This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms J x 2 from Birmingham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Trip of a lifetime in Southern Africa

Namibia and 1 other country between 2 May 2009 and 20 May 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"A fantastic experience. We had a great trip that we will remember forever.

The worst bit was the famous gravel roads of Namibia - I don't understand why they call them gravel - almost all of the non-tarred roads we drove on were more rock or sand or corrugated roads! However, despite my trepidation the Volkswagen Polo did us proud - not even one puncture!

Keep up the good work!"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

"Vogelstrausskluft Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2009
"The drive down into Fish River Canyon is spectacular - and is followed by a great walk in the Canyon & a superb 'braii' picnic.

We really enjoyed our time at the Lodge and the food was excellent."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2009
"Wonderful! Definitely felt in the 'wilderness', surrounded by rocks, lots of birds and small animals. The tented accommodation was carefully sited so that you weren't aware of other tents and was very comfortable. In fact the layout of the Lodge was very well thought out.

The trip to Paula's Cave was outstanding - great guide and wonderful rock art."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"Twyfelfontein Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 May 2009
"This was the place we liked the least of all on our trip - we felt it was a bit like a package holiday hotel. On arrival, in the heat of the afternoon and after a hellish drive on the worst roads we experienced in Namibia, we did not feel welcomed or well-treated - what we really wanted was to be shown to our rooms so that we could shower and change and relax.

Instead we were just numbers on a list, told to go to the bar upstairs - we didn't and asked for our room key and what to do with car, staff at reception just not concerned or helpful. When we got to our room we were very disappointed - small hot dark box. Needed something to eat but had missed lunch and had to work to persuade chef to make sandwich.

Overall, food OK but canteen rather than dining room so eating dinner was not a pleasant experience - very crowded and noisy.

Trip to Rock engravings was OK.

Great swimming pool but only 4 sun loungers - for a hotel with 56 bedrooms!"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2009
"Very pretty house and garden."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2009
"OK but not a luxury lodge which it claims to be. Food nothing special.

Trip to dunes a bit of a rip off - nearly twice as much as our similar trip to Fish River Canyon but without the same quality of guiding and picnic."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Image alt

Pension Steiner

"Pension Steiner"

1 night Arrived 14 May 2009
"Close to centre and lovely garden.

Staff not very welcoming or friendly, in fact at breakfast downright unfriendly!"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

"Pom Pom review"

3 nights Arrived 15 May 2009
"Delightful, friendly camp - good atmosphere, very relaxing. The way it is stuctured and organised means that guests, guides, managers etc. get to eat together, etc.

Wonderful situation on the lagoon. Game drives/walks and mokoro trips all OK, although we both worried that the vehicles went too close to animals sometimes - obviously great for us tourists but surely can't be good for the animals."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Pension Steiner

"Pension Steiner"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2009
"Returned after trip to Pom Pom.

Good base for last day in Windhoek - shopping, sightseeing, etc. and for our last morning - relaxing in the garden prior to journey home."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team