This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs W from Sedbergh

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

A well organised trip to a wonderful country

Namibia between 18 Jun 2009 and 3 Jul 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"We felt Namibia was a wonderful country with very friendly and pleasant people everywhere we went. We just loved the countryside, the solitude and the wildlife.

Luckily Gwynneth suggested we upgrade from a basic car to a Nissan Xtrail. We would suggest that everyone does this as some of the roads (for example up to Corona Guest Farm) would have been challenging without the extra ground clearance.In addition there is no way that the camping gear we hired would have fitted into a small hatchback! Next time we would consider a full 4x4 as anyone who is in the least adventurous will find that even with the Xtrail there are a few places that are off-limits.

Camping gear was hired from Camping Hire Namibia in Windhoek. This was reasonably priced and included everything we needed but was rather shabby including horrible old plastic mugs.

We would thoroughly recommend our mix of a couple of camping nights followed by a luxury lodge - the best of both worlds!

We loved our first taste of Africa and would thoroughly recommend Expert Africa for their knowledge and experience.

Your information booklet sent to us on our booking was extremely informative and useful especially the tips on driving and car hire."

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"good first night stop at Kalahari Anib Lodge"

1 night Arrived 19 Jun 2009
"This was an excellent, peacful first stop as it was easily reached from Windhoek on tarmac roads leaving the challenge of graded roads to after a full nights sleep.

The dinner was good and we appreciated the effort made to introduce visitors to the local language, singing and dancing. We opted for the early morning game drive which started at 6.00. We were the only people on it and thoroughly enjoyed it. The guide's knowlege of the wildlife was impressive, and he also managed to fix the landrover when it ground to a halt!

The room was pleasant and clean but was surpassed by rooms later on our trip. There was the added excitement of an out of season surprise thunderstorm with spectacular lightning display."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Hobas Camping

"Hobas campsite, ideal for Fish River Canyon"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2009
"Well placed campsite to visit Fish River Canyon. Half full including a couple of tour buses. Clean facilities and man selling wood who also cleans braais. We returned to site early afternoon when some baboons ran through the site checking for food!

Little shop with a few items of tinned food and some drinks, firelighters, cough medicine and "Rennies"! Good place to stay as inside the park gate so able to go to the canyon for sunrise or sundown."
Good
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Service
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagles nest is amazing setting but very wet!"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2009
"The weather at Eagle's nest reminded of our home in the lake District, low cloud, cold and continuous rain. The locals were excited as possibility of snow!

The location was fantastic and the cabin was beautifully designed and furnished. Unfortunately it is not waterproof and water was dripping down the rock and into the fireplace. We had a braai pack which we cooked on the fire inside. However we would love to return in good weather as it was such an atmospheric place.

We would also recommend the Aus information and community centre where we were served good coffee. There are very informative posters about wildlife, Namaiba and local life around the centre."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Duwisib Castle Camping

"Beautiful campsite at Duwisib castle"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2009
"A beautiful campsite of 12 pitches and we were the only people there. We were sold some wood which was needed as it was frost over night! The facilities were immaculate with a very good hot shower.

The coffee shop behind the castle at Duwisib farm lived up to the writeup in the guidebook and the apple cake was superb. The lady in the shop was extremely charming. The castle was a surreal experience and was managed by a very helpful man who showed us to the campsite."
Excellent
Location
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"Unmissable Tok Tokkie Trail"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2009
"This was an amazing three days led by Domingo who was an excellent guide. The staff were all so helpful and fun to be with. We appreciated the hot water bottles, the morning tea served to us in our sand dune and the hot water for washing.

One of the highlights was when Domingo produced coffee and muffins out of his rucksack mid morning. We appreciated Domingo's knowledge of the area and also enjoyed discussing life in Namibia with him. There were seven of us on the trip but the other french family of four had their own french guide with them. This meant we were able to have Domingo to ourselves for much of the walking.

We also enjoyed our visit to the NADEET centre on the way back to the farmhouse. The food was very good considering that it was produced in the middle of nowhere."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Sesriem Camping

"Sesriem campsite ideal for Sossuvslei"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2009
"Pleasant site next to the park gate. We had an excellent very large pitch on the edge of the site. The facilities were clean with very good hot showers.

There were quite a few groups coming and going but we were far enough away from them. The only downside was the noise of a generator which went on throughout the night. There were notices in the park office about jackals and that food should be stored carefully. We did get very excited when we realise one had run through our site!

The park office shop was virtually bare apart from drinks but we discovered the new Engen Petrol station across the main road which had a very well stocked shop including lots of frozen meat. It also had a very nice cafe and took credit cards and has an ATM machine. As well as the usual trip to Sossusvlei we would also recommend a trip into Sesriem canyon, an easy 5 minute walk from the car in the dry season."
Good
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Good
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

"Peaceful retreat in the unique Barchan Dune"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2009
"A beautiful place to stay. The bungalow was peacefull, characterful, clean and spacious.

The hosts, Hannetje and Willem were extremely hospitable. The dinner party atmosphere allowed for interesting discussions while eating good food and drinking fine wines. The afternoon tea and scrumptious cakes served on our own terrace overlooking the peacful valley were memorable.

The walking trail was only short but then we continued up the mountain which was pathless and challenging. We were accompanied by the six month old dog Cocoa, who we did manage to wear out!

The game drive was interesting but not as informative as some. However it was accompanied by the best sunset we saw."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Homeb Camping

"Solitude at Kreiss se Rus"

1 night Arrived 30 Jun 2009
"We changed from Homeb site to camping at Kreiss se Rus as we decided to make a quick trip to the coast. The campsite is conveniently placed just off the C14. No cars passed at all after sunset. We were alone in the world! It was a wonderfull experience. There was a good braai and picnic table. The long drop toilet was slightly unpleasant but what one can expect in an isolated site with no water.

There was a problem when we got our permit from Sesriem Park office, as we were told that the camping had been booked with DWR and not "the ministry". They would not accept the voucher that we had. After long discussions and phone calls presumably to "the ministry" about the "men from the ministry" coming to check on us (which turned out to be extremely unlikely) we paid for a permit and a further campsite booking (£8).

We would suggest that infuture people should be advised to book this type of camping when buying their permit for the northern namib naukluft. The camping permit is for any of these sites in the area and it seemed extremely unlikely that they would get full."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

"Pampered at Corona guest farm"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2009
"It is difficult to describe our wonderful one night stay in this guest Farm. We were the only guests and thoroughly spoilt.

The place is a beautiful oasis full of flowers and immaculate gardens and terraces. The whole establishment was full of character and the suites are all individually designed according to a theme. The service was fantastic, from the welcoming juice when we arrived, a huge freshly baked cake with tea, the sun downer with homemade biltong and a dinner that was worth a Michelin star!

Our evening meal was cooked and served by Anne-Marie to our personal requirements. We sat and chatted with the manager over coffee in front of a huge log fire. Breakfast the next morning was full of choice, including their own cold meats. We even had our car washed for us. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and there seemed to be a very happy atmosphere.

Our only concern would be if we had had a normal saloon car, the track would have been a challenge. This was a very special last night in Namibia. Next time we will stay for more than one night!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team