We experienced some very special moments that will be treasured."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Latitude 15 review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2017
"The rooms were a generous size and beautifully furnished and decorated. Unfortunately the hairdryer supplied came with a two prong plug that did not work in the two prong socket in the bathroom. The hotel omit to give you an adapter for the dyer to work in a normal socket. I requested a new dryer as I thought it was faulty, it was only after a different one was given to me with an adapter and it was explained an adapter was needed. Why supply a dryer that does not work in the two pronged socket in the bathroom?

The hotel is wonderfully fitted out with wall art and decorations. However the swimming pool and surrounding areas were very shabby and dirty. Even the swimming pool in the private club area was dirty and didn't look inviting. No one in our party wanted to go in the swimming pools.

We were booked in as full board but when we arrived for lunch we were told our bookimg was only B&B. It took about four different staff to resolve the issue and the situation made us feel concerned not because of the staff, they were trying to resolve the issue it was just a case of having a problem right at the start of our trip that should have been avoided.

The price of wine was astronomical. A R65 bottle of South African Rose cost over $30 and a R77 bottle cost over $40. Of course we have the choice of not drining wine but as a start to a holiday it was nice to share a bottle of wine family. I feel you should warn future travellers about the cost of drinks. You do need to spend a long time waiting for meals to arrive they took ages to come to,the table."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2017
"The newly refurbished chalets were a great improvement on the old style giving much more privacy. The furnishings were delighlful and in keeping with the feel of the camp.

The camp manger, Gerard, was very affable, easy going and very good company. The guiding was excellent and productive. Shenton did not disappoint.

All the staff were friendly and made us feel at home from the very start of our visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2017
"We walked to the bush camp. This walk was very welcome after sitting and eating for three days and four nights at the main camp.

Sly was an excellent guide and went out of his way to accommodate us and all our needs.

The bush camp was almost the same as we rembered from our last visit. My only adverse comment is that there should be more rush mats in the shower area as the mud floors are difficult to deal with.

The leopard sightings were wonderful at both camps. I can't think of any other place were one can see some many leopard as well as so many baby elephants, every herd had several babies some just born.

The Hide at this camp was very good for spending spare time in as it is on site and accessable any time of the day. Very close up viewing of game and many birds."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Overall

Zambia between 7 Sep 2009 and 25 Sep 2009

Trip rating: Good
"Outward flight was awful and not a good start to our holiday.

Both Shenton Camps were excellent - special to Tom in the bush camp - he was a wonderful host.

6 nights at Chongwe was too long, but this happened due to the Bush Buck Camp not opening.

Return flight very uncomfortable - in fact BA was the only reason our level of satisfactory was not higher.

Suggestions for improvements:

No - you are doing a good job!"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba Bush Camp review"

6 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2009
"Excellent guiding and very welcoming staff. Camp is informal and relaxing and one feels at home immediately."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2009
"Guiding is excellent and front of house staff very helpful. Choice of activities excellent. Can be tiring trying to do everything on offer - but just say no to one of the three activities on offer!

Both this camp and their bush camp are well suited to keen photographers - sturdy bean bags are provided in every vehicle as well as dust covers for cameras. Guildes are experienced in positiong vehicles for the best views. Vehicles are not overloaded with guests and so it is easy to take photographic equipement with you on the drives. Well worth staying in both camps."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Chongwe River Camp review"

6 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2009
"Although the setting is wonderful, game is not found in great numbers and game drives can be frustrating. In fact you can see most game on offer by sitting outside your tent. Night times are exciting with large elephants, hippos and sometimes lions walking past your tent.

We found just sitting by water waiting for game to come to drink and watching birds more rewarding than driving for hours around the bush. Elephants were seen in numbers and of course are never boring.

There are many activities on offer but even so I would not recommend staying longer than three nights at this camp."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team